We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Four Star But Would return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a Four Star But Would return”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

3 star rating at best. No Tea/Coffee facilities in room (which to be fair I expected as been to Spain before!) And No satellite T.V (1 English speaking channel BBC world). I know I'm on holiday and what you watching T.V for blah blah blah, but it is nice to hear other English voices occasionaly. Hotel also full of Spanish with their impecable manners at meal times !!. (You know the ones I mean). Nearly in a fight with them barging in front for toast machine. Meals themselves terrible. Usual 'cold' chips and pasta every night with whatever junk you could muster to go with it. Bulls Tail main meat one night. Only assume they stabbed a few poor beasts to death in the bull ring that particular day. We actually ate out the last few night to save enduring the dining room. Go B&B next time Breakfast was acceptable but then again I'm only a cereal and toast man in the morning. Walls also paper thin. Could hear everything going on next door! and I mean everything!. Also Think all Spaniards deaf as not only do they shout when they talk, but also T.V's blaring. Beds could be better, quite hard but had worse. On the good side, Hotel location perfect, and my Air con good, though friends we were with had to get room service 3 times to fix theirs. Forgot to mention on arrival Had to wait an hour as room not ready. Like thet weren't expecting us!. Swimm.iong pool I didn't use but other half informs full of cold sandy sea water. On the whole Had better hotels and also worse. Certainlt not 4 star but Better the devil you know so would probably go back. Beautifull weather and country, Shame about the people who would be struggling without tourists. They should remember that.

Room Tip: They seem to give out the first room available so luck of the draw I think regarding requesting a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghStevie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    1,154
    762
    320
    194
See reviews for
623
1,201
191
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Important to say that this hotel has some annoying points:
Breakfast is chaos, purely due to the number of people
WIFI is not free and also does not work great except for in the public areas
Drinks are expensive €2.50 for a small glass of beer

But I would stay here again because for the price I paid it was worth it. The staff are great too, very helpful and cheerful. The pool area is great, and the location of the hotel is good too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thughes500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I went to this hotel at the end of June with my boyfriend!

Good points:
- Arrived late at night and were allowed to take the lunch meal on the following day due to missing the evening meal
- Excellent rooms, overlooking the sea!
- Excellent location, right next to the lift which cost 1euro for 2 people to take you down to the beach
- Towels changed every day
- Maids come back to your room later in the day to clean if they dont do it during the morning
- Roof top people was brill :) Very quiet and always plenty of sunbeds!! Gym is also on the roof and is alright to use but has probably seen better days!!

Bad points:
- Arriving late at night were told we would have to wait until the morning for a safe!!
- Not alot of choice on food, we are fussy eaters but the food here was not a good range unless you fancied octopus anyways!
- No entertainment!! On arrival there was somebody playing music with people dancing around, for the rest of the week there was nothing!!

All in all the hotel was really nice except for the few points, the area was lovely too, very spanish!!
Would not stop here again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma87Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

great hotel, clean friendly and perfectly situated over looking the plaza. stayed with family for a week and have no complaints whatsoever!!

Room Tip: request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playdoo4-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Myself and my wife stayed in this hotel for one week. We caught the train from the airport and got of at Toremelinos station which is about 4 stops away (about 15 mins). You get off the train and exit the station and you will see the hotel which is approx 4 mins walk away. The hotel is excellent value and a great location. It is situated near all the shops and the beach is a short walk away. (you will need to get the lift to the beach if you cant manage steps) there are a lot of steps. The food in th Hotel is very good we had Breakfast and evening meal and the evening meal varied every night. The staff were friendly. The air con in the room was brilliant very powerful. Nice seems the weather was so hot. All in all it was a great holiday and we would return to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marksuez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Hotel very centrally located for main shopping area and train station. On the main drag for all the cafes and only a short walk to the elevator to take you down to the beach level so well placed. Inquiring on where their car parking was located was intimidating - efficient but the word friendly wasn't one I would use, obviously we were the last thing she wanted on a Friday evening. Check in was friendly but it was a different person to that which gave us directions to the car park. We had checked before booking to see if they had car parking and expected this to be an additional charge but did not expect to have to pay for it before we even got our room keys!!! When we asked if we couldn't charge this to the room and pay it with all the extra's later, we were told not. Points in her favour though she picked up on the idea we wanted to be able to charge the bar etc to our room and took our paper room key holder and put a special stamp on it to facilitate this mmmmmmmm Thought we had booked a FOUR star hotel???

The room was easily found but the corridor was musty. The room itself was lovely and clean as was the whole hotel. Next challenge was to set the safe - oh did they not tell you at reception this is an extra cost and you need a special code. Yes you have guessed correctly this too must be paid for in advance before you get the code. When we went to bed that evening e turned on the AC it did not work - too much hassle to change for a two night stay and we did not have the energy to face the grumpy one again!!! So that was probably a mistake on our part. The room looked out onto the plaza at the back of the hotel and we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was which was good given the AC wasn't working. The beds were the firmest I have ever slept in and both me and the husband commented the next morning that our shoulders were sore from sleeping on our side.

The pool was pleasant although loungers were a little lacking if you did not get there early enough but I suppose they think most folks will go to the beach. Breakfast was adequate but not as good or varied as many other we have experienced; think they are controlling prices and portions very carefully.

On the whole this is not an experience I would be willing to repeat but I think they may be more suited to tour operators. Good mix of nationalities and age groups but we have definitely had far better service and value for money elsewehere on the Costa del Sol.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gib_jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Trondheim, Norway
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Nice hotel close to the main street of Calle San Miguel, and a short trip to the beach. Beautyful view from balcony. We plan to visit Torremolinos and Cervantes again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thor2009190499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Property: Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym, sauna and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub in high season, Laundry service, Room service, Garage, Free wifi in the lobby. Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing