We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Monarch Airlines customer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Another Monarch Airlines customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

After finding out that the plane sent for our flight was not big enough to hold all the people booked on it we were bussed here by Monarch. Great hotel, fantastic rooms and wonderful buffet made the delay bearable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnthonyandAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,559
    1,313
    347
    86
    53
See reviews for
592
1,870
185
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Monarch organised our cancelled flight to overnight here - can't fault the hotel or Monarch - great service rooms , food and easy checkout plus on the beach for an excellent walk. We arrived at 10pm after the cancelled flight and 230 people were checked in quickly and by 1030pm the dining room was full of good food and great staff.?........,....

Room Tip: High room. Front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

spent 4 nights at the melia. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we phoned the hotel on the morning of our night arrival to request a high sunny room as close to the seashore as possible. On arrival the room was exactly as requested. We found all the staff were nice. The hotel itself was excellant, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast ( served till 11a.m, handy for a lie in ) and evening meal buffets were great. A massive choice and tasty food.
A nice touch was that as we arrived too late for evening meal on our 1st night we were given a voucher for lunch in the restaurant on our final day. Top class !
All in all, myself and Elizabeth would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool will get the sun at some point during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mancnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

After a cruel twist of fate we ended up in Torremolinos, after driving around for a while trying to find a decent looking hotel to stay in I was just about to dive towards tourist information when I saw for the sign for the Melia and aren't I glad I did. Reception was good, not quite the ornate hall of the Melia Palas Atenea in Palma de Mallorca but well presented. Reception were helpful and in a couple of minutes we were heading up to our room. The lifts were a bit on the small side but there are three that serve each wing. The room was beautiful with a little bar area above the mini bar fridge. A 'desk' that doubled up as a dining table, safety deposit box, balcony with a couple of chairs and a drinks table. We also had breakfast and dinner added to our room rate. Both were buffet affairs but the quality of the food was excellent especially the chicken Paella. The waiting service was good with our waiter trying to make the effort to remember our room number. The bar was pleasant and quiet apart from a group of loud mouthed yanks on the second night. Entertainment does start towards 9 or 10 o clock. There is a small dance floor in there to, and if you cross the dance floor there is a conservatory with a TV nestled in the corner. Melia hotels are fast becoming my hotel chain of choice when they are in the cities I am staying at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightmeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

From outside the hotel looks quite drab but inside is a different story. Reception staff were helpful at all times, as were dining room staff.
Our room was nicely furnished but the bed was somewhat too firm.
Free wifi worked well and was quite fast.
We ate the evening buffet both nights. It was tasty and very varied. Certainly good value at 20 euros each. I also had freshly cooked omelette each morning for breakfast and can recommend this.
Overall, a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussienanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Rooms look a little dated because of the cane furniture but they are spotless.
Fast, free in room wifi.
Lots of electric sockets for plugging your devices in.
Lots of tv channels in English, French and German.
A nice buffet restaurant with a good selection for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Senorsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in 9 different hotels during my recent 14-day "Spanish Fiesta" tour with Globus. (TripAdvisor doesn't provide for reviews of tour packages, but I'll use this opportunity to say I had a great experience enhanced by the experience, knowledge, and humor of our tour director, Raymond Walsh.) I'm only going to rate a few of the hotels. All suffered from a lack of adequate soundproofing between adjacent rooms. This one was my favorite (despite having the hardest mattress that I encountered) because of the perfect location overlooking the Mediterranean Sea and the quality of its WiFi connection. I spent an enjoyable evening on my balcony enjoying a snack of wine, cheese, and fruit while updating my website with photos from the day's excursion to Córdoba, which a very friendly young lady at the front desk had helped me arrange.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retiredandlovingit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Property: Melia Costa del Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Costa del Sol is located in the resort of Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); and a magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing