We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end away”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“week end away”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

to be honest i did not stay long enough to give a full review, but from the moment i got to the hotel to check in ive never met such a bunch of miserable and sometimes bad mannered men. right from check in to the restaurant .it was really bad that three grown men just stood and watched as an elderly woman pushing anouther woman in a wheel chair struggle to open a door to get out of the restaurant.the food was good and our room was cleaned to a good standard . the drinks are very dear and the entertainment let a lot to be said, sorry im not ready for the cha cha and a tango yet

Room Tip: high floor sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bert1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verocalidad, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear "bert1961":

First at all, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Sorry about the fact that you saw such a bad behavior from those 3 men. As we work hard to offer you the best quality in service we also care about the treatment given to the customer. We hope those three men were not part of our restaurant staff, in the event that it were, please let any of the head waiter know that this is happening. Looking forward to see you back .

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    928
    315
    84
    40
See reviews for
706
1,107
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the Don pablo for 4nights in febuary 2013. £410 all in including flights and hotel with half board from www.onthebeach.co.uk We have stayed in this group of hotels don marco/don pablo/don pedro a few times and have always been very happy with our stay in all of them wih the facilities of all three hotels are available to all residents so I guess it does not really matter in which one you have your room.
We always stay on a half-board basis and particullary enjoy the delicious breakfasts the choice is fantastic, There is a great variety of food available to suit all tastes though we do miss the lovely coffee that used to be served (coffee machines have now took over from the waiter service).The evening entertainment was also of a high quality and the bar staff particularly friendly. I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel complex to my friends.
The 3 hotels have many pools to suit all ages, there are also tennis courts and bowling greens.
The hotel rooms, lounges and beautiful gardens are very well kept by a hard working staff.
The location of these hotels is perfect with the beach just across the road and a long promenade where you can walk as far as you feel able, there is also shops in the main town which is walking distance but up hill, If your looking for a spotless clean hotel look no further, Already looking to book again soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoughboroughAerials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verocalidad, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear "LoughboroughAerial":

Thank you very much for your nice words. We are happy you enjoed your last stay with us and the fact that you recommend it to everyone. We work very hard to offer you the best service and facilities as possible to make you feel like home. Hope to see you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately the hotel was undergoing renovations, which meant eating in the adjoining hotel, but that was resolved on our last day. Pleasant rooms, but the food wasn't special, seeming to cater to the lowest common denominator instead of trying to produce a few special dishes. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good value, although I feel use of the room safe should be free. I don't know how common tea making facilities are in Spanish hotels, but I wished had brought a small kettle. Free WIFI is only available in the bar area.

Room Tip: If you want a warm room in winter or a sunny balcony, make sure you overlook the bowls green. Likewi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TelonExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verocalidad, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear "TelonExpert", thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry that you didnt enjoy the food at all. As you could see in the hotel, we are lucky to cater people from all over the world and that´s why every week we offer our guest a variety of dishes which trying to suit their tastes. we will take all your comments very seriously in order to keep improving every day; please do not hesitate to contact our quality manager the next time you could see a lack of food. Hope to see you back here as soon as possible. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sol Don Pablo is basically a nice hotel. The reception is helpfull and helps you organize tours to ex Africa, Cordoba or Alhambra. Breakfastbuffet is huge since the breakfast restaurant is common with other Sol Don hotels nearby. Even though our visit was off-season it was crowded! Get a room with direct view to the sea - it's truly amazing with an extremely nice (and big) balcony. The room itself is nothing special but we had a good nights sleep so it's OK. The toilet seat was loose and used glasses weren't changed every day during cleaning of the room.

Conclusion: A nice hotel but nothing special but I can't compare it to other hotels in the region. A plus is the heated indoor pool and outside jacuzzi during winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hoff-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Hoff-dk,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the sea view room and the spectacular views. I am sorry to hear about the toilet seat. I will ensure that they are all checked. Thank you for letting us know.
I hope that you enjoyed your excurasions. I can see from your profile that you are a keen traveller. From torremolinos it is really convenient to discover the wonders of Andalucía. Granada, Sevilla and Cordoba are all within 2 hours' drive and Málaga is only 25 minutes on the suburban train.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Myself, husband and 18 month old son had a lovely time at this hotel this week. We paid extra for the sea view room and were very glad we did as having a toddler to keep an eye on meant we could sun bathe on the balcony for a little bit in the morning while he was occupied with his toys. Otherwise we were running around after the little one on the hotel grounds. He enjoyed chasing the local cats and oohing at the birds. Activity wise, it was too cold to use the outdoor pools but there was an indoor one. The off season meant that the beach was relatively empty also. Evening entertainment we didnt really stick around for as we had to put the toddler to bed.

Food, we had to go across to the other hotel but this was a short trip and was quite nice to get out for a walk. The offer and choice was good at all times (we went full board) but a little salty/garlicky for my taste however my hubby didnt think so. We had to pay for drinks and were reasonably priced apart from the juices which was more than water or wine.

The staff were nice, if you made the effort to speak to them in Spanish then they made an effort with you, and they loved my son so that always helped.

The hotel were full of oldies but it added to the calm of the hotel. I liked it a lot and will probably go back again but not during high summer as it would be too busy for me! Also, was only 10 mins away from airport so perfect distance for travelling with a kid.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear jvoc,
I am glad that you had a relaxing time with your family. I am assuming that your stay was in the early part of February as we were finishing the renovation of the kitchens and there offered all the meals in the other dining room on the complex. In the normal way of things the restaurant on the garden floor of the Don Pablo is always open.
Winter guests tend to be an older crowd, so the pace in pretty slow. Once we get in to April and May the hotels get a bit busier but, having nine pools and a choice of terraces and bars, it doesn't tend to get overwhelming.
Come back in spring or autumn!
Thanks for writing in.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed again at this hotel, 4th time. Rooms very clean, but bed spead, linen looking tired.
We had to have the food in the Pedro/Marco dining room, and I do not know if it inferior place to dine in, but the food was not as good as previous times, no ice cream one night and the sorbet looked in edible. The meats were not as nice and bacon very fatty and undercooked.
But it has a lovely sitting out area, best there is and you can sunbath out of the wind even in January.
Nice Irish bar just a few doors away that was lively.

Room Tip: Choose a sunny side, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear jcbyork,
Thak you for taking time to write up your report of Trip Advisor. As I am sure you are aware we value all guest suggestions and appreciate the comments made about the restaurant. We will endeavour to ensure that all areas mentioned are improved.
I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future. Winter dining will be in the Cordoba restaurant again now that the kitchen renovation has been completed.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulster
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sorry to say this brute of a hotel was rather disappointing- food reasonable however directed to a sister hotel for meals which I consider unacceptable.When I booked this hotel months ago it included free wifi! On arrival and every other day I had to visit reception for ages to arrange connection.
Sorry Sol Don Pedro - on this occasion you have failed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulsterDistillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear ulsterDistillery,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am sorry that the Sol Don Hotels complex is not for you and that you did not like eating in the Casares dining room.
For information of other travellers; the WiFi is free in the bars of the 3 hotels in the complex. A high-speed connection can be purchased at a reasonable cost which allows navigation in all areas of the hotel.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing