We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter in May cant fault anything. would defiantly stay there again. The hotel is spotless, location excellent, food was cooked perfect with plenty of choice, there was entertainment every night, the rooms were cleaned every day with towels changed. .. everyone was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine_c1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioStalenhoef, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear "christine_c1",

First at all thank you so much for your feedback about Sol Don Pablo. We work very hard to keep the hotel as good as you deserve so you can enjoy it as much as possible. We hope to see you back in Sol Don Pablo and we wish you a happy summer.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    944
    320
    84
    42
See reviews for
733
1,117
50
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just returned from the hotel. This will be our third visit here, and we will be returning once again later this year
Yes the hotel is old, but has it has soooo much Spanish charm! large comfy areas for relaxing in, 3 choices for happy hour, and the resturant (very busy but well organised) witha great choice of food, which is very good
Every little area of the hotel is spotless, even the leaves on the plants are polished!
The position of the hotel could not be any better, across from the beach, and a small walk up to the San Miguel to the shopping area
We were om the 8th floor, and the views were fantastic!
A few niggles:
Why is the wi-fi only free in the lounge area, not aroung the pools or even in the rooms? It was last year?
And I don't soppose anything can be done about the thin walls? where you can hear everything-and I mean everything from your neighbours! also very inconsiderate people, clomping about with high heels on and scraping the chairs along the marble floor's!
All in all a great hotel whose staff are a real credit to them
See you in Septembre!

(Go say hello to Derek and Toni in Chappo's bar at the back of the Pedro)

Room Tip: Odd nos are sunny side Even pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review tinkle16. I am so glad that you keep enjoying the DonPablo and the surrounding area. It is a great satisfaction to uis to have so many guests like yourselves who return again and again.
Up until last year we had an internet system installed by our own staff which worked quite well for a few years but with the increased use of the internet with mobile phones and tablets it was not possible to keep giving a stable service. For this reason we have had to outsource the service. I'm sorry about the inconvenience caused. We have insisted on keeping free connections in the bar areas for guests who need to see their e-mails or have a quick look at the news.
Thanks again for your repeated custom. We look forward to welcoming you back in September.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cant really complain too much as this was a last minute decision and this was all that was available. Billed as a 4 star which it is not. 70s decor but rooms are spacious, clean and nice. Staff were very good, always happy to help you. I viewed 3 different rooms upon arrival to see which one I like best, they had no problem with that. For a view get a room on the 8th or 9th floor. Clientele a bit mixed, as it was May and still not too hot there were plenty of elderlies about. Not bad in general but if I had more choice in the future Id probably opt for something that is actually 4 star!

Room Tip: 8th or 9th floor for Best views. 902 - 916 I think offer the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_2meWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mark_2meWarsaw,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Sol Don Pablo. I am glad to see that there was nothing to fault with the hotel and that you appreciated the front desk staff's service.
I know that there is no decorative style to please everyone. I'm sorry that you weren't particularly taken with the Don Pablo's style which is, I would suggest, not so much 1970s as traditional - with exposed brick and old-fashioned painted Sevilla tiles in the reception and wood panelled bar and common areas. Both the Don Padro and Don Pablo incorporate a lot of traditional Andalusian elements in their decoration which means that they are certainly not minimalist! The Sol Don Marco, which is the other hotel in the complex, has a much more zen feel to it with elements of far-eastern design.
Thanks again for the review.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was wonderful !
I could not fault anything. It was spotlessly clean.
Staff were helpful and very friendly.
The location was perfect , just a walk through the front gates to the beach,
Or you can relax by one of the many swimming pools !
The town within easy access.
There is an elevator up to the town , it's not well sign posted so be sure to ask !
Or you can walk up via the shops and little bars along the old pathway, it's lovely !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroldove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you Caroldove for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the location so much. Let's hope that we see you again for another happy holiday.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dors
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just stayed for a week here. Whilst the room was quite comfortable (bed quite hard), they need to install double glazed patio doors to the rooms, at the moment very old doors which you can see daylight through, which also promotes the problem of noise (if its open,any wind and it will slam shut) and you can very clearly hear your neighbours as if they were in your room!! We had a large group of boys, who had parties and slammed doors at 1am, and despite complaining (in fairness the security guy did have a word) they still would slam the doors at every opportunity.
The restaurant is used by THREE hotels, no way does it feel like a four star restaurant, you have to hunt for a table and guard it in case somebody else took it (which frequently happened) heaving with people, despite having a second restaurant laying dormant, the management seem quite happy for you to have a rather unpleasant meal. (Yes i did speak to the management!)
The food and staff in the restaurant however, the staff are working flat out, which means they have no time for pleasantries with their guests, which is a shame. The food is quite broad, salad bar, large range of pastries in the mornings, pasta bar in the evenings. On the whole quite good, and would recommend.
I would also commend the stamina of the staff in the restaurant, who have to work at an ridiculous pace to keep up with the huge quantity of people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wafarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear SandraWorthing,
Thank you for taking the time to let people know about your visit to the Sol Don Pablo. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the restaurant and entertainment and that you will consider returning. There are definitely more children in the summer months and the Mini Club is even more fun. Once a week the kids put on their own show in the evening as well as the Mini Disco.
I'm sorry that you were disappointed by the lack of bath. We have 5 floors in which we have renovated the bathrooms and replaced the tub with a large rainshower. It has given a lot more space to the bathroom and most guests are delighted by it. We have, however, maintained bath tubs in the other 4 (highest) floors for those who like a bath or want to bathe children. I understand that you had already unpacked when you noticed but be sure to specify a higher for your next visit.
Thank you again and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel has a spanish feel inside with bricked walls and old ornaments. Travelled with my husband and 8 year old son. Allocated room on 2nd floor with apartments opposite as the view - if you lean over balcony you can part see the sea!. I think a top floor is better as this would then overlook the apartments. Disappointed no bath, after sunbathing I enjoy a bath and its easy to get my son into a bath than a shower. Havent been to a 4 star hotel that didnt have a bath before? We had already started unpacking before I noticed it and we were only there 3 days so I didnt want to spend any time moving around the hotel... Hair dryer in bathroom, also cream / shower cap and comb, shampoo/soap in a dispencer by shower. No kettle so take you own if you need a brew. Large hotel but evening meal was well organised and you were quickly shown to your table - to then help yourself. Swimming pools looked inviting but were freezing cold and not heated - there is an indoor pool if you need a swim which my son used quite a lot - and its by the main swimming pool and not inside the hotel.
Evening entertainment was good, also childrens early 'singing' entertainment - there was only a handfull so maybe this gets better during the summer holidays. We would return to this hotel but I would ask for a bath and higher floor next time. (then I would give this a 5 - excellent)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear SandraWorthing,
Thank you for taking the time to let people know about your visit to the Sol Don Pablo. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the restaurant and entertainment and that you will consider returning. There are definitely more children in the summer months and the Mini Club is even more fun. Once a week the kids put on their own show in the evening as well as the Mini Disco.
I'm sorry that you were disappointed by the lack of bath. We have 5 floors in which we have renovated the bathrooms and replaced the tub with a large rainshower. It has given a lot more space to the bathroom and most guests are delighted by it. We have, however, maintained bath tubs in the other 4 (highest) floors for those who like a bath or want to bathe children. I understand that you had already unpacked when you noticed but be sure to specify a higher for your next visit.
Thank you again and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from holiday with my husband daughter and grandaughter- been to this group of hotels many times and am never disappointed. Reception staff friendly on arrival, rooms were available when we got there well before lunchtime. This is great hotel along with sister hotels' Don Marco and Don't Pedro. They have 5 pools (one indoor and heated) plus 2 Jacuzzi's and residents can use all of them. The beach is directly across the road. Location perfect with beach, bars, restaurants and shops right outside the hotel. Only a short walk away is Torremolinos town center, this walk is up some gentle steps which have shops etc all the way to the top but for those unable to walk there is a lift taking you up the hill for 50 cents. The train station for trains to Fuengirola or Malaga is in center of the town and you can also get buses here to visit other areas. Great location for families, couples and young ones wanting a more relaxed holiday as there is plenty to do in area but none of the big noisy crowds

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn-e-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Lynn-e-2011,
Thank you so much for your report. I am really glad that you continue to enjoy the Sol Don Hotels and their wonderful location. Although the complex has a lot to offer (9 pools!) for people who don't feel like being very active, it is the location on the beach-front with all the advantages that you mention that I feel make for such a great holiday experience.
It is always really nice to hear from loyal customers (I see that your profile pic is taken in the Don Pablo) and it is very gratifying that we keep hitting the mark for you.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
930 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing