We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this hotel and would definitely go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed June 27, 2012

we found this hotel on teletext and went all inclusive. after checking reviews we booked it and it was worth it.

TIP 1: we read it was better to get the train to Torremolinos instead of airport transfer and it was worth it, the trains are cheap, clean and fast.

the hotel was clean, our room was fab, the staff were friendly, the food was great. A lot of folks in these reviews comment on how crap the food was but honestly i don't see what the problem was. Although they keep it simple there is plenty of choice and it is presented and cooked well. It's a huge buffet, we didn't eat out once.

TIP 2: we got chatting to an older guy who had visited there a lot and he told us that you can order a picnic at reception before 9pm the day before you go and pick it up at reception the next morning. Was excellent, no frills but worthwhile. Basically a white carrier bag with a bottle of water, selection of fruit, bread rolls, cooked meat and a yoghurt. No extra charge for all inclusive.

The swimming pools were great. The entertainment at the weekend was not to our taste but would have been a laugh if you wanted to sit with a group of friends.

We started of thinking that the only drinks at the bar included in the price was beer, wine and soda but once we found out that their were certain spirits included as well we were happy. Although you are restricted to ordering 2 drinks at a time, each of us ordered 2 drinks that had healthy measures so there was never a problem.

This is great place and i'm definitely planning on going back. We went out of season so the place was quieter and we prefered this.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nikzageek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,023 - 2,029 of 3,175 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

After much research and debating between this hotel and others we decided to chance it and go with the Cervantes.
Upon arrival both my friend and I were suprised at how nice the hotel looked and the look of the receiption area, very nice.
Our room was a good size, clean and the bathroom was good too, with an excellent shower to cool off in the hot weather.
What lets this hotel down HUGELY is the food and beverage side.
We paid for an all inclusive holiday which you would think would make things easier and worthy for a stress free holiday. What we found was if you had a wrist band all inclusive you were served your drink (soft or alcoholic) in what I can only describe as a plastic cup, the type you get at a water vending machine. I dont mind getting served in plastic cups for outside ( health and safety) but the sizes were ridiculous, in the hot hot weather you lose so much water you need to replace it and when I asked for larger plastic cups (which they have behind the bar for paying customers!) I was told no, the smaller cups were for all inclusive. So you are forever going to the bar and necking what in my book are shots of water to keep cool instead of relaxing with a suitable size beverage. What made things worse was the fact a stag party that arrived were coming outside with TRAYS OF DRINKS for their group but yet my friend and I, along with other guests were limited???? We were treated as if we were kids on a school trip!
All I wanted was water for goodness sake!!
In the evening things were the same, you couldnt have a pint glass (which were available) you had a wine glass of beer, it got laughable in the end. If you like your mixed spirits you wont be dissapointed at the measurements, 3'4 spirit and a shot of soft drink! I had to get them to reduce the spirit in the end, was wayyyyy too much!
The food with service in the restaurant was again poor. The cuts of meat the restaurant uses is way below par, grisly and tough. Most of the food is bland and has no variety, they dont use many if any slat, pepper, herbs etc in cooking. We stayed for 10 days and by day 5 we saw the repetiveness of the food on offer, even the bread was not fresh. We resorted to chips, rice and jelly!
The restaurant resembles a hospital canteen in the way service and work is conducted, staff going round with trolleys clearing tables, not looking happy at all, the waiting staff will seat you and communicate if you are a paying guest, all of us inclusive were just pointed and sent to tables, no customer service or interaction at all. By the end of the holiday we just went down for breakfast, beans on toast - you cant go wrong!
We ate at other restaurants for the last days of the holiday and what a difference that made! Food with flavour and customer service!!
Would I stay here again? Yes but only as a B&B.

Positive:
Very clean hotel, very comfortable beds
Excellent bathroom
Facilities cleaned constantly
Polite reception staff
Lovely cleaning staff
Rooms cleaned brilliantly by happy staff who gave a "Ola" every morning
Lovely pool - get up early if you want a sun lounger (not before 9am though)

Negative:
Food - bland, tastless and no variety,
No atmosphere in restaurant with poor glassware, again if you wanted water you helped yourself to cups that were same size as shot glasses.
Staff not attentive and no communication
Bar - ridiculous rules, poor level of service, very slow.
Gets rammed at 22:50 (10 minutes before end of all inclusive at 23:00!)
Made to almost feel embarresed when ordering drinks, to the bar staff: WE PAID FOR THE DRINKS AS PART OF OUR HOLIDAY, IT OURS NOT YOURS!!

If the hotel sorted out their food and bar it would deserve its 4 star that it has, but in my opinion if currently falls very short of this mark.

Room Tip: Just ask politely! Thats what we did and we got a sea view room. The staff on reception are very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gennaro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Went first week in June staff unfriendly if you have a band on your wrist all inclusive rooms grubby food absoulutely awfull snacks were none existent had too eat out most of the time cost a fortune so did the holiday never go back

Room Tip: Don't think there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Was very much looking forward to our four day break, peace and quite and lounging around the pool, and paid extra for the all inclusive facility. The hotel certainly was impressive when you first enter, however once we eventually got around the pool (after 3 attempts with keys that continually did not work) we were welcomed by a stag party and a hen party...bang went the quite break. We had to go and relax around the roof top pool but there were no bar facilities, and you had to go down 9 flights to get a drink!
If you are taking children, then be aware if there are stag and hen parties as the behaviour and language were appalling at times, and if I had brought my family with me, I would have complained. Very ashamed to be British, the girls were worse than the boys, the other guests looked on in amazement at times.
The hotel was clean, and the food of good quality, however the variety was boring, the worst all inclusive for food I have stayed in. There was only one bar person serving 90% of the time whilst we were there which made the All Inclusive not very attractive, if a paying customer came to the bar, they were given priority, which I found annoying as I had paid up front. Also, the snacks were on order and not easily accesible, didn't have one the whole time I was there.
As the hotel allows such large groups of stag and hen parties, I would not choose this for a family fun hotel or a quite break.
What didn't help is there are lots of protests going on in Spain due to the high level of unemployment and for the three days we did get around the pool was marred by protestors across the road that started at 10.30am until early evening - lots of whistling and load speakers! This was not the hotels fault, but certainly did not help what had already been a bad start to our break.
The location was fantastic, very Spanish, which is what I wanted would recommend the area, but most certainly not the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Ok so we read previous reviews and went ahead with the booking, we did what most of the people that stayed here and got a train to the hotel from the airport, this was a doddle and way cheaper than getting a taxi, was just over 6 euros for 4 of us and was only 5 stops away, we could see the hotel as soon as we got out of the train station.

Room was ok, pretty average, only had bbc world news on the TV, nothing else but spanish channels, internet was pretty expensive, 5 euros for 45 mins, 9 euros for the day, if you want it best to order a weeks worth instead, think this was about 25 euros?

Safe was 21 euros for the week so we had this, there was no kettle or coffee making facilities in the room which was disappointing for a 4 star hotel, we thought this was the case as there was no mention of tea making facilities when we booked so i took a travel kettle, which was a necessity for me as i had a baby to make up bottles. It said you couldn't take drinks or food from the dining area aswell so if you didn't have a kettle no cup of tea in the morning!!

Rooms were cleaned every day, no problems there, they did take my spoon though but they may have thought this was thiers, it was found and returned back to me though.

No entertainment other than a spanish singer on a saturday night, we went school holiday week aswell so if you had small children they would have been bored out of thier heads, we had a 9 month old and 2 teenage children so we went out most nights along the beach and close by shopping etc. We didnt really find much entertainment elsewhere though apart from an Irish singer along the beach front, but this meant walking about half hour, the lift from the beach closes at 11pm and the entertainment didn't start till 10pm so we had to walk up the huge hill with a pushchair at night when it finished so we didnt do that again which was a shame as he was really good.

The beach lift is a godsend with a pushchair, only 50 cents each and it took you straight to the beach, worth every penny.

On a good note the food was excellent, breakfast had so much to choose from, sausages and bacon not that good but they never are in a foreign hotel, pancakes, pastries, eggs, cereals, etc etc, main dinner had plenty of salads, soups, meats, cheeses, fresh fish, had veal one night which was delicious, pizza, chips, different kinds of potatoes every night, casserole type dishes, vegetables, puddings were lovely, fresh fruit all the time, never had a bad stomach either the whole time we were there, well done to the kitchen staff.

Also the reception staff were also very pleasant, always willing to help, i ordered some waterpark tickets online as this was cheaper and they printed them out for me, also i had to get a doctor out for my son as he had a high temperature and they let me use the phone to call the insurance company and they called the doctor for me.

Overall a pleasant stay but wouldn't go back to Torremolinos as not much to do other than shopping, eating and drinking in bars, but would go back to this hotel if i didn't have kids.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just returned from this hotel - I was a little anxious about what this hotel was going to offer after I has booked and then read reviews, however, this hotel provides a good standard of facilities - swimming pools are of a good size, well maintained. Food was ok, typical Spanish cuisine nothing to complain about. Rooms, good size - clean with new bathroom. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Cervantes is a good hotel, but with some flaws.
1) There are not enough receptionists. Usually there was only one person at the desk, completely overworked, unfriendly, and a long queue of guests waiting to be served.
One evening we tried to call the reception from our room. The phone was picked up, we were put on hold and after a long time the line was interrupted.
2) The lifts are small, slow, old and functioning badly. On the first day one of three lifts didn't work. On the second day another one... one night all the lifts were out of service and we had to walk ...the hotel has 7 floors... there were people with small children, old people... Even when the three lifts worked they were extremely slow and waiting times were long.
3) Breakfast is total chaos. The room is huge and extremely loud, rather a railway station than a breakfast room in a "Gran Hotel". People "fight" for tables, the staff appear uninterested or helpless. One morning one of the coffee dispensers didn't work, the next morning the juice dispenser...
It appears that a lot has been invested in making the public spaces of the hotel look beautiful (lobby, bar, pools, ...). Everything looks good. Unfortunately the impression is soon spoiled by "technical" problems like the ones mentioned.

Room Tip: We booked a "sea view room" . It was on the fifth floor, very quiet with a nice balcony an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rainbow51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#32 of 71 in Torremolinos
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $64 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing