We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from our anniversary holiday in Costa del sol. We stayed in Don Pablo hotel, and It was fantastic. Can't fault anything. The hotel is definitely 4* based on its standard, room quality and service. The receptionists are friendly and very helpful, especially the lady in the reception is very smiley and helpful. The views from the balcony is awesome. The room we stayed was specious and spotless. I like the decoration although for some it might be a bit traditional. There are many shops and restaurants near by the hotel. A few minutes walk will take you to the Torremolinos centre. Beach is near to the hotel.
Only thing we think would be really essential was free Internet in the room. The free WIFI in the bar was a bit slow but did the job for us. But I would not rate the hotel down for that as other boxes are ticked perfectly. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on 8th or 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shafiqur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Shafikur R,
What great news that we could help you celebrate your anniversary so successfully. Thanks for writing up your review on Trip Advisor and letting people know a little bit about the hotel. Please come back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    927
    315
    84
    40
See reviews for
705
1,106
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Sol Don Pablo is one of the nicest complexes that I have seen on the Costa Del Sol - The grounds are immaculate, the food is lovely, great fresh salads, lovely breakfasts! The rooms are very Spanish in decor, the balcony had a great view of the sea and most importantly they are very clean!
The location is great for exploring or just staying put and relaxing in the hotel grounds! Just a two minute walk to the beach (across the road) and a short walk into the old town of Torremelinos.
The staff are all lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them! Great stay - Thanks to all the team at the Sol Don Pablo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khadija T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Khadija T,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the complex so much and made full use of the facilities. We really hope to see you soon back in Torremolinos.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were there for a week Apr29-May6. (for anyone wondering what to pack it can be quite chilly at nights) Can't think of any negatives other than free wi- fi only available in reception area, not worth paying daily/weekly rate for it for the odd times we needed it but had to keep going up & down to reception from our room on level 6 to keep in touch with our son in the UK. Good sea views from level 6 although we were on the shaded side(as others previously said, sunny rooms overlook the bowling green on the other side but we were out & about a lot so didn't need to sit out on the balcony).We had a shower over the bath but others told us floors 1-5 had a walk-in shower area, good for canyone elderly or infirm. Plenty of quiet seating areas in all 3 hotels( Don Pablo/Pedro/Marco which are interlinked) and sunbeds outside, with a choice of many pools. Worth going into the other two hotels to check out their decor, public areas and entertainment. There was good mix of entertainment from both outside acts and the resident Entertainment Team who worked hard. As we were at the beginning of the season & a bit quieter,the other two hotels didn't open their restaurants & guests came over to the Don Pablo where it was quite busy but meal times were extensive, there's plenty of food choice, even for a fussy vegetarian like me, and the friendly staff are quick to clear tables and refill food counters. We found all staff pleasant & helpful, our room was a good size, comfortable, and was always cleaned out & beds made by the time we came back from breakfast. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for it's comfort,staff, food, atmosphere and location right on the sea front.
Anyone wishing to visit Benalmadena/Marbella/Puerto Banus get the lift up to the town centre and find the bus station, (fare to Marbella € 4.44 takes 1 hour then change buses for Puerto Banus)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seasider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Seasider2010,
Thank you for taking the time to write your extensive and thorough review on TA. I hope it will be useful for readers and help them make their decision. I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel so much. I hope that we see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter in May cant fault anything. would defiantly stay there again. The hotel is spotless, location excellent, food was cooked perfect with plenty of choice, there was entertainment every night, the rooms were cleaned every day with towels changed. .. everyone was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine_c1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioStalenhoef, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear "christine_c1",

First at all thank you so much for your feedback about Sol Don Pablo. We work very hard to keep the hotel as good as you deserve so you can enjoy it as much as possible. We hope to see you back in Sol Don Pablo and we wish you a happy summer.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just returned from the hotel. This will be our third visit here, and we will be returning once again later this year
Yes the hotel is old, but has it has soooo much Spanish charm! large comfy areas for relaxing in, 3 choices for happy hour, and the resturant (very busy but well organised) witha great choice of food, which is very good
Every little area of the hotel is spotless, even the leaves on the plants are polished!
The position of the hotel could not be any better, across from the beach, and a small walk up to the San Miguel to the shopping area
We were om the 8th floor, and the views were fantastic!
A few niggles:
Why is the wi-fi only free in the lounge area, not aroung the pools or even in the rooms? It was last year?
And I don't soppose anything can be done about the thin walls? where you can hear everything-and I mean everything from your neighbours! also very inconsiderate people, clomping about with high heels on and scraping the chairs along the marble floor's!
All in all a great hotel whose staff are a real credit to them
See you in Septembre!

(Go say hello to Derek and Toni in Chappo's bar at the back of the Pedro)

Room Tip: Odd nos are sunny side Even pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review tinkle16. I am so glad that you keep enjoying the DonPablo and the surrounding area. It is a great satisfaction to uis to have so many guests like yourselves who return again and again.
Up until last year we had an internet system installed by our own staff which worked quite well for a few years but with the increased use of the internet with mobile phones and tablets it was not possible to keep giving a stable service. For this reason we have had to outsource the service. I'm sorry about the inconvenience caused. We have insisted on keeping free connections in the bar areas for guests who need to see their e-mails or have a quick look at the news.
Thanks again for your repeated custom. We look forward to welcoming you back in September.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cant really complain too much as this was a last minute decision and this was all that was available. Billed as a 4 star which it is not. 70s decor but rooms are spacious, clean and nice. Staff were very good, always happy to help you. I viewed 3 different rooms upon arrival to see which one I like best, they had no problem with that. For a view get a room on the 8th or 9th floor. Clientele a bit mixed, as it was May and still not too hot there were plenty of elderlies about. Not bad in general but if I had more choice in the future Id probably opt for something that is actually 4 star!

Room Tip: 8th or 9th floor for Best views. 902 - 916 I think offer the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_2meWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mark_2meWarsaw,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Sol Don Pablo. I am glad to see that there was nothing to fault with the hotel and that you appreciated the front desk staff's service.
I know that there is no decorative style to please everyone. I'm sorry that you weren't particularly taken with the Don Pablo's style which is, I would suggest, not so much 1970s as traditional - with exposed brick and old-fashioned painted Sevilla tiles in the reception and wood panelled bar and common areas. Both the Don Padro and Don Pablo incorporate a lot of traditional Andalusian elements in their decoration which means that they are certainly not minimalist! The Sol Don Marco, which is the other hotel in the complex, has a much more zen feel to it with elements of far-eastern design.
Thanks again for the review.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was wonderful !
I could not fault anything. It was spotlessly clean.
Staff were helpful and very friendly.
The location was perfect , just a walk through the front gates to the beach,
Or you can relax by one of the many swimming pools !
The town within easy access.
There is an elevator up to the town , it's not well sign posted so be sure to ask !
Or you can walk up via the shops and little bars along the old pathway, it's lovely !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroldove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you Caroldove for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the location so much. Let's hope that we see you again for another happy holiday.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing