We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had a lovely week at the Sol Don Pablo recently (April). Having being there a number of times over the years, I knew that I would be staying at an excellent hotel. Very impressed with the work that has been undergoing over the winter period. Lovely hotel with a great ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
6  Thank BARRYSNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear BARRYSNR,
Thanks for coming back to see us again. It is very satisfying to have so many repeat guests and even more so when they tell us that all the winter renovations that we do are worth while. We are really happy with the new pool area and hope that our guests will love it as much as we do.
Thanks for writing in. We hope to see you very soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed 5 nights at start of April & what a great time was had by all. 2 adults & 3 kids aged from 11 to 16 and loads for all ages to do.
It's very close to the airport so very easy to get to & is located in a nice quiet area on the front with excellent walk ways for a stroll in the sun in both directions.
Indoor pool for most days but with weather excellent by end of days we were able to go in (& stay in!!) the outdoor ones of which there are plenty.
Loads of space around the site & the quality of food at all meal times has to be seen to be believed. The restaurant runs like a well oiled machine with experienced staff keeping an eye on all areas meaning you are seated & eating quickly.
I had e-mailed the hotel prior to arriving to ask a couple of questions & Jaime was brilliant in both replying and guiding me on room types & which hotel. He also emailed a couple of days before hand to wish us a good flight & comment that weather looked good - really nice touch.
Drinks in the restaurant & bar are reasonably priced and bottle of wine with 4 soft drinks around £20 you could not fault. I honestly believe that you could justify coming for the weekend as it would probably be cheaper than staying at home in a 4 star hotel (Certainly any of the ones near me anyway) even taking into account the cost of the flight!
Booking with the hotel direct and via their rewards scheme was simple, cost effective & they even arranged to pick us up & drop us back at the airport.
Absolutely brilliant all round - Well done Jaime & the staff - best wishes for the holiday season ahead & I hope that we can manage over for another few days later in the year.
Chris

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChrisE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear ChrisE3,
Thank you so much for taking the time after your holiday to let us all know how your trip went. I am really pleased that it was such a success. It´s not always easy with teenagers so I am pleased to hear that everyone had such a good time.
Personal contact with our guests is one of the great satisfactions of this business so it is always a pleasure to help out and try to ensure a wonderful holiday.
I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Many thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is truly a superb hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. We returned home today from this hotel and we're already planning another trip back later in the year. The location is fantastic - right on the beach and there are many activities throughout the day for all ages. I stayed at the hotel for a week with my husband, two year old daughter and my mother. Excellent food and lots to do in the hotel and resort as a whole for children. Lovely spacious room with a large balcony and modern bathroom. It was great being able to use the facilities in the Don Pedro an Don Marco hotels as well as those on offer in the Don Pablo. We all really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Helen C,
I am so glad that your choice of the Sol Don Pablo worked out so well for you. Thank you for letting the Trip Advisor readers know. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We are just back from a two month stay in this nice hotel. We stayed February and March. We were lucky because the weather was SUPER good. only 3 times rainy days in two month and the rest of the time it was between 17 and 23 degrees C during the day, we even sat on the beach few days.
This was the first time for us in Don Pablo because Don Marco was closed for few weeks and we loved it. Don Pablo is bigger and so as the rooms also. The view was super good from the balcony.
The people at the reception were very nice and helpfull. We got a room on the 4th floor and later we changed to the 5th floor with a front sea view (it was excellent, Thanks to Sr. Jaime).
The rooms we stayed in were renovated and with a new bathroom with a walkin shower. The rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed.
The pool area is being renovated and it is going to look fantastic.
The buffet restaurant is in the Don Pablo, all guests from don pedro and don marco come to don pablo for food, so at some times during the week end it can be very busy, but the food plates are never empty. Very good quality and tasty food, they always have fish, meat, chicken, salads, pasta, cheeeeeeeeses (that is many kinds) and the best freshly baked many different kinds of bread. And I should not forget the desert table with the sheese and the fresh and dried fruits.
One the big advantages of the Sol Don Hoteles is the entertainment. The entertainment team members are super duper good and the quality of the shows are first class, especially the FLAMENCO show on friday (don't miss it because also the food in the buffet that night is special).
We visited many places and we went by local busses and the train, it is so easy and cheap. Spain is tourist friendly city, all the information are in spanish and english.
The train and the bus terminal is not far from the hotel (within 15 minutes walk). So you can take the bus or the train to go to Malaga and Fuengirola (the Tuesday market of fuengirola is the best). You can also take the bus to Mijas, Marbella, Puerto Banus and usually we walk from the hotel to Benalmadina and puerto marina (3.5km) if you can't walk you can take the bus.
If this is your first visit to Torremolinos then you have to take some tours from the hotel.
Thanks to all the people who made our stay in this hotel memorable, we enjoyed it very much and we will be back next year may be for more time.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but the 4th floor are for smokers. If you like the sun then take an odd room num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bolbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioStalenhoef, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear "bolbol":

First at all we would like to thank you for your nice and possitive comment in Trip Advisor about us. We are glad that you´ve enjoyed your holidays with us and we look forward to receive you again in our Sol Don Hoteles Resort.

Once again thanks youi ans see you soon¡

Yours Sincerely,

Antonio Díaz
Coordinador
Sol Don Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

e have just returned from a 7 night break at the Don Pablo and we really enjoyed our stay.The hotel is spotless throughout from our room to the dining room and public areas.
The main outside pool was having a make over so there was some noise/disruption but it was not too bad and it was finished before we left so we were able to enjoy it for the last 2 days, but the beach is just across the road so we used that at the start of our holiday.
The food was very good although we did not think the beef dishes were particularly good, every time we tried it, it seemed to be tough, but everything else was lovely and there was so much choice. The breakfast's were nice but some of the options that you expect from a fried breakfast eg sausages and bacon weren't the best but there were so many other options including freshly made omelette, that didn't bother us.
We also had a go at bowling as it has 2 full size bowling greens! Very unusual for a hotel.The evening entertainment was OK, quite a few double acts with vocals, guitar and backing tapes, not our kind of thing but they did sound OK!
We were very lucky with the weather and had a full week of lovely sunshine, we are already thinking about returning to this hotel next May as all in all we had a super time.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear karen R,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us so much and really appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know on Trip Advisor.
I think one of the great advantages that you point to at the Sol Don Hotels complex is that we have so many choices available. If you don't like the entertainment in one of the three hotels you can go and see what is happening in the other building. Likewise with the restaurant, we have a lot of options so that there is something for everyone. We also have 9 pools and 2 jacuzzis spread around the extensive grounds so that there is bound to be an outside area which is to your liking.
Thanks again for your comments. I hope we see you next year.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is our second attempt to post a review as our first attempt seems to have been lost in the ether.

We have recently returned from a holiday with Mercian Bridge and bowling at the Don Pablo Hotel in Torremolinos. The bridge, run by EBU directors, was very enjoyable and organised up to the highest standard and very pleasurable, as was the bowls.

It is several years since we last stayed at this hotel and it was very pleasant to be welcomed back by the same staff who remembered us and welcomed us by name.

The hotel was excellent; the staff in all departments, helpful and efficient. The food was very good with special diets catered for. The food quality and selection has greatly improved since our last visit some 7 years ago. Since then a complete new kitchen complex has been installed and the restaurant redesigned and refurbished which has resulted in an excellent buffet with show cooking and knowledgeable chefs. We will certainly have no hesitation in returning.

Ron & Jean P

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Ron P,
It is always a pleasure to welcome guests back to the hotels and even more so after so many years. Thank you for all your positive comments. The fact that we continue to improve is a sign that our investment programme is going in the right direction and, more importantly, that the staff are still giving their all to make you feel welcome.
I sincerely hope that your next visit is sooner than seven years.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Arrived last Sat 5/4/14 having booked through Lastminute.com and they said they had no record of us. I had already paid in UK they would have seen how worried we were had they bothered to look up from their computers. As for the hotel it is in a perfect position,the food was lovely, the main pool was being refurbished hope they have managed to get it finished for the Easter rush?? We would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view is worth the extra for the wonderful sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Sharon M,
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Sol Don Pablo.
I am really sorry that you were not welcomed properly. It does occasionally happen that a reservation does not arrive as it should - either because a name is wrongly spelt or a date is incorrectly input - and the front desk staff should be more aware of the possible distress this can cause whilst the suituation is being put right. Please accept our apologies.
I am glad that you approved of the location and enjoyed the food so much and am sorry that the first impression means that you probably won't return.
Incidentally the pool is finished and is now looking wonderful.
Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,596 reviews
2 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,088 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
0 mi away
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Sol Don Marco by Melia
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $78 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pablo By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing