We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel let down by poor staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good hotel let down by poor staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

On arrival at the hotel I was very disappointed, the check in was the rudest I have ever had. The reception staff didn’t even look up or acknowledge me in any way. Slow unhelpful and a key thrown at me, not a good start,
The hotel is dated beyond belief in public areas but the hotel is spotless in every area, the old dated decor is cleaned every day and I could not fault its cleanliness.
The rooms are dated but again spotlessly clean the bathrooms are out of this world and you can tell the hotel has spent money there, Best shower of any hotel and always hot water despite the hotel being full. The maid service again excellent,
Dining experience and what an experience, My credit to the waiting staff they work there socks off as duty managers wander the room ignoring the plates piling on tables or non-repeat guests and point out imperfections to the staff whilst chatting to repeat guests. One night I complained that a waiter was struggling and suddenly the manager pretended not to speak English well I speak Spanish and so told him his response we are all busy. NOT ACCEPTABLE SOL MANAGEMENT, MANAGE BY DOING WHAT YOUR STAFF DO PICK UP A PLATE.
The food is first class with an extensive choice every night including a full salad bar 4 meat dishes 2 fish and pasta corner, If you are vegetarian you may struggle to eat here if im honest. Puddings very good but chocolate ice cream disappeared after 2 days and a choice of only strawberry available,
We were locked out of our room on the seventh day and so approached reception no apology just room number lots of buttons and key cards thrown at me again. Please hotel get your act together courtesy costs nothing. Or restaff your reception with pleasant staff.
Overall for the price I payed fantastic value clean good rooms but very very poor service from reception and management. The rest of the staff raises the trip advisor rating just.

Room Tip: Srandard rooms have great sea views from 4th floor and above but no sun at all. Sun rooms are more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cdave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    764
    258
    73
    25
See reviews for
566
926
37
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Over the past few years we have stayed at the Don Pablo and have always been made most welcome, many of the staff come up and give us a welcome hand shake or hug, we even got welcome home when we checked in last time at reception.
The hotel is very clean with very good food and lots to do for all ages, there is a full entertainments program daily and good entertainment every night.
With 2 bowling greens which have just been recovered, indoor and outdoor pools, keep kit room, spa and other facilities you want for nothing.

Room Tip: Rooms on some of lower floors have been refurbished with walk in shower facilities Odd number rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

just returned from another enjoyable week at Don Pablo, second this year, can,t understand the moaners they must have 5* lifestyles at home.The dining room was very busy because they close the other two, but we never had a problem getting seated.The food,s good,entertainment OK. Staff helpful & friendly as are most of the guests and thats why we keep returning.Having travelled widely in the Far East and Cruised this is still a favourite holiday destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtshawkhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice rooms, good location, very friendly staff makes this a good hotel. I arrived without a boooking and breezed through the process with zero hassle. The rooms are large shower facilities are good though the TV could be larger and reception better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarBarYPartRIdGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

There must be some fussy people out there-I've stopped in 3-5 star accommodation and this is most certainly 4 star. Spotlessly clean,friendly staff,good facilities and judging by what was around us probably one of the best in resort.Entertainment every night- Comments about 'dated' rooms and 'buffet was all fish' hard to understand-room was spotless,decoration in good order,in lovely Andalucian style. The buffet-yes there was fish some nights along with chicken,pork,beef,pasta's,salads etc I'd hardly call fresh king prawns,mussels,dogfish,paella etc a bad thing either. Hotel was great. The area was as expected of typical Spanish resort with brit influence-i did think La Carihuela which is a short walk around promenade headland was that bit better though.
If you book through Melia or Travel Republic websites you'll find great prices for this

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveLePinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the 3rd time we've stayed at the Sol Don Pablo and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very welcoming. We asked for room on a high floor overlooking the pool are by email and were granted this no problem.

The hotel has a fabulous location, literally yards from the beachfront. There were always plenty of sunbeds during the day and as usual we enjoyed great weather.

The hotel is a great base if you wish to see more of the area as we did with trips to Mijas and then Malaga using the excellent public transport services.

The food in the hotel was good, even the most fussy eater would find something off the menu each evening.

We would definitely return, once again, to the Sol Don Pablo, it's pretty hard to fault overall.

Room Tip: We chose a high floor with a poolside view as this is nicer. A high floor may not suit more elderly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gafferov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed in October 2012. Our 2nd visit to the Sol Don Pablo. Excellent seafront location with direct access to the beach and promenade that runs from Los Alamos to the port in Benalmadena. The hotel is high rise, typical of the style of hotels built for the Costas holiday boom. However, once inside you find superb public rooms in traditional spanish style, with lots of space to relax in comfortable settees and chairs.

Bedrooms are quite small but adequate and spotlessly clean, as are the public areas and lovely hotel grounds. The Don Pablo shares facilities with the Don Pedro and Don Marco, though the Don Pablo is the best of the three.

A large dining area with attentive and professional staff. Food was varied, good quality and provided for the tastes of the various nationalities that use the hotel. Gentleman are required to wear long trousers for the evening meal.

The pool areas are spacious with plenty of sunbeds and shade for those who require it.

We think this is the best hotel of its type along this stretch of the coast and would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a full sea view room for only 8 Euros a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Don Pablo is one of three hotels in the Sol Don Hoteles Complex. The complex is on the sea front of the Bajondillo beach in Torremolinos and boasts 50,000m2 of facilities and gardens. Guests are free to use all the facilities of the complex including (depending on the season) 9 pools, 6 bars, 2 jacuzzis, entertainment every day and evening and the Delfinus Spa. The hotel is 800m from the town centre with beautiful walks along the promenade towards the port in Benalmadena. The airport is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing