We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, excellent experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tucson
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, excellent experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We'd read such marginal things about the area (in general) that our expectations were low. What a surprise! Nothing really historic here, just an awesome resort area filled with happy vacationers from a multitude of countries. It has such a happy, festive, we-dare-you-not-to-have-a-good-time feeling about it. The sound of the sea, the wide expanse of sand, the rows upon rows of fun litle bars/restaurants lining each side of the pathway along side the sand only enhanced the resort and beach experience.

There are an impressive number of sand sculptors who assemble the most imaginative kinds of creations. It is appreciated if the observer drops a coin or two into the creator's container.

Back to the hotel: it is light, bright, really tall, and well located. Walk out the door and head in any direction for a different experience: shopping, beach time, food and drink sampling, etc. The rooms were very nice, clean, contemporary and bright. Our room backed up to the huge side of a hill and we could see the water easily from the patio door. Being off the main road, our room was very quiet.

Breakfasts are held in a very large room and the offerings were as good as can be found anywhere. They will even cook eggs to your preference (look for the omelette station).

The staff was always courteous, helpful, and cordial. We would gladly stay here again (and do hope to at some future time). It was amost enjoyable experience and it was a welcome change from the almost-daily touring of the ancient monuments.

The absolutely perfect weather played a large role in our experience, as did the excitement surrounding the World Cup soccer mania so evidenced there. The people really get into this! Costumes, dedicated bars for the separate teams, etc. It felt, at times, a little like a (wonderful) carnival.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back will be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us the chance to provide you our services and most of all to share your experience with potential future guests.
Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.

Thank you again, We'll be waiting for you at Melia Costa del Sol in a near future.

Kind Regards.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,559
    1,313
    347
    86
    53
See reviews for
592
1,870
185
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 9 nights with my wife in the hotel and everything worked better than expected. Excellent hotel and services. The rooms are big enough, comfortable and well equipped. Vert good breakfast. We can highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience at Melia Costa

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

You cannot fault the hotel for its location right on the beach of Costa del Sol with the shopping centre of the town within minutes of walk behind. It's extremely handy for enjoying the beach as well as shopping and dining at the town centre. Full marks for that!

The hotel is large and of modern design to make the best use of its location to provide seaview rooms to guests. The only problem is that if you do not pay well enough to get a full seaview room, you may end up like we do (as one in a tourist group) with a room with only a very partial seaview from the balcony/ No complaint however as we only stayed for one night in a tour around the region.

No complaint over the guest services either for our brief stay as everything (check in, check out and room services) was running very smoothly and effectively..

We had buffet breakfast and dinner there in the restaurant. For a hotel of such size, it is understandable that the food service was of the mass production type. But to be fair, both the quality and range of food were of a very good standard, particularly in the wide choice of fruits and drinks.

We were happy with the hotel service as a whole and wouldn't mind returning for a longer stay to enjoy all the facilities and amenities close by..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cletus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol .

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for three nights while attending friends' wedding. We booked a suite with a huge balcony overlooking the sea.
The decor is...dated! Indeed, the whole place could do with a decent makeover. But to be fair, this is largely catering to families and beach lovers, not refined sophisticates.
We had a large living room, a large double bed and a reasonably sized bathroom. I was disappointed by the lack of bath robes but again, this is a 4* hotel so modify your expectations.
Breakfast was something of a bun fight but again, despite huge numbers of people pouring into the dining room, everything seemed well stocked and the food was generally pretty good.
What I would say is that the pool is tiny for such a large hotel! Many people commented on it - though the beach is, literally, opposite the hotel.
The other gripe is the lifts - tiny and slow!
Overlal not a bad hotel, probably worthy of its 4* status (just) but personally I was pleased we were only there for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. Got the junior suite room 716 on 7th floor, which are all sea front views of the full coastline unlike the ordinary rooms. Had large balcony and little sitting room. Very clean room. Housekeeping staff even work in evenings. Air conditioning worked fine. Bathroom small but very usable. Dining and drinks expensive. No wifi for the whole 6 days on any of our phones or ipads, it sometimes worked slowly after midnight but not during the day. Technician was supposed to call on 3 occasions but never did. Breakfast not normally what irish or English would eat but great selection. Good spot. Clean hotel. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RoyBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted you enjoyed the majority of our services , we are sorry that you also had some disappointing comments to make. Please rest assured we have taken all your points regarding the WIFI service on board for immediate consideration as this was clearly not up to our usual Melia Hotels International standards. We have been fortunate to receive many complimentary reviews since the hotel's opening in and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a second visit.

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel & if anything it is better than before. Friendly attentive staff, spotlessly clean, spacious room (we stayed in 722). You cannot fault the choices of food in the restaurant & never had to wait for a table although the hotel was very busy.

Lovely beach right opposite & plenty of café bars all along the front. Lots of Spanish people & very family orientated with no noisy nightclubs.

Very good bus services to Marbella, Mihas, Benalmadina etc.,

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of reception are nice & cool in the afternoon & sunny in morning
See more room tips
Green Features: You only have towels changed when you ask for them & on each landing in the morning are receptacles for newspapers, plastic bottles etc.,
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50londoner031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol .

It was a pleasure to have you with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed 7 nights here and used it as a base for our exploration. The service was good at reception, although when we tried to ask questions by email before the response often took a few days (for English emails). We also wanted so much to take some excursions and when asking before our arrival we were told not to worry just to book when we arrived. Finally the day before arriving, we had a change of plans so we called to ask about excursions and managed to get the last two seats before the trip was sold out.

The rooms were a little old and in need of a little love (paint touch ups, carpet touch ups) mattress was on it's last legs but it came with everything we needed .. . There was a safe, a decent sized minibar, bathroom amenities etc.

The internet worked well, we had a great view, and enjoyed our experience here. The pool area is a little small (often no seats). Later we noticed an upper deck with seats (and good looking fake grass!!) which we could have used. perhaps a sign showing 'upper deck' would help ...

We also found that they were trying hard to be green, to the point where they'd charge 1E for a towel change and not change your sheets for a week. I'd think that perhaps one change a day for towels and a little card that we could put on the bed if we chose to have the sheets changed earlier would have been preferred.

The buffet dinner and breakfast also has a great selection, and as many of the beach side restaurants are pricey, actually gives good value to eat here and choose what you want and eat as much as you'd like. Did ate twice and later opted to try out some tripadvisor recommendations up the hill ... which we loved too btw.

if your going to stay in Torremolinos, you can't go wrong here. Its near the end of the strip, across from the beach (you have to pay a few Euro to get a chair at a club across the street, but it's not bad). This hotel is probably one of the better ones, and throughout our stay we saw people working on the hotel doing upgrades and updates, so I think they are in the process of making it even better.

Room Tip: Take the superior room with a view. Skip on the meal plan, just go when you like (same price)
See more room tips
Green Features: Good idea, perhaps a little extreme.. offer choices to customer
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natandjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations, for us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience at Melia Costa

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing