We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and not so good”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for a week in June.

Contacted the manager before hand who was very helpful and arranged flowers for the room and a nice view.

Food is very good quality and plenty of choice.

Found broken glass twice next to the pool - reported it and flagged it with the manager, very apologetic and got a bottle of wine to say sorry.

Pools are very cold and salt water but cleanish.

had to move rooms the other side of the hotel and the entertainment goes on VERY LOUD until 11:30 - far too late and loud. Dont know why it has to be so loud.

Reception werent the friendliest people to be honest.

The rooms are very outdated and could do with double glazing and spruced up.

I would probably return

Room Tip: not facing the pool as very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigmmorq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    875
    297
    81
    37
See reviews for
665
1,046
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel. We normally stay in 4 star accommodation and were very disappointed with this one. The reception staff are efficient and friendly - we made a prior request regarding the type of room, which was courteously and efficiently handled to our satisfaction, even though the hotel was full.

The dining room staff are surly and give the impression that guests are a trouble - in fact, some were downright rude. It appeared that they were very short staffed and run off their feet, thus under pressure, so much so that empty dishes were never cleared from the table in time for guests returning with their next course.

The variety of food was average but the standard of food being served was below average.

The rooms were well cleaned each day but the decor is beginning to appear 'tired' and in need of refurbishiment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35Rimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear 35Rimini,
Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. Your comments are all very useful to us and help guide us in our service. I am sorry that you were not delighted by the hotel. I hope that you enjoyed your holidays despite this.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms being a family of 5. on arrival we were given the choice of adjoining rooms on the 1st floor or Interconnecting rooms on the 9th. Children being twin boys of 5 and daughter 10 we went for the 9th floor option. Rooms cleaned daily and really nice bathrooms. Only gripe there was a total of 4 lifts serving the hotel. At peak times waiting for a lift was a little frustrating. People on lower floors have lost the use of their legs to travel doen 2 flights of stairs without using elevators.
Food was always fresh and plenty of choice and we never had to wait long for a table to be cleared and reset. Bar prices in the hotel for beer were very expensive and be careful ordering a Gin & Tonic. Bombay Sapphire over 9Euro. We bought a bottle at ther supermarket for 15euro. Management should realise clients were not spending at the Bar and buying from local supermarkets.

Pool areas very good although we were frustrated at Don Pablo the amount of reserved sunbeds and the silly behaviour of reserving sun beds before breakfast. Hotels need to get a firm grip on this. We chose to use the Don Pedro pools were we found sunbeds available with little trouble.

For the children the kids club staff were great especially Marco! The evening mini disco was also a great hit.

Evening entertainment most nights was of a very high standard.

I would rate the 3 hotels in this complex 9 out of 10. Thanks for a great holiday

Room Tip: Lower Floors you will not have to rely on the lift system so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Decided to go on holiday at short notice and booked a package holiday with Jet2 Holidays from Blackpool to the Don Pablo Hotel. Stayed at this hotel last year as we had no problems. We were not disappointed with our holiday. The hotel was very clean, the food was plentiful and good, some more imagination with the menu as it got to be a similar choice with the same products. The bedrooms are ok, the wooden patio doors could do with with replacing. Entertainment was good,although it was the same acst and routines we had seen on our last visit.
Builders were improving the hotel entrance during our stay but it did not interfere or make too much noise to notice. Hopefully this is the start of other hotel improvements.
Overall it is a good hotel, in a good location for promenade walking and easy access to the town and shopping area.
Would stay at this hotel again if visiting the area..

Room Tip: A high floor room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len7160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed bed & breakfast in a room on 2nd floor overlooking entertainment area. Room was spotlessly clean with daily maid service. Lovely walk in shower (some rooms have bath) large balcony with table & chairs. Breakfast was good with selection of English bacon, eggs etc. cereals, pastries, cakes, meats & cheeses, pancakes and a selection of bread and rolls. Right on beach near all restaurants and bars. Supermarket is 10 minutes walk cheapest place to go for drinks etc.

Room Tip: floors 2 & 5 have showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily0074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A nice hotel but every thing expensive. Staff lovely nothing any trouble. Could not fault the food and there was always plenty. Hanging wardrobe space very limited. Saw the terrible blue sun beds in the photos which I hate but also photos of sun beds on the beach with a mattress which is why I booked the hotel. This is very misleading because the beach has nothing to do with the hotel and cost us 4.50 euros a day each for a bed and we were there for two weeks. This hotel is part of a three hotel complex and we were told that the rooms in the Don Pedro were much nicer although there balcony is only half the size. The keeping of beds with towels is really something they must sort out as all the good spots are taken at goodness knows what time of the morning. So if you like to lie around the pool be warned. The Hotel Isabel is just along the road and looks lovely also prices for ice cream drinks etc. are cheaper further along. At the beach we ate at the La Paella most days and cannot fault the food again it is not cheap but be warned if ordering the fish to be barbequed they will come with a lovely sea bass complete with head and tail but the price listed is per100grms and it cost us 22.50 euros for one fish. Quite a few people got caught like us. There is an currency exchange at the roundabout which gives the best rate for your money.

Room Tip: 9 floors the higher up the better view. Email hotel and ask for a beach facing room you will get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanorrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for 9 nights and were completely underwhelmed and disappointed with the service and experience we recieved. We arrived early hours of the morning and were rudely greeted by a very grumpy man on reception but we put this down to the time of night and to be honest the hotel Looked very Charming so we let it go and carried on up to our room to which we were even More disappointed as it was very dated and cramped also the air conditioning didnt work and the room was missing the little things that we expected from a 4* hotel
ie no tea making facilities or even some bottled water in the
Mini bar that was completely empty. After our long travel we really could have done with a cold bottle of water.
The next morning we were disappointed as we paid for a sunny side room and we didnt have it so we asked at reception if it was possible to be moved (only as we paid the extra for sunny side) we were told that the sun would be around this side of the building within 1 hour this was at 08:00 am so we waited and waited finally gave up and the sun finally reached our balcony at 6pm when we advised the reception of this they just talked to each other in Spanish and then shrugged and smiled it seemed as though there was no point in complaining further as they seemed to play dumb to our request. Also we did have an engineer come to
fix the air conditioning wich we then Left on for the rest of the day when we went down to the pool to (fingers crossed) get a subbed as everyone puts there towels on then before breakfast It was a little bit crammed so slightly uncomfortable. When we returned the room stank of an electrical burning smell so we informed reception to be told no it is fixed this really frustrated me as me and my husband have been involved in an electrical fire before so we were understandably nervous about this so a man came and looked (literally shine his torch) and told us it was fine therefore we did not use the air conditioning for the rest of our holiday.
The food was average and the dinning room staff were rude and it was near on impossible to get a drink ordered all though it seemed everyone else was getting served. The food was poor standard although a lot of variety nothing seemed to make a whole meal it was all a little mismatch. One evening we alerted the waiter that there as a cockroach running around he saw it run into a cabinet that hold cutlery and napkins and he simply said what do you want me to do its come I from outside I
Mean come on at least try to pretend that you are going to sort the food and hygiene risk.The drinks were ridiculously overpriced we were paying €10 for two drinks when we watched the average evening entertainment. At times I was literally
Gobsmacked at how poor the customer service was and the fact they didnt even seem to care if they were rude. I could go
On and on at other incedents that actually ruined our holiday but I guess you get the idea I always try to be as honest as possible on trip advisor as I think it's a very useful tool when booking somwhere to stay but unfortunately we got It very wrong bookings his hotel. I would definatly not recommend this hotel unless you are over 60. Me and my husband saved for three years for this holiday and we were really really
Looking forward to it as we decided to stay in a 4* hotel I
Honestly wish we had stayed in a 3* as the staff really seemed as thought they had brooms stuck up there bottoms.
I must say the entertainment staff were always really attentive and happy they are 100 % the best thing about the hotel and of course the fact it is so close to the
beach. Please think twice about what you really want form your holiday before booking this average not worthy of 4* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Honestycountsalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Honestycountsal,
I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with the service at the Sol Don Pablo. We work hard to ensure that guests are extremely well looked-after and according to guest feedback we usually succeed but I see that we have not met your expectationsw and I apologise.
I would like to be allowed to clarify one or two points in your review just for the information of anyone who has not visited the hotel before.
All the rooms have a Minibar which is left empty. This is by popular demand as the majority of our guests prefer to purchase drinks off-site and use the fridge to keep them cool. We offer a list of items should guests prefer to order in-house although this service is not available 24 hours a day. In Reception we have water for any guests who request it out of hours.
The hotel is built on a North-West to South-West orientation meaning that half of the rooms have sun first thing in the morning and are in shade from around midday to one o'clock(depending on the time of year). The rooms on the other side recieve sun from midday until sunset and so receive many more hours of sunshine.
We have eight outdoor pools in the complex, all with sunbathing areas, and many sunbeds available for our guests. It is true that there are guests who select particular sunbeds every day. It is not a practice that the hotel condones and indeed it is clearly marked that guests should not do so. However, as there are many beds available we do not take further action.
The air conditioning is central and the only electrical component in the room is the thermostat. It is possible that there had been a fault with this that was repaired. It would not have been a reason to have refrained from using the airconditioning however.
I make these observations only to clarify certain areas. It does not detract from the fact that you were not happy with the service and for this I sincerely apologise.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#13 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing