We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Better than I was expecting”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I travelled with a friend and it was much better than some of the reviews I read before travelling. We went for 3 nights on an all inclusive basis and paid approx £30 each per night.

The hotel was very clean and modern- I don't understand why people think it is tired and old fashioned. I have been to lots of hotels ranging from 2 star to 5 star and this was officially a 4 star but I believe it is a very good 3 star. The reception and bar area was very nice, rooms were ok and the roof top pool was very good. It looks like a refurb was done in the reception and bar areas much more recently that the bedrooms.

Entertainment was poor, food was ok with a show cooking area and the usual buffet and drinks were very good. I would expect more if it was in the peak seasons as there was a singer on twice weekly and that was it! The bar staff were rude but after many holidays in Spain- I am now used to this. Don't let these kind of things spoil your holiday!

The area around the hotel was very shabby and old- you can tell this was once a bustling place but not anymore. There was no nightlife apart from a few Irish bars.

A tip for you is to get the train from Malaga Airport to Torremolinos. It took about 15 mins and cost less than 2 euros each- much cheaper that a transfer or taxi.

Overall, we went for a break and got exactly that so no real complaints. Probably would not go back but I would not put people off going.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dannylang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    1,168
    773
    326
    194
See reviews for
631
1,215
191
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

just back from a short 3 day break to this wonderful hotel. It's about 15 years since we have been to the Costa Del Sol and we wer'nt disappointed. On arrival at Malaga airport we just had to walk across a road to the train station and for 1.65 Euro each we were taken to the centre of Torremolinos where the Hotel Cervantes is only 300 mtrs away. On arrival at reception we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who booked us in and when I requested a sea view room we were given no 329 a massive end room with spacious balconies looking directly at the med it was wonderful, bright. airy and very well equipped.

We were booked half board which was fabulous as the food was varied with very efficient staff running the restaurant.

We had a wonderful 3 day break to this hotel and to top it all off the weather for January was brill we were actually able to sunbath round the pool during the day only nights can be nippy so a warm cardi or jacket is needed for walking about. although we found a wee traditional Spanish bar not far from the hotel where we stopped and had a drink most nights and the owner insisted on lighting the patio heater while we watched the world go by sipping sangria it was so cosy..

An fabulous hotel where guests can relax, with no hassle at all we will def go back next year.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing end room, they are large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickylick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

hotel loverly clean and friendly but beds rock hard and food was inedible and im not a fussy eater, normally i can live off the salad bar but that was just as bad. one morning there was even mixed veg and boiled sausage disgusting or what so dont do all inclusive is my advise

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trebor62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymoney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for four days All Inclusive.location was really good as we used the nearby train to travel each day either way down the line for a few euros!! The hotel was spotless, although while rooms were also clean they were very uncomfortable.beds were so hard it was impossable to have a good nights sleep.as I can concur with other reviews the food was always cold although the. Variety was good!! Dining room service was poor with a sluggish approach to clearing tables .staff were unfriendly and unhelpful..the same staff problem can also be attributed to BAR and RECEPTION STAFF a total lack of interest in their GUESTS!! Drinks all come in small glasses so forget about asking for a pint or half pint wine glasses for beer only !!overall this Hotel in our opinion is well Overated! Three star would be more than appropriate!!
















  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Very impressed, but it is all a matter of opinion. The food was excellent, if people felt the meat done on the griddle was a bit underdone just ask for it to be cooked a bit more. Although there is not a hugh selection the quality was good. A lot of the meat came on the bone so you had to do a bit of picking, but very tasty beacause of that. Tables were kept well cleared and the staff were friendly. The location is superb being less than 5 minutes from the railway station (3 euro 10 cents for 2 from the airport). On one side, out the card controlled back door behind the internet acess point, you have the town. On the other out the main door you are 2 minutes to the lift for the beach. Rooms were comfortable and well maintained. We lost the sun around 16:00 in our original room but it was no bother to change. All the staff were very helpful. Yes there were a few queues for food and drink at times but nothing that you could not put up with. Thanks to all at this hotel who made it a wonderful holiday, we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 04 to 10 on any floor (eg 704 to 710) get most of the sun in the late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RagtimeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just returned from a 10 day stay on the all inclusive basis, which I have never tried in Europe before. Paid extra for a sea view room and it was worth it as we were given a corner room which meant a double balcony with views of the sea and the hills behind, although the actual Torremolinos skyline leaves a lot to be desired. The room was a reasonable size with a fridge although the 3 euro a day charge for the safe was bit steep. It was kept impeccably clean by the maid, as was the bathroom which also had toiletries replenished daily. However the beds were hard and uncomfortable and the walls are paper thin, could hear them sneezing next door and the tv noise a nightmare.
The food was disappointing, plenty of it but not great taste and often lukewarm. We did discover that lunch was often better than dinner and not as crowded. The drinks were easily available, soft drinks and sparkling water, when we found it but the wine was very poor quality.The menu also seems to be only on a weekly basis. Starts well on Sunday but goes downhill from there.
The main bar was closed except for weekends and was kept dark and very cold. The cafe snack bar was awful, very bright, formica tables and chairs and not very big. Not really a place to sit after dinner. It was also spoilt by people who seemed determined to drink the place dry then be very noisy and the bar staff did nothing to stop it. Entertainment was non existent, sport on Spanish tv being the only option.
Weekends were difficult as the Spanish families come in so leave plenty of time to get served. We had to queue for breakfast on Sunday only to sit down and discover that everything was cleared away and turned off as it was 10am.
On the plus side the location is excellent. Close to the train and bus stations and near the lift to the beach(50 cents a time). The shopping centre is also on hand. The Thursday market in the town is good fun, but take a taxi, it's quite a long trek uphill. The staff at the hotel are friendly and very efficient.
Torremolinos doesn't really deserve its reputation. We visited most of the Costa towns and found it to be the most Spanish. If in Marbella and you like shopping visit Le Canada centre, no 3 bus from the station. Malaga is also worth a visit as it is a beautiful town with lots to do.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

just got back from a four night break with two young children in January. Overall it was good value for money. There was the usual choice of food although the meat dishes weren't good, far too much salt added and very fatty. The derserts were ok but not great. the rooms were spacious and clean but the beds weren't that comfy! As far as the staff go, forget any chance of a smile or customer service (although i don't include the cleaners in this). the reception staff were particularly rude and unhelpful. Upon arrival we were told our room would be ready in 20 mins, an hour and a half later we finally got into our room. Although we complained that we were constantly being told another 10 mins we were met with a shrug! Not even an insincere apology. Apart from this the hotel is in a good central location for the train and shops and not too hard a walk to the beach down the steps.

Room Tip: Higher the number the better the view room, 8 floors first floor starting in the 100's, try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poorparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#49 of 71 in Torremolinos
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing