We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, would go back tomorrow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel, would go back tomorrow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I spent two weeks at the Don Pablo and loved it. Great location on the promenade. Staff were generally friendly. The rooms are good with a great bathroom. It was spotlessly clean, great view of the pools and sea. The food was great, plenty of choice most days, although the vegetables in the evening were often over cooked. Always a good selction of hot meats to choose from. It would have been nice to have had a greater selection of cold fish on the salad bar. Breakfast was excellent, anything you could possibly want was available. Free WiFi in the bar/reception area was good too. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravellerUK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you WorldTravellerUK99. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    855
    290
    79
    33
See reviews for
650
1,030
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay when looking around the area. Food was good but with salad the same through out the weekt, Rooms good, with air con and very clean, Entertainment excellent and varied also a kids section up to 9.30pm . There is a notice up to prevent sunbed reserving but this is ignored so you may get a sunbed but not an umbrella! Hotel has a dress code ( for dinner) for long trousers for men so if you want to dress for dinner you are going to be disappointed as they don't enforce this either,so you could be sitting next to a family of clampets that have just come from the pool or beach, complete with flip flops and sweaty shirts!!

Room Tip: Rooms too hot at night so air con could be cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Michael505,
Thank you for choosing the Sol Don Pablo. I am so glad that you liked the hotel and enjoyed the area.
Your comments regarding the towels has been noted and we are improving information about this although, as I have mentioned in previous posts, there are 10 different sunbathing areas with many sunbeds so it is really rare that one has trouble finding a bed. I do understand your frustration a possibly seeing a bed reserved with no-one occupying it for a prolonged period of time.
Dress code is always somewhat relaxed in summer. There are many guests, particulary locals, who do not expect to wear long trousers when the temperature goes above 30º. That does not mean that we accept scruffy attire or sports clothes and swimwear at dinner (I'm not sure what a clampet is?).
Thank you for your input. It is really valuable to us. I hope hat we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
methley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel and it was excellent to say the least. The staff were great the food was amazing with a massive choice for breakfast and dinner. Please note that even though there are signs up not to reserve sunbeds they were all resereved quickly as soon as the sun came up, shame they don't enforce this so everyone can sit by the pool and use umbrellas. If the bed hasnt been used for an hour they should remove the towel.

Room Tip: choose one facing away from the pool for afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect, view from room balcony is a dream, 1 excellent girl in reception but the others not good. We got tired of evening food after 5 nights (the same stuff every night) , deserts very poor (not real cream). We will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trebloc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the Don Pablo two years ago and I have to say it was the best holiday I have ever had. This is not just one hotel it is a complex of three hotels and a Spa with the most fantastic ground, pools and places just to sit or lie in the sun. I did not have one complaint about anything which was the reason for our return this year. However we were unable to get into the Don Pablo so we booked the Don Pedro and what a difference. First of all we were put into a room on the ground floor but it was more like a basement. You could not go out on the so called balcony or open your curtains as you were just faced with trees and a concrete wall about six feet high. After complaining we were eventually moved from this room two days later, the room we were given was fantastic, loads of room and a great view as well. We also found a big difference in the food, there was not a lot of choice at night unless you liked fish. The food was cold a lot of the time the soup was like coloured water. The entertainment at night was very good a lot of the time except the main acts were not on long enough. The children's show could be a little earlier and the main show could begin about 9 pm and go on to about 11.30 pm. Also there could be a bit more variety maybe a live band or Karaoke. I know this review may sound harsh and of-putting but this is not what I want to do I just want the Don Pedro to see this review and bring themselves up to the standard of the Don Pablo I would still recommend this complex to friends and family because of the many pools, the day time entertainment, the kids club and the fantastic grounds and sun terraces.

Mr & Mrs Conroy Belfast

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the ground floor of the Don Pedro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear linkel,
It is always good to hear back from regular guests. I appreciate you writing in and, as you know, we always pay attention to all comments, both good and bad. For those uninitiated in the Don Hotels Complex who are reading this, please note that this review is actually of the sister hotel, the Don Pedro; not the Don Pablo.
Firstly, I am sorry about your first room. There are eight rooms in the Don Pedro in this wing which we only occupy when we are completely full. The rooms themselves are every bit as good as all the standard rooms in the hotel but the view is nothing like the beautiful views available in other rooms in the hotel. I am glad that you were relocated and I am sorry that you were so dissappointed.
I would like to make clear that the Don Pedro room rates are quite a lot lower than those of the Don Pablo and as such the Don Pedro is not intended to be of the same standard as the Don Pablo. I do take on board your comments regarding cold food, however, and will act to rectify it. I appreciate you bringing it to our attention.
The entertainment in the Don Hotels is performed jointly with live music for dancing or relaxing in the Don Pedro and the big shows on the Don Pablo terrace (in summer). Unfortunately it is very difficult to time the shows to everyone's liking as we have so many nationalities in the hotels and each has a different timetable. In summer we have a lot of Spanish guests who are only going in to eat at 9 p.m. and do not want to miss the show. Ideally we could go on later but then there are those guests who want quiet later in the evening. The current timing is the best compromise that we have found so far.
Again, thank you for reporting on your stay. Your comments will be used to help us improve. Please come back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Having tried Don Pedro we thought we would try this one for a change.
The only real complaints were the noise from adjoining rooms, The walls must be very thin, we had a familly in the next room and the baby was having trouble sleeping. But it did not bother us too much.
There seemed to be a shortage of towels in this hotel as we were left with only one between two of us and one day the towel that was left had holes in it!
On the plus side the bathroom in this hotel was very nice with a walk in shower and very modern fittings.The hotel staff were very pleasant as usual, especially the pool staff, and the hotel is very very clean.
Overall we had a very nice time here and will be going back

Room Tip: Don't pay for Wi Fi as it is free in the public areas. Best signal is found in the don pedro hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmtthws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

All this hotel needs for me to give it a 5 is a facelift.The location cannot be beat with multiple pools on property and a very short walk to the beach. The beach never got that crowded either, even during high season. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby to keep you entertained as well. It clearly hasn't had an upgrade since its building in 1974, but everything is clean and in working order. The staff is quite unhelpful, but I find that's generally a Spanish rule so this isn't an exception. Caution, if you are looking for authentic Spanish surroundings, you won't find it in this town as most of the visitors are from Northern Europe. This particular hotel area is dominated by UK visitors. If you are traveling with little kids, there is plenty for them to do to keep happy. If you are not, there are plenty of things to keep adults busy too! A bonus 2x1 happy hour isn't such a bad deal either.

Room Tip: Rooms NOT facing the beach/hotel center will be quieter as the hotel schedules loud performances at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runnergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#12 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing