We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4* but a reasonably decent effort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not 4* but a reasonably decent effort.”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is an above average mid range hotel. The service is good and the Lobby,downstairs Pool area and Bathrooms are definitely 4* the bedrooms are 3* at best. Our room was cleaned daily and we had no issues whatsoever with security. The aircon units are a little bit noisy and not as powerful as American hotel aircon units but still do the job. Location wise it is excellent if you want to be in the middle of things but its a short walk/lift (lift 50 cents each way) to the beach. In my opinion, this hotel and Torremolinos in general, clearly caters for the Spanish/Mainland European market which as long as you are aware of this fact,you will enjoy yourself. The hotel itself has a good and safe feel to it and the rooftop pool area is a good way to relax if you want a bit of peace and quiet.The safe will cost you 3 euros a day to hire and there is no free wifi. Also people should be aware that the only English speaking channel available is BBC World Service but then who goes on holiday to watch TV. This is a good hotel and in my opinion does not deserve some of the criticisms aimed at it. The Cervantes is a good Spanish hotel. There are lots of nice little genuine restaurants/Tapas bars within walking distance to the hotel. People who would prefer a Benidorm/Stag/Hen type holiday would be better suited to Fuengirola.

Room Tip: people complain about the hard beds, room 717 has without a doubt the softest mattress you will ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macca1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    1,167
    773
    326
    194
See reviews for
630
1,215
191
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

When booking this hotel at first pictures and location looked ideal and suitable for me and my friends (3 girls). Once we arrived at the hotel the young man at the reception desk was kind and greeted us, however everything went down hill from their. The room looked basic e.g. very dated bed covers, beds looked like a plank of wood also felt like one, room looked dark and gloomy picture frames were dusty and old. Whilst inspecting the room we discovered that the safe did not work even though instructions were provided, the room’s television did not also work (looked old dirty and cheap). Also they had an ironing service and charged per item of clothing however we were not told this and only discovered this out on the last day. The reception staffs were rude, uptight and very obnoxious espc the old lady (looked like Mrs McCluskey from desperate housewives)! When me and my friends went down for breakfast this rude concierge man refused our entry by saying "no pajamer" even though we had our summer clothes on. If anyone wants to go out in Torremolinos I would not recommend unless you are old and love the gay community and want to step in poop because the place was full of dogs and smelt bad!!! If there is one place that I would recommended is the disco tech as it has a nice club called mangoes as it plays nice music(but be warned you will be the only bodies their as the place is empty)!!! Overall the hotel was not 4* worthy only thing that probably 4* worthy is the "no pajamer" comment. Food was below average and there was no variety, staff members were rude, old and half the time not present. Do not recommend for people in their twenties more for 50+!!!!

Room Tip: would never recommend this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3girls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I thought it was a great hotel, ideal for the train and bus stations to get up and down the coast. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was excellent. Downsides were waiting for the lifts at breakfast and dinner but i suppose because its peak times, theres not a lot you can do but its a long walk down six flights. The only way to get wet under the shower was to move around. WI/FI far to expensive. I would ask for a south facing room because the view was a bit dismal from my room. Would i stay again? Without hesitation is the answer.

Room Tip: I would ask for a south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is one of the worst I have stayed in, but apparently one of the best in Torremolinos.
Rooms are basic and dated and dirty! I noticed lots of dark hair on the bathroom floor (I have light hair so was not mine). I asked for it to be cleaned each day, but each day a dirty mop just moved it to a different area of the floor.
The bed is too hard!
The lifts are ridiculously slow!
Breakfast is basic.
Staff are rude.
Good location for the town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

just returned form this hotel. more than dissapointed! rated 4* i would be pushed to class it 2*. this hotel is geared to the gay commumity. the staff were the most ignorant people i have ever met, in the dining room the staff never spoke a pleasant word, and would run over you with the trolleys of plates. even the girl taking payment couldnt even say hello, goodbye or thanks. dinner was the worst display i have ever saw, burgers were the main thing bein cooked. every night was the same slap of tinned fruit and veg nothing was fresh, it was repeated bland uneatable rubbish every night. i had soup for dinner for 2 weeks, even the dessert was repeated same plastic lookin buns every night..need a good shake up for 4*ratin def not the same as other 4*s i have stayed in.
outdoor pool gave me skin rash, would not recommend this hotel to my enemy.
rooms were clean, towels changed every day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The good:
* Hmmm, this is tough. It's cheap!??!?!

The bad:
* Lifts unbearably slow so it's easier to walk
* Staff are not very friendly
* I found the pay upon arrival policy a bit weird
* Breakfast is plentiful but awful
* Water leaks from shower out of bathroom
* Beds are a bit hard

Conclusion:
I wouldn't stay here again. I've stayed at Hotel Miami before in this town and it has a lot more character than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here two days in a standard double bed room. The hotel was easy to find. We took the train from the Malaga airport to Torremolinos and as soon as we go out, we were able to spot it. The rooms are decent and beds hard. The hotel charges you for the safety deposit box (3 euros per day) so we just locked up our valuables in our suitcases. The hotel is no where near the beach. You have to take an elevator for 50 cents and walk through an outdoor market. The lounge chais in the beach are not free so bring your own beach towl or be prepare to pay for them. The pool area was small and therefore always crowded. The breakfast buffet was good and had a large selection. The staff was courteous. No free wifi. We had dinner at a restaurant called Bodega Guerola and it was the best food ever. All the locals seemed to hang out here. The food in the main plaza was too touristy. We took a walk to a bank to get the best currency exchange. I picked this hotel because it was cheap and easy to find. No ice machines and bring your own toiletries.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roc Hotel Flamingo
Roc Hotel Flamingo
#47 of 71 in Torremolinos
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing