We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant. Great Hotel and Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 23, 2013

LOCATION

The Hotel is a 10 minute drive from the airport in a cab costing €18. You can also get a 15 minute train from Malaga to Torremolinos for around €4 and it's a 5 minute downhill walk.

Leave the hotel left and there are several beach front restaurants spaced out for about 2 miles - with good quality meals costing between €25 - €50. There is also an amusements and mini-golf course.

You can also turn up into Torremolinos town - up a winding street of small shops and restaurants. After a 10 minute walk in crowds you will find a couple of busy squares, the train station and plenty of nice bars to have a Sangria or Cocktail. Incidentally, beer was only €2 for a San Miguel in many places, so if you want to have a few one night it's good value. A jug of Sangria is between €7 and €15 so shop around if you can be bothered.

You can also turn right out of the hotel and find walk around the man-made cove to find a busy beach front strip with lots of restaurants and some lively bars. There is a great restaurant just before the cove called 'El Gato' that I couldn't recommend highly enough. My girlfriend and I ate their twice and were very impressed.

The beach is also directly in front of the hotel and is very nice, though can get a bit crowded directly in front of the Melia - so I would recommend a walk for 5 minutes either way.

Train services are also very good - we took a trip to Malaga in 15 minutes for €4.

THE HOTEL

The reception staff were first class, giving us maps, information, answering questions and taking good care of us. We had a problem with our in-room safe one day, and it was fixed within 15 minutes. We asked them to take care of our bags, and we popped in twice to take stuff out with the porter happy to help.

The bedroom was lovely, I would recommend a room facing to the right of the hotel - as you get the sun in the afternoon.

Very clean rooms that were serviced every day - we asked to be cleaned at a specific time as we came back to the room in the afternoon's, which was accommodated with no fuss. They will also come back later if you are sleeping, etc.

Excellent bath and shower with immediate hot-water and a big mirror. Hair-dryer wasn't any good, but most people who use one every day I would imagine bring their own? Don't rely on the hotel one, though.

The room also had a sofa, table and chairs, fridge, bar area, air-conditioning, safe and balcony. Decoration was maybe a bit dated, but I thought it gave it a 'classic' hotel look, which I liked. You also get a Samsung TV which has BBC channels and some other English Language channels, but not many. Lots of Spanish, German, Russian, Dutch channels.

One small gripe - it's a big hotel and is serviced by 3 small lifts on either side. So you could be waiting a while to go to your rooms. We were on floor 5 so were happy to walk down, but up was a bit of an issue after dinner/ breakfast.

There is also a Spa on-site which my girlfriend went to and informs me was very nice and she had an hour in the Spa and a massage. You will get a discounted rate if you are staying in the hotel.

I went to the Gym, which is free to hotel guests with your key card, and was pleased with the running and cycling machines, there are also some free-weights. The rowing machine was poor, as was the other equipment. However, if you fancy a run most runners were out on the promenade in the early evening which was pleasant.

The swimming pool is small for a hotel of this size and there are not enough sun-beds to go around. They could easily fit another 20/30 beds around the pool. By 9am all beds are taken, often we would take two seats for the first half an hour, with others laying on the grass. However, the pool attendant is quick to bring you a bed when one becomes available. You won't be able to save your bed for long periods with a towel, longer than 30 minutes he will take it and bring the bed to someone who wants it. Should just get more beds, though!

THE FOOD

We had the breakfast and I would say it was good to excellent. The choice was stunning, like a cruise-ship. Cooked breakfast, cakes, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, bread of all different types. Various teas, coffees, juices were also available. You may need to queue at the door for 5 minutes at busy moments as you will be seated by a waiter - we managed to avoid this all week though we did see some queueing.

Torremolinos is a great place for a couples holiday, we had an excellent time and I would recommend the Melia to anyone.

Room Tip: I would look for the 2nd of 3rd floor to avoid waiting for the lifts and take the stairs. You will w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thomasjrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and those nice photos of the hotel and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol . It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,779 - 1,785 of 4,047 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just got back from a hen do staying at this hotel. Great location right on the beach and couple of minutes walk to shops etc.

Reception area was bright clean and modern as were rooms with a lovely view overlooking the sea.

The restaurant was modern and a good choice of food with a fish bar, salad bar aswell as the main courses. Deserts unusually for a foreign destination were delicious.

The swimming pool as people mentioned was small for the size of the hotel. However, they seemed to have a system in place where if the sunbed was empty for more than about 20 minutes your towel would get removed which at the beginning was slightly annoying but the pool attendant was very on the ball at hes job in doing this which meant you never seemed to have to wait long for a bed to become available and I really do think this was the fairest system based on pool size. Pool attendant very helpful moving beds and parasols and found most of the staff friendly.

Torremolinos - Lots of beach bars, restaurants, shops etc and no where near as tacky as I had expected. Ideal destination for families ( great beach, mini golf, trampolines rides etc) or for couples but not great for hen do's as all the big clubs have closed down over the last fews years as have a few bars etc so we only went out one night in Torremolinos. One night we went to Benalmadena which was a few miles up the road but extremely intimidating with PR people literally grabbing your arms to pull you into bars etc and numerous stories of bags/phones being pinches etc. Another night at Puerto Banus which was about half hour in a taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, and we are glad you did enjoy the quality of our food, etc... .
As well i want to thank you for al information posted of the Hotel area.
Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards

Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We did our check-in on the 11-th of July, 2013, aroud 11 am (room 478). The receptionist was so very kind to us! The room was large and always very clean. The restaurant is modern and very well organized, there is a large variety of tasty food and the service was pleasant and professional. I could mention a lot of people who were always kind to us, but I can only remember Ms. Natalya from the restaurant, who was always smiling and ready to serve in the most professional way. The check-out, on the 18-th of July was also a very pleasant surprise and I would like to thank again to the Reception for being so nice to us!
I am recommending Melia Costa del Sol, from Torremolinos, from all of my heart!

Room Tip: All rooms have side sea-view, so I guess I am recommending any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catalin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol.
We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter,
I am sharing your nice comments with Natalia , Reception Team and all the staff.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,



Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Torremolinos is quite a low level tourist destination but fortunately choosing Melia Hotel and having a room with pool and sea view place we ve been very lucky .The wifi is working properly,either in the hotel or even to the nearby beach...The food in all Torremolinos. at the center of the town or the seaside is unacceptable!!!Breakfast was nice at Melia

Room Tip: Room with sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mak2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time and share the experience you had at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards.


Orlando Pérez - Dep Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a classic sea view room. It was a good size and very comfortable. The room had a fridge and with an ice machine in the corridor it was great for having a few drinks on the balcony.
We stayed bed and breakfast. The breakfast was fantastic and catered for everyone. The staff from cleaners to reception were friendly and helpful.
There was free wifi and we were also provided with a variety of toiletries.
The hotel provided beach towels-reception took a 30 euro deposits against your credit card and gave you a towel card. This allows you to get your beach towel and you can have up to one change a day. On checkout you return the card and no money is then taken from .
I could not fault this hotel and will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alilittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter, I am sharing your nice comments with all the staff.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 10-18 July in Jnr suite 664 .arrived to be greeted by wonderful staff check in was wonderful and quick, first time my bag beat me to my room .The room was very spaces very clean the balcony was out of this world 21 pace long 2 sun loungers 2 chairs plus table and the best sea view you could ask for coffee in the morning watching the sun comes up was out of this world.The beds where very comfortable and a good selection of pillows the bed linen was changed every day as we're the towels, great to have a fridge you could use to keep your water cold only thing with the room I think a hotel as big and good as this should have a walk in shower.Now to the food breakfast is indeed brilliant plenty of anything you could ask for but don't get to carried away because lunch is in a world of its own there was 8 different menus .And last but not least dinner was very good again never had the same thing twice all food was hot and very tasty.And let's not forget the staff all very charming and good at there job .If you use this hotel get a Jnr suite well worth the money as is full board.

Room Tip: Jnr suites have large room with wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and you did enjoy the views from yopur suite, as well as some of our Food and Beverage services.
We would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , at Melia Costa del Sol or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe . Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.

Thanks.



Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Returned to this hotel having stayed for 10 nights last year - we have increased our stay to 14 nights this year. It is right on the bech front, a short stroll up the steps into town and a 15 minute taxi ride from the airport. We rquested room 963 which is a two bedrooms suite on the top floor and the hotel caption desk had the room redy for our occupation from 1.30 pm on our arrival. A suite provides a "front on" sea view which three sliding balcony doors. There is a bedroom with bathroom, lounge area with sofa, table and chairs and tv and a second bedroom with just a shower, sink and toilet. It's perfect for us having two children. Each area of the suite has separate air conditioning controls and there are TVs in each bedroom in addition to lounge area. There is also a small lockable mini bar, two sun loungers on balcony plus two chairs and table. Food is of great quality and good choice. The pool is small and we go to the beach but the pool is well managed, opens 9 am til 7 pm and the reserving of the limited number of beds is not allowed with towels. Not opening until 9 am prevents early risers taking the beds every day. We stay on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate whereby dinner can be exchanged for lunch (waiter served) in the restaurant at the hotel entrance. A set menu. The hotel seems to attract a good mix of nationalities and during our stays there have been few children which makes for a pleasant dining experience (no set time to eat just arrive at restaurant between 7 pm and 10.30 pm). People do make the effort to dress for dinner. We book direct with the hotel and just pay via credit card on arrival. The staff are all utterly professional with excellent English. The hotel provides towels for pool/beach which can be changed daily at the pool. Also the shampoo, soap, bath gel and body lotion in the rooms are good quality and replenished daily if you are wishing to minimise what you pack!

Room Tip: High floor and a suite provides a wonderful view and a balcony on which you can lounge and sun bathe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LUCINDA0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendations to other Tripadvisor travellers !
We are thrilled that our staff was providing a good service , and that you had a good experience in our hotel. That is very high praise indeed!
Thank you for staying with us, and as well for this second review and second stay at Melia Costa del Sol .
From all of us here at the Melia Costa del Sol Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!


Kind regards.



Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $97 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing