We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Great view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed three nights in early April. The room was roomy and clean and we found the bed pretty comfortable and did not have a problem with the pillows. Desk staff were friendly and helpful. There were lots of large bus groups and if you happened to need the desk while they were checking in or out there could be quite a wait.
It is a corporate hotel and there did seem to be corporate events going on that would overshadow the needs of regular guests. While we were there we saw a couple of receptions by the pool that it closed in the afternoon while they set up and into the evening. Also one morning it was closed for a breakfast meeting it seemed. Neither of these things bothered us as we don't spend much time by the pool.
The breakfast was good with lots of variety. We didn't try the restaurant at any other time.
It was the desk staff at the hotel that told us about the lift into the upper town.
We used the parking and appreciated the fact that it was well monitored. There was construction going on while we were there which resulted in a little more noise than we liked.
However we enjoyed our time at the hotel and would definitely stay there again if we return to Torremolinos.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that the majority of your recent stay was satisfactory and are also grateful for your comments about the service you experienced. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative is important to help us to constantly improve our service.

We look forward to seeing you soon again at the Melia Costa del Sol

Warm regards,
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,938)
There are newer reviews for Melia Costa del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 3,938 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home from a nice week at the hotel. The rooms are nice and clean and the service very good especially mile at the main bar who made me laugh loads because he was so happy. The entertainment is low key but if you want dancing the Don Pablo is nearby. The food is very good with an excellent selection available. Went to Gibralter with Exotic tours who are based at the bottom of the steps in Torremolinos, We also caught the local bus up to Mijas in the mountains and also went to Malaga on the train to see the cathedral.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick777056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol . It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel thoroughly enjoyed this place
Great room had a junior suite so separate living area with stunning views
The hotel facilities are great from swimming pool health spa gym
Great restaurant and service was superb
Would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone
I will be back in sure

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Graeme_J_Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service, we are glad to hear that your stay at the hotel was pleasant and you were able to enjoy the lovely Mediterranean Seaviews from your suite.
We realize that you have spent some of your time to share your comments with us through Tripadvisor and we thank you.

On behalf of the entire team of Melia Costa del Sol, many thanks.

Yours Sincerely.

Orlando Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Spent 5 days at this hotel, reception staff on arrival were very nice. Hotel was nice, clean room with a good view and good location for the beach.

We were half board so sampled the breakfast and evening meals and there was always a good selection of food each night.

Didn't manage to try out the spa but it did look very nice and will definately try if we go again.

There is a lift at the side of the hotel which takes you half if not most of the way up to the town, there is a cost of 0.50 cents for the lift. The lift service was not advertised so we only found it by chance while out walking one day.

Would stay here again if visiting Torremolinos.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and had a good view of the pool and sea.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .

Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.

Thanks.

Orlando Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just back from this hotel, very nice, clean and modern, however no entertainment and this was a bit disappointing, but it is right in front of the beach, and there are lots of restaurants and bars to walk to. Torremolinas has changed, it is not a party resort anymore, no live music allowed in any of the bars except the gay area!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

First of all thank you for choosing Melia Costa del Sol Hotel and for your excellent review!

We are so glad to know your stay with us was nice! We really appreciate the time used in sharing your experience.

Looking forward to welcome you very soon!!

Thank you so much and best regards,


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were delighted to stay at this hotel in November, we had a lovely break and on the strength of this decided to go back when we had another break at the end of March. On our previous visit we had twin beds which were really comfortable but this time we requested a double. The bed was so hard it was like lying on concrete, I did however ask for extra pillows which were willingly given but we were both extremely uncomfortable.

We were only able to manage a short break and the Saturday night was a special night for us - we had been looking forward to it. We arrived at the Dining Room to find 2/3rds had been laid up for something else, so we were squashed into the remaining 1/3rd of the room. The noise was awful, the food limited and the staff were desperately trying to hurry us along. We gave in and went to the bar for a drink (which was set up with nibbles). I asked the waiter what was happening and he said a party of 400 were coming in. As we sat there more and more of the party arrived until we were surrounded and feeling really uncomfortable. The waiters were going round with drinks for the party and almost swerving to avoid us. We went back to our room (which only has BBC world news in English). If we had been warned we would have gone to dinner earlier and then gone out for a drink. There was no consideration for ordinary guests. We mentioned this on checking out and received an e-mail from the manager saying that this was a corporate hotel and the chances are it would happen again. We felt very let down - our break was spoiled by the lack of courtesy from the management.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool get more sun
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fionaleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for you review. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not live up to the expectations previous stay at our hotel have provided for you and we sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory guest experience you had. It is never our intent to treat any of our valued guests with anything less than the highest standards of service and to hear that we fell short on this occasion is very disappointing. We appreciate your loyalty to Melia Hotels International and truly hope you will allow us another chance to demonstrate the level of service our brand is known for and that our guests have come to know and expect.

Warm regards,
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

On arrival staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a good size and was clean. All rooms apparently have a sea view which was nice and we were on the 7th floor so we didn't experience any noise. The only down side to the room was that the pillows were really uncomfortable, however we were not there long enough to raise concerns with the staff.

The pool overlooked the sea, the only criticism here was the lack of beds, we went in April so it may be a problem in the height of season but the area was well kept and again clean. We ended up paying 9 euros on the first day for two seats on the beach opposite the hotel, the second day we got to the pool around 10am and managed to secure two seats.

Good location, a short walk to restaurants and a lovely promenade walk. There is a lift nearby for people who have problems with walking up stairs.

The breakfast bar was well stocked with a wide variety of food and the staff were welcoming. However, It was very noisy in the restaurant!

We would return as it was a nice hotel and good value.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the sea/ pool are very nice
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoJoBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that the majority of your recent stay was satisfactory and are also grateful for your comments about the service you experienced. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative is important to help us to constantly improve our service.
Neverthelles i consider important to inform you that as part of our improvements plan , new sunbeds are arriving to our hotel within the next days, and as well a new solarium area will be open at the beginning of June 2014.

We look forward to seeing you soon again at the Melia Costa del Sol

Warm regards,
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,677 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zen Airport
Hotel Zen Airport
#40 of 72 in Torremolinos
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $100 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing