We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and find it very convenient. All rooms have sea view, but ask for a room on a higher floor and towards the front of the hotel. The standard rooms are functional and have everything you need.
Service at check-in is friendly and efficient and the great plus of the hotel is the wonderful breakfast buffet. You find everything you may want to eat or drink for breakfast, freshly-prepared omelette and cava included! It can get very busy if you go around 10:00, so try to get there a little earlier and you'll be impressed with the huge selection!

Room Tip: higher floor towards the front, we prefer the west (Benalmádena) side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol . It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    1,233
    330
    80
    51
See reviews for
556
1,733
167
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the first time in many years on a weeks half board. Still the same great hotel.
Clean,both rooms and public areas.
Great food, varied, interesting and plentiful.
Great staff, happy and helpful.
Only one comment.
We never had a problem getting a sunbed round the pool as most people do tend to go to the beach.
However a few more beds wouldn't be a bad idea as some people did have a problem.
Also the use of chairs and the way people moved the beds around just makes the place untidy!!!!
Apart from that a few small bottles of CAVA in the mini bar would be a good idea. That's a personal thing I was on my holidays after all!
Well done Melia Costa Del Sol

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boober32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol.
We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter, I am sharing your nice comments with all the staff.
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez- Deputy Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent hotel & location we were very impressed with the 'Melia'. All staff were friendly & helpful. The morning after we arrived we asked if we could move rooms (nothing wrong with ours was 5th floor with pool view but at very back of hotel) Receptionist immediately found us a room on 2nd floor with pool & sea view at front of hotel. Our room was lovely & quiet as room & hallways are carpeted. Breakfast was excellent & delicious with a huge choice to cater for everyone! The pool was small but never got that crowded so wasn't a problem. Free towels for pool & beach were a nice touch. 'Oscar' the pool attendant deserves a special mention-he was fantastic-friendly, helpful & always smiling-he was always busy making sure everyone was okay. Although it clearly said you couldn't reserve sunbeds every morning at 9am there was a mad rush-quite funny to watch from your balcony! Even though sunbeds were free people felt the need to put towels on & then leave the beds empty for hours which seemed quite selfish. Most days we were able to find sunbeds by siesta time. We had a lovely holiday & would recommend the hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view near the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.


Orlando Pérez - Dep Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

we stayed here in sept 2012 and both my husband and myself thought this was a great hotel in a great place with great food and lovely staff, but is not cheap, but like always you get what you pay for.
happy to recommend to all

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your past visit to Melia Costa del Sol .
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Decided to book with the Sol Melia group as they have a good reputation. Managed to get two adjoining rooms one for the adults and one for the children. The room was in good condition, complete with mini bar for refreshments if required. The air conditioning is to the coldest but was sufficient to keep the room cool.
We stayed half board and the food was ok, especially busy at breakfast times.
The hotel is quiet and never had any problems with noise.
The pool is small in from of the hotel and the seats disappear quickly, which is not really an issue as the beach is just across the road.
We had no complaints about the hotel, it's a good standard normal hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amarabou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our Hotel.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.


Orlando Pérez - Dep Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Massive hotel in a great location but with a tiny pool overlooking the road and not enough parking spaces for all the guests.
Our windows were filthy. We asked reception who said they would send cleaners but did not.
Nice breakfast.
We generally like the melia chain but this is one of their least impressive hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirTravelaLot2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much to sharing your experience with us, we really sorry for do not except your expectation, it´s not good to know that in this case you have not had a good experience , we take very seriously your check points, since they are the tool to improve our quality and service levels and also to highlight the opportunity areas .

Best Regards

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel, the first week in August after reading the reviews of other guests.
On our arrival we were a little confused as to where the reception was after arriving by coach, but was quickly pointed in the right direction by other guests. After booking in, we made our way up to our room, which was better than we had hoped for. It was extremely clean and spacious.
We then opened the curtains to see what kind of view we had. What a nice surprise to see fantastic views over the pool and the beach.
We loved the choices of food at breakfast, and how much room there was in the dining room. The service was quick, but relaxed and seemed to cater for all nationalities. The staff were very polite and helpful throughout the hotel.
The next time we come to Torremolinos we'll definitely come here again. It made our holiday special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onceared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations.
For us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience at Melia Costa

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
0.4 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing