We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel never disappoints us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“This Hotel never disappoints us”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here on many occasions, we have just returned from our usual few days after the Christmas period. It really is a joy to stay here. When you are greeted by the excellent Snr. Gonzales at Reception in his usual calm and efficient manner you know that all is well. The rooms are spotlessly clean, all have a good view of the sea, the Restaurant is calm and efficient with wonderful food, we will shortly be booking our March break here and it can't come too soon.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephens89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, D. Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe . Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    1,369
    357
    88
    56
See reviews for
625
1,974
192
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The good points - This hotel which is very spacious is very well located just across the road from the beach. The standard rooms are a good size. The bathroom is well stocked with shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, body lotion, emery boards, cotton buds and shower hats. Bath towels are a great size. Breakfast is served til 11am.

The bad points - There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. It's the first hotel I have ever stayed in that didn't have a book showing the hotel facilities, etc. As the hotel is so big, I think this is essential as otherwise the reception staff would be inundated for information that could easily be provided in the book. Breakfast is good but it's also the first hotel I have encountered that the egg station didn't do poached eggs. They also don't do the basic cornflakes. They only had frosted cornflakes which are very sweet. Any other hotel I have stayed in always had ordinary cornflakes. Someone else said that fresh fruit was provided but we only experienced the canned variety and I just love fresh pineapples.

Our experience of the free transfer was a disaster. No one there to meet us on arrival at the airport. After asking numerous people in arrivals, a lady made a phone call for us and eventually directed us down to another level where the buses are parked. We found the bus (the only one there) with six other passengers on board. They had been on board for over an hour and we were on board for a further 30 mins before the bus departed. Not good.

Reception Staff - We experienced good and bad. So it's pot luck who you get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank decision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel was lovely. I had an ocean view with a deck overlooking the pool and the Mediterranean Sea. The rooms are spacious, clean with the latest amenities. The bathrooms modern and well supplied with toiletries. The location was prime. To the right one could walk for miles along the boulevard with the seashore on the left and street lined shops, cafes and restaurants on the right. It was so clean, so safe and so I-want-to-go back inviting. If you exit the hotel and head left, a few steps along the boulevard leads to a series of steps into the oldtown area, a narrow uphill winding cobblestone walkway with beautiful architecture, shops, flowers, restaurants, cafes, vistas of the Mediterranean,ambiance galore all the way the main street of the downtown area. So much charm, it's hard to describe. The hotel food was also decent. A very perfect destination in a charming location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gr3atB1gWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, D.Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor. We're glad you were able to enjoy the excellent service from our staff and our prime location, we would love to host you again at Melia Costa del Sol . Please if you have any other suggestions or comments, please contact us directly and we will gladly respond.

Orlando Pérez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The worst thing about this hotel is the external appearance: the awful pastel shade and the plasterwork are very last century. When I was there a lot of the balconies in the tower opposite had large sections of cladding chipped away, so I guess they're in the process of renovation. Once you're inside, this is a nice hotel: white marble effect in the lobby and the rooms are well appointed, each with a balcony and sea view. In November I was able to leave the balcony door open and the air conditioning off at night: very pleasant. Wi-fi is free unless you want premium speeds, which 90% of people won't need. Breakfast was not included in my package but for a modest 11 euros it was a great spread: fresh fruit, cereals, hams, cheeses and a hot counter for made-to-order omelettes, etc. The location was right on the beach - not of great interest at this time of year, but it would be perfect for families in warmer weather. Right next to the hotel there is a stairway which takes you right to the bars and clubs and the town square: it couldn't be more convenient. That said, if you're an independent traveler driving there, you will have trouble finding the way to the hotel the first time: signposting starts well on the main road but you're soon abandoned and have to work it out for yourself. Once you're there, though, parking in the street is easy and free. All in all a good experience: if they can update the exterior by 20 years or so, this will be a jewel on the seafront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scot_Wha's_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your stay in Torremolinos as well as taking your time for your comments.
As well for your constructive observations as in Meliá Hotels Intl. we believe that it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. With this aim in mind, comments such as yours are of the greatest importance and assistance to us. Be assured that MELIÃ Costa del Sol will never cease in its efforts to constantly improve the quality of the services provided.

Yours sincerely.

Orlando Pérez
D. Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a fabulous vacation in Torremelinos and our holiday could not have been better. We went to Spain in September and the weather was perfect, the location was perfect and we loved the room. My suggestion-request a suite. It was perfect for 3 of us. The view was beautiful. We had breakfast in the restaurant every morning and dinner one night that we were there. The food was very good. If we go back to Torremelinos, we will derfinately stay here.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Housekeeping needs to clean the windows be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adventurer1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have just returned from the melia.It is a lovely hotel,really plush rooms and the food is very good. We felt this hotel is aimed at business people not holidaymakers,you couldnt relax and enjoy yourselves.Strict dress code in restaurant,and please eat quietly attitude,same with the bar,no laughing please! Very small pool area must be hell in summer.We wouldnt go back im afraid, just didnt enjoy the stay there.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Superb hotel. Amazing value for money, we could not fault it at all.
Just arrived back from a great weeks holiday in November.
We were greeted at Malaga Airport, by a driver holding up cards with our names on, shown to our mini bus, cases loaded, and off for the very short hop to the hotel – first impressions – very good.
A very large hotel, check in swift and efficient.
Rooms lovely, a decent size, fully carpeted (seemed brand new), comfortable beds, and spotless bathrooms, with shower and bath. Wide screen TV with BBC 1 and a couple more of English speaking channels. Decent size balcony. Our friends room further along the corridor was just as nice. Free WI- FI too !
Fantastic view of the beach, literally, just across the road. I believe all rooms have a sea view. We were on the 9th floor.
Three lifts mean no waiting ages for one to arrive.
Restaurant very nice, food varied and delicious for every meal, with very pleasant and helpful staff (waitress Olga was especially pleasant).
Pool area very nice, with great views of main road and beach, so perfect to sit and watch the world go by.
Hotel location was spot on ! Beach just across the road, and a short picturesque walk into Torremelinos centre, past lots of gift / shoe / leather shops (quite a few steps – although there are lifts to assist you in both directions from the hotel, if you don’t fancy the walk up the steps ).
Several nights a week there is entertainment provided in the form of a very talented musician, playing music for all tastes (appeals to the slightly older guest)

The hotel is very large, however, extremely well run and managed.

Check out just as swift and efficient as check in, and a mini bus picked us up exactly on time, to take us back to the airport. VERY impressed with the transfer service.

I can't see how anyone could be disappointed with this hotel. I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: All have sea view. Higher floor gives better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CliveNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing