We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely hotel shame about the staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel shame about the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have just returned from the melia.It is a lovely hotel,really plush rooms and the food is very good. We felt this hotel is aimed at business people not holidaymakers,you couldnt relax and enjoy yourselves.Strict dress code in restaurant,and please eat quietly attitude,same with the bar,no laughing please! Very small pool area must be hell in summer.We wouldnt go back im afraid, just didnt enjoy the stay there.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    1,078
    287
    68
    42
See reviews for
462
1,477
140
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Superb hotel. Amazing value for money, we could not fault it at all.
Just arrived back from a great weeks holiday in November.
We were greeted at Malaga Airport, by a driver holding up cards with our names on, shown to our mini bus, cases loaded, and off for the very short hop to the hotel – first impressions – very good.
A very large hotel, check in swift and efficient.
Rooms lovely, a decent size, fully carpeted (seemed brand new), comfortable beds, and spotless bathrooms, with shower and bath. Wide screen TV with BBC 1 and a couple more of English speaking channels. Decent size balcony. Our friends room further along the corridor was just as nice. Free WI- FI too !
Fantastic view of the beach, literally, just across the road. I believe all rooms have a sea view. We were on the 9th floor.
Three lifts mean no waiting ages for one to arrive.
Restaurant very nice, food varied and delicious for every meal, with very pleasant and helpful staff (waitress Olga was especially pleasant).
Pool area very nice, with great views of main road and beach, so perfect to sit and watch the world go by.
Hotel location was spot on ! Beach just across the road, and a short picturesque walk into Torremelinos centre, past lots of gift / shoe / leather shops (quite a few steps – although there are lifts to assist you in both directions from the hotel, if you don’t fancy the walk up the steps ).
Several nights a week there is entertainment provided in the form of a very talented musician, playing music for all tastes (appeals to the slightly older guest)

The hotel is very large, however, extremely well run and managed.

Check out just as swift and efficient as check in, and a mini bus picked us up exactly on time, to take us back to the airport. VERY impressed with the transfer service.

I can't see how anyone could be disappointed with this hotel. I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: All have sea view. Higher floor gives better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CliveNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had another great stay here in September. If you book through Sol Melia and join their rewards you get free taxi to and from the airport. This worked well too. We requested a high floor and got the top floor. The rooms are great and its so quiet in the corridors of this hotel as its all carpeted.

Air con was fine. Ate in the hotel for breakfast. Definately worth staying bed and breakfast.

There are so many nice restaurants in Torremolinos that we didnt eat in the hotel at all.

Definately will be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chillipepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel works! ... It is very large but because it is very well-managed it makes for a very satisfactory stay. The Spa is well worth a visit if the weather is not good! ... or if you prefer a day trip to Malaga which is a mere 30 minutes away by train

Room Tip: All the rooms in the basic category are the same but if you want it to be as quiet as possible ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EPOC O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a very large hotel with views of the sea. I was delighted to find that we had a generous balcony with plenty of room for drying beach wear or other essentials and for sitting on and relaxing to look at the ocean. You can just walk across the road and you are right at the beach, or you can keep walking to the right when leaving the hotel and walk to the next bay about 20 minutes along a good, wide pavement. There is a wide selection of seafood restaurants to choose from here, or choose one of the many restaurants of cafes near the hotel.
Buffet breakfast selection was quite good - a big space with many tour groups dining. Gym was on groundfloor and was good for a workout. Sunlounges were for hire on the beach in front of the hotel, which would be a good idea if you wanted to spend some time lying on the beach as the sand was quite coarse.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have an ocean view - some only have a partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heritage255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was an overnight stay after late arrival into Malaga airport. We got a room at a fantastic rate , free wi-fi, nice lounge/bar area , breakfast included and they even sent a taxi free of charge to collect us from the airport ! What more could you ask for ? Would love to stay at this hotel again when we have more time - for the price you can't beat it !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

. Just back from a week in the Melia Costa del Sol and so happy that I finally got what I always hope for on holidays but rarely get - a fabulous room with a great sea view in a quiet location.
Also have to mention how comfortable the beds were and how we liked the modern and spotlessly kept bathroom. We liked the food there very much - huge selection - should suit all tastes. The staff were great - very helpful and friendly.

We will be back to Torremolinos again - in the winter months - because I imagine it must be
extremely busy during the summer months and of course it will be this great hotel again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view because of its design but the higher floors would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lina564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,494 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#19 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing