We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, very poor reception staff!!”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
methley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great hotel, very poor reception staff!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived fot the 2nd time this year expecting room 802 after receiving this from the hotel months ago...we have reserved room 802 for you, from a lady called isabel only to be told on arrival that this room (frontal sea view) was occupied and we were put in room 808. I showed reception the confirmation email for room 802 but I was rudely shooed away by paco. The next error by reception was when we requested a 6.30am wakeup call on the Thursday. We watched the receptionist write down our request but we never received the call (i set my phone alarm to be safe) luckily we weren't catching a flight!! great hotel but very poor customer service. Dont expect what you requested when booking this hotel!

Room Tip: make sure if you reserve a frontal sea view you have paid up front for it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Chris W,
Thank you for choosing the Sol Don Pablo and also for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am glad that you loved the hotel but am disappointed to see that you were let down by our Reception/Reservations staff. The issue obviously requires work and I thank you for letting us know so that we can find solutions.
I hope that the reception's performance won't dissuade you from returning in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    928
    316
    84
    41
See reviews for
710
1,109
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel Sol Don Pablo for a 7 night stay and were checked in promptly. The hotel has a traditional feel to it and we were allocated a room on the 6th floor with a side view of the beach and the sea. Although the room was clean and of an excellent standard, there was no tea making facilities, but we always take our own kettle etc so this did not present a problem. We were staying on a half board basis and all the meals were excellent. Breakfast was from 7:30 to 10:30 and you could not ask for more. You had a choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, meats or you could always have a full cooked English breakfast. There were tea and coffee machines and we counted 6 toasters in operation, so there was never a queue. There was always plenty of choice at dinner too and the staff in the dining room were excellent. Nacho deserves a mention for his friendly welcome every evening at the dining room entrance and for putting up with my beginners Spanish. The pool area was nice with plenty of sunbeds. You can also use the facilities of the two sister hotels adjoining (Don Marco and Don Pedro). The complex is very secure at night as the gates are locked at 12 midnight and entry can only be gained by using your room card. The hotel is well positioned directly on the Paseo Martimo promenade next to the beach. There are 9 pools around the complex and the grounds are kept clean and presentable. The hotel also has 2 full size bowling greens and 5 lifts. Forget any previous negative comments, as I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to visitors and Torremolinos also has the advantage of being just a short transfer from Malaga airport. I would just like to mention that Torremolinos also surprised me as my last visit was many years ago and I feel it is now a very smart resort with a beautiful promenade. Finally, all staff at the Sol Don Pablo should take a bow and be very proud of their efforts - you made our stay very memorable. I will definitely return to this hotel in the future without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Due to its location, 99% of rooms in the Sol Don Pablo have a side view to the sea. The only other c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redfoxpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Got off to a bad start as on arrival they said the hotel was full and we were put in a room without a balcony even though a balcony room had been confirmed on our booking 5 months before. Therefore lost a day of our holiday as we couldn't unpack until we'd got another room sorted out the next day. However after that we could not fault a thing. The hotel is lovely. Very spacious, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean everywhere. The location is ideal - right beside lovely sandy beach and plenty of small shops,restaurants and bars. Within walking distance of the old town. 5 minutes walk away is a lift (cost 50 cents) which takes you up to the town if you don't want to walk all the way.The hotel dining room, although self-service, was well run with good sized tables not too close together and linen table-wear. Always a good selection of food and piping hot. Bedrooms very spacious with masses of storage and flat-screen TV which included BBC1 and a few other British channels. There was a double-sized shower instead of bath in the well-fitted, good-sized bathroom. Nice balcony with table and chairs. Huge outside entertainment area with different cabaret each night with singers, dancers, magic, etc. all of good professional standard. Thought the drinks were very expensive. Good swimming pools and gardens with plenty of loungers. Also free use of 6 all-weather bowling greens adjacent, plus lots of other day-time activities. Most guests in September were older, though they obviously cater for young families. However, I wouldn't think the Don Pablo would appeal generally to young people without families. Overall a lovely hotel where you can always find some peace and quiet, and situated in the quieter part of Torremolinos. Met several people who have been going there for years and we definitely hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bowling greens have the sun nearly all day and evening Rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crussell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear crussell8,
I am so glad that you liked the Sol Don Pablo so much. I apologise for the glitch on the first day and am glad that it didn't affect your holiday too much.
The clientele of the Don Pablo changes with the seasons. In summer, you are right, there are many more families and we have a very well-subscribed mini club. As autumn and winter approach the focus is more on retired couples although we do have a lot of younger couples. My personal suggestion for younger couples is the Don Marco. It is part of the same complex and guests have access to all the same facilities but in a much quieter atmosphere.
Thanks for your review. I sincerely hope that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

stayed 2 oct/9oct I will start with the positives
great entertainment every night
good selection of food for breakfast/dinner
rooms ok.
negatives
air conditioning is very poor seems to be very old system
lifts are too small for 300 plus room hotel
breakfast is very stressful some times no teabags
also please purchase tea pots there is a serious shortage

Room Tip: any rooms 01 on any floor have a wraparound balcony eg 101/201/301/ect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curtainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear curtainman,
Many thanks for your very useful review. As I am sure you are aware, this forum is extremely important to us to help is identify the areas where we can improve.
We had a problem with our central air-conditioning system at the end of the summer when temperatures were hottest and which had no quick remedy. I apologise to anyone affected. The system will be renewed this winter and next summer it will be restored to perfect working order.
The issue of the lifts is being studied. They can become congested at peak meantimes when we are at full occupancy, which I understand can cause inconvenience for our guests.
The tea pots have been replaced.
Again, thank you for your comments, both positive and constructive. I hope that we have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Once again we had a super holiday at the Don Pablo. We emailed in advance to request a room on a high floor, facing west and at the sea end of the building and were delighted to get exactly that. All the staff are friendly and helpful and the entertainment team work so hard. There are many activities planned over the day, listed on screens in the reception area. At no time do the team approach anyone to take part, it is up to you. The evening entertainment is a blend of their own team putting on shows, Grease, Mamma Mia etc and also other musicians and Flamenco shows, Il Divo type bands, etc. Rooms are quite spacious with large balconies and good bathrooms. An empty fridge is provided for your own use. Breakfast choices are good, including endless cava. Evening choices vary over the week / fortnight and for anyone finding it difficult to find some thing they like there is the Italian corner - pizza, pasta etc. The frontage of the hotel has been updated and looks very smart and this winter all the swimming pools are going to be upgraded. We do not usually return to the same hotel but it is hard to find another hotel in this area that offers so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Morag A,
I am delighted that we cover all the bases for you and that you appreciate not only the hotel as it is, but also the modernisations and improvements that we carry out every year.
I hope that you love the new pool complex when you come back next time.
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On arrival we had no problem at reception and was given the option of single or double beds and floor. We had room on the 8th floor with a queen size bed and a great side view over the beach and med. WE had booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast selection was amazing, hot cold fruit cereal and even champagne if you wanted. The rooms were clean and a reasonable size the only problem was the balcony door was wooden and there was a gap between the frame. The staff were friendly and nothing seem to much trouble. Each evening at 10pm there was entertainment which on most evenings was top class. With its location right on the beach I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms not overlooking the pools give you good views are quieter and get the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shakinray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear shakinray,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and I really appreciate your recommendation.
I hope that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Reception slow and un-organsised on check-in/out, let spanish people push in front of the queue.

Some kind of noisey protest going on outside reception for 2 days, no communication from staff as to whats going on, very un-nerving.

Room OK, cleaners good and friendly when passing, main pool needs repair has cracked tiles and is grimey looking, uncomfortable plasic sunbeds.

On half board option, quantity rather than quality here, there is lots of choice but nothing seemed particularly fresh or cooked well, dry meat/fish, overcooked vegetables, undercooked eggs etc etc.

Most of the cliental were pensioners, not much atmosphere.

Near the hotel are lots of restaurants/bars but no real nighlife, went to torremolinos town and was slightly more busy but pretty rough place. Ended up getting a cab to Benalmadena marina each night instead. Avoid 24hour square its not safe. Go to Toro restaurant in the marina for the tasting menu with wine, you wont be dissapointed (or sober) when you leave.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafttaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear dafttaylor,
I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Don Pablo. I do appreciate you getting in touch to let us know, however.
You were very unlucky that during a few days in September a group of retired employees who have not been receiving their full pension from the government elected to make their discontent apparent by protesting in front of the hotel. As we informed all the guests, in six languages, both with notices in the lifts, in the reception and on the electronic notice boards in the public areas of the hotel, this was nothing to do with the management or union commitee of the hotel. I appreciate that it involved two hours of noise outside the front of the hotel for three consecutive days and I can see how it could have been unnerving. We are sorry for that.
Torremolinos is no longer the party town that it was in the 1980s and 1990s. It is now much more of a family resort although the 7 km. beach is lined with small bars and restaurants. The centre of town also has some great restaurants and shops. For those seeking a party atmosphere though, it is true that this isn't really the place.
Again, I am sorry that you were disappointed with Torremolinos and the hotel. I wish you happy future holidays.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing