We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Halloween break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Halloween break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over the half term break, although the hotel was busy we never had to wait for breakfast or dinner. The rooms were clean and spacious, the large walk in shower was great and we always had hot water. The evening entertainment was exceptional and the animation team are very friendly even though they are busy. The food was good - yes you could find faults, but you can find faults everywhere if you want to. The juice was weak and the bacon was hard but there was enough food and selection at dinner and breakfast to suit all tastes.

A very good hotel in a good location would def stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    855
    290
    79
    33
See reviews for
650
1,030
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Me and my family came in August this year my kids are 5 and 4. We arrived on a night and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the top floor it didn't have a balcony which was good with having hyper kids running about! The room was dated but clean and tidy, the AC was free but it wasn't very good it only had one setting on or off, but it did the job. We stayed bed and breakfast which was very good an excellent selection for all. The staff again were quick to clean and have you seated with out a wait. The hotel is part of a group of hotels beside it were you can use the different pools which were very good. The hotel is over the road from the beach if your seeking the beach this hotel is ideal. The evening entertainment was good the kids enjoyed there version of the Lion King. When choosing to go remember August its hot and the Spanish like to holiday at Torremolinos too! The crocodile park is not far away and worth it for half a day only cost about 8euro a trip in a taxi.

Room Tip: Ideal for the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bullithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear bullithead,
Thank you for taking time to review the Sol Don Pablo on TA. I am so glad that you and the children enjoyed your holiday so much. I am sorry that the AC was not as good as it should have been. Unfortunately we had a problem with the system at the hottest moment of the summer which we were unable to solve quickly. This winter we will replace the whole compression system for the hotel and so will avoid the possibility of a recurrence.
Thank you once again for your review and for choosing the Sol Don Pablo. I hope that we may see you again in the future.
Merry Christmas to you and the children.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Sol don Pablo review

Positives
Swimming Pools excellent choice of pools for all four hotels.
Room facilities comfortable clean and love the two man shower.
Service in the dining hall excellent.
Pool bar provided excellent choice of drinks and good service.
Pools were clean.

Not so great
Staff were not as friendly as you would expect from a four star hotel, I suspect this was down to it being Halloween.
Inadequate ventilation in the room toilet.
Advised Wifi was free but there was a charge and login information was not provided when made enquires.
Speed of service at the checking in service could be improved.


Negatives
Food quality not so great. Continental Breakfast, bacon was over cooked, rock hard, fatty and streaky bacon.
Fried eggs over done.
Scrabbled eggs sitting to around to long.
Beans were awful.
The orange juice appeared to be a diluted orange rather the fresh orange juice.

We avoided eating in and ate out.

Overall opinion we would not stay there again and agree with many of the reviews.

Room Tip: Recommend a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Mark S,
Thank you for your direct assessment of your stay at the Sol Don Pablo. All of our guests' opinions help to guide us in improving and keep us in the top 10 of Torremolinos hotels.
I am particularly sorry that the dinner was not to your liking; we will make every effort to remedy the problems that you have identified. I am glad that in many respects you like the hotel and the complex and appreciate your comments to that effect.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Don Pablo for seven nights from 26th October to 2nd November. My spouse is disabled with rheumatoid arthritis and although we were on a package holiday with Jet 2 we had also contacted the hotel directly to make sure that the requested room with a walk in shower was available.
On arriving, a rather incompetent taxi driver dropped us at the rear entrance to the hotel, which actually faces the sea front, and not at the main entrance which is in a side street, so I had a rather confused few minutes trying to find the reception desk which is actually two floors higher than the rear entrance. Eventually I asked one of the staff, a very cheerful individual called Fernando, and he couldn't have been more helpful. He took us both to reception and also showed us an extra large lift that we could use with the wheelchair. He was fairly typical of most of the staff, with few exceptions they were friendly and helpful.

Our first meal there was the evening meal for that day, and we were very disappointed, the food and the cooking was poor and we began to think that we had picked the wrong hotel, but the food did improve considerably over the holiday, although it was always a bit hit and miss, the breakfast bacon was overcooked most days, the croissants sometimes looked cremated rather than warmed, the fruit juices in the machines were over diluted, and overall the dining room was the one place that let the hotel down badly. We always had the impression that everything was the cheapest quality available and then not really cooked well either. You could usually find something edible, but simply edible is not what four star food should be. I also noticed that although like most hotels they have an evening dress code of long trousers, this was not always enforced and some men came in wearing shorts. This is a slipping of standards I have noticed in a few hotels and I do wish that they would get it through their heads that just because we are on package holidays does not mean that the majority of us are scruffs and that we would welcome standards being enforced.

Our room was good, faced south, was a corner room with a balcony that went around the side of the building so was very large. We overlooked two artificial bowling greens and there was always a good crowd on them so if you are into flat green bowling this is the hotel for you. There is a large sun bathing terrace and two pools on different levels.

The hotel is a little old fashioned in its decor but we could not fault the cleanliness. There is a large communal salon but very few people seemed to sit around in it. The bar/entertainment room is pleasant and the entertainment was mostly very good, a Four Tops tribute band, a magic show, a singing duo, but if you wanted a drink it was best to go to the bar yourself as trying to attract the waiter or waitress was like nailing jelly to the wall, I felt that dancing naked on the table waving signal flares would probably be the best bet most nights. To be fair, the bar staff and waiters were often run off their feet, but I felt that they could probably have worked out a better system.

Our room was large, with a walk in shower, but it was too crowded with furniture. There were three beds, a table, three armchairs and a dresser, and you couldn't swing a cat let alone get a wheelchair comfortably through the room. I solved the problem to an extent by pushing the third bed sideways against the back wall but really we could have done without it in there at all, it simply got in the way. There was also little in the way of the freebies that even three star hotels dish out, such as shampoos and sewing kits, combs etc, which was unimpressive.

A major quibble with the hotel, from the point of view of someone disabled, is that the lifts do not go all the way down to the ground floor where the dining room is, they stop on the floor above and there is a long but steep and slippery ramp to negotiate down to the dining room, which is probably not a problem if you are a body builder pushing your eight stone granny in a wheelchair but I couldn't push my wife back up this ramp and she had to struggle to walk up it, which is painful for her.

Overall we enjoyed the holiday and I think that we would stay at the Don Pablo again now that we know the pitfalls there. I don't think that it quite deserves four stars, certainly not for the quality of the food, but it is a decent hotel mostly and the staff are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: South or West facing rooms get sunnier balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sungazer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

6 of us visited this hotel for the first time (3 mums and 3 daughters) we loved it! The hotel is spotless with comfortable rooms that are cleaned daily, we found the food at breakfast and evening meal to be of a good standard with lots of choice and it was always hot. The entertainment on an evening was enjoyable. We found some of the staff were not too pleasant but others were. Some of the tiles around the swimming pool require mending but nothing that would put us off returning. Thanks for a lovely short break Sol Don Pablo.

Room Tip: Ask for sunny side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I love the Don Pablo, the girls on reception are brilliant and cheerful(men receptionists please copy) We had a beautiful seaview room on the 5th floor which had a lovely walk in shower.
The entertainment staff were brilliant and they put on some smashing shows! How they got time for themselves beats me as they were workinf during the day as well. They were super!
Everything about this hotel was great except the evening meal! Breakfast was brilliant but the cooking of the evening meal left a lot to be desired! The ingredients were there OK but all the meats to me were flavourless .They looked nice on the hotplate but very tasteless on the palate. Best to stick to the salads! Nevertheless we'll be back ,but we may eat out in the evenings

Room Tip: sesview room on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear alex m,
I am sorry to hear that you were not impressed by the dinner during your last stay at the the Don Pablo, especially as you so enjoyed all the other aspects of your holiday. We will certainly investigate your comments and put in place any remedies that we can.
I hope that you will be back soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is considerably inferior to every 4-star accommodation I have ever stayed at. The room had beautiful views over the sea and the mountains but was smallish in size. The bathroom was grossly dated and had some piece of disconnected piping sticking out of the wall. There are vintage-looking soap and shampoo wall mounted dispensers which the hotel staff duly forgot to fill. Sometimes we had a stench of blocked sewage coming out of the bathroom and had to keep the balcony door open all the time. The hotel has probably not been refurbished properly for a long while. The buffet style breakfast was more or less adequate, though of more quantity than of quality. They often had entertainment programs running late that prevented us from falling asleep and getting up early for daily trips. The public parking nearby which the hotel seemed to own was overly expensive though not even being a secure underground one. We did not get any discounts there as hotel guests. On the brighter side, the communal areas looked quite well and the hotel’s location is convenient. Still the next time I will be looking for better options than Don Pablo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Helga718,
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that your stay with us seems ot have been so unsatisfactory. I hope that you have not been put of Sol hotels by your experience. We will certainly work to remedy the points where you feel that we fell down. The bathroom which you mention is one of very few which has yet to be renovated but will be completed this winter.
I would just like to note for the information of any one reading the review who has yet to visit the Sol Don Pablo that there are 60 secure parking spaces next to the front door hotel which are secure and exclusively for the use of our guests. There is also a public covered parking next to the hotel where guests do not get any discount.
Thanks again for taking the time to write.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#12 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing