We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Food is good, hotel clean and overall good value for money. Would recommend for ease of access to town centre if you don't mind walking uphill although there is a public lift in daytime. Easy access along promenade to all tourist bars etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMF2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,108 - 2,114 of 4,197 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here a couple of days on a businesstrip. Torremolinos is NOT the best spot on the Coasta del Sol. However, if you have to be here, this probably is the best choice. Good hotel and certainly good value for money. Nicely located near the beach (just a road in between). Very clean. Breakfast and dinner in buffetstyle. Excellent foodquality - certainly for a hotel of this standard.- and very large number of choices for breakfast as well as for dinner,
I enjoyed a junior-suite. Good beds, best seaview available and certainly worth the extra money you have to pay for this. Hughe balcony, good size bedroom and sitting room. Standard bathroom with good quality toiletries.
Housekeeping derserves improvement. Room in general was not cleaned before 03.00 PM.
Pool indeed is not big but sufficient. Usually enough deckchairs available. One minor point; pool opens not earlier than 09.00 AM.
Avarege clientele 60+
Good SPA, recently opened. Great massages at an attractive price.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite. I had room 862. Ask for the suite numbered ++62 or ++64 (the prevailing 8 indica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have been to this hotel 3 times in the past 3 years, normally to get some sun and warm weather from the usual British summer which lasts approximately 5 weeks. The hotel is literally seconds from a beach which is cleaned every morning. The rooms are absolutely functional for a beach resort hotel. Bathrooms clean and again fucntional. Air conditioning works well, and there is a small fridge people can use for daily essentials. Staff are jolly in their work. If you want to go somewhere not far from from the london airports, which has regular flights through the year, a quick hop from the airport to a beach side hotel, guaranteed sunny weather . Torremolinos is a very happy relaxed family town, and certainly doesn't deserve it's reputation for being a bit down at heel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simon0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Melia Costa del Sol is a big box beach resort chain hotel. Millions of cold, wet Germans and Brits flock to the Mediterranean shore to escape the rain, and they come to places like this. The two towers are clerverly designed to give all the rooms some sea view. In May, the sea was really cold (and flat water, like a lake), and the pool was really cold, so you do what everyody does--walk up and down the esplanade, shopping, eating and drinking--to see and be seen. There were umpteen tour buses of people, and the cavernous restaurant was exceedingly busy and noisy, quite unpleasant, really. You had to go to the basement parking level to get in or out of the building, and once in the pool area, could not get to the street. There was a king bed, one easy chair, two seats at a nice desk. The stucco walls and stipled ceiling gave the room a Mexican two or three star feel, and just to add to that ambiance, there was a huge beetle in the room. It took three requests to get the non-working TV cable changed out. There were no tissues or wash cloth. There was wifi but no free computer for those without their own. I also went to Mallorca on this trip, and the comparison to Torremolinos was that of James Bond to Austin Powers. The whole scene is pretty tacky, really.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

After booking an almost all inclusive package to Spain with Transat Holidays I didnt really know what to expect. I picked the Melia due to proximity to the beach and location in regards to shopping and restaurants and after reading alot of reviews once I had booked I thought i'd made a mistake.

Although I dont usually enjoy staying in high rise hotels, the Melia was different since all of it's rooms were ocean view and with really nice sized balconies.

The hotel was clean and the common areas were quite upscale but still very welcoming. The staff were very friendly, and since you were able to usually have the same ones for breakfast and dinner you got to develop a good rapport with them.

The room was nice, nothing spectacular but it had everything we needed. The beds seemed large for twin which was nice and the bathroom was modern and up to date.

The hotel had a lovely lounge where most retired after dinner to have drinks and speciality coffees and watch the ballroom dancers perform. I brought my mom on this trip so we didnt go with a party mentality (which is a good thing because I was the youngest guest by about 30yrs) It seems that the hotel was used by upscale motorcoach tours that would come and go daily.

The beach was amazing, great for walking and sunbathing. I'm a strong swimmer but the undertoe when we went was quite strong so we waded in the shallows and worked on our tans.

The location of the hotel was much more ideal than I had originally thought. Directly next to the hotel is the lift or staircase that will take you up to the town of Torremolinos. It has great shopping, tapas bars, delicatessens and is just great for wandering.

We did 3 day trips which we booked through viator.com and they were fantastic. We did a Gibralter day trip, a Sevilla day trip and a trip to Tangier. I highly recommend maximizing your time and doing a few of them. Had we had more time we would have went into Malaga, or maybe Grenada? Tons to see and do in the area.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel, but if you're looking for a party please look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wrldflightie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great view from every room. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and big and the breakfast buffet is great!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShesOutandAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were owed this room. We deserved this room. We longed for this room. Ninth floor, overlooking the pool but most importantly, close to the front and looking out over the Med. As soon as we closed the lights for the night, I opened the curtains and sliding door so that I would not miss one second of daybreak or sound of the waves. Unfortunately we had a mere 2 nights in heaven but it will be something I will remember a lifetime. The boardwalk restaurants and shops must be hell in summer but we were here at just the right time. Pick me up next year.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SHADDACalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.8 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,454 reviews
1.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $78 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Costa del Sol located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right in front of the Bajondillo beach and 300 m from the centre of the Torremolinos. The best option for unwinding, having fun and working in Costa del Sol, thanks to its excellent location, its complete and comfortable facilities and its superb service. The bright and welcoming double rooms (**), Junior Suites and Suites with fabulous sea views, a furnished terrace, AACC, Minibar (*), safe, LCD TV and a bathroom with hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities Melia; Different dining areas (Buffet Restaurant, Snack Restaurant and Lobby Bar); a renovated Sea View outdoor pool; 350 m2 Thalasso Spa Marino (*); Fitness Room; Free Wi-Fi throughout all the hotel; Parking (*); magnificent Convention Center with 15 meeting rooms capacity up to 450 people. 10 minutes from Malaga International Airport and 15 minutes from Malaga Ave station / Maria Zambrano. (*) With charge (**) Except some ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing