We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach, reasonably quiet for families, in the centre of the resort- Nice”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Shinfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beach, reasonably quiet for families, in the centre of the resort- Nice”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

It is a nice place in a centre of the resort ! Great location 20m from the beach and I could watch my family on the beach from my balcony while rocking the baby for a nap! Lovely maintained garden. Because of the beach so close no problem with crowded swimming pools. Just outside several shops, chemist and cash point. Room- air con acceptable, room a bit tired but overall ok (fridge). Ok hotel built in the 80's so expect that. Excellent food though. Only couple of negative comments: I would really expect a laguna swimming pool considering the size of the garden and amount of families there but there wasn't any interesting paddling pool I am afraid. The staff is working very very hard there but I am afraid that we did not get a very welcoming reception and information about our stay during the check-in. Despite asking for a quiet room we were located in the most noisy part of the hotel (I could understand if they apologised that there isn't anything else but they didn't). Overall much more positives and I hope that the hotel upgrades a bit mainly the pools and gets the 5th star! Clarifications: lifts are slow, it isn't true that there is a busy road in front of it- it is a holiday resort road with cruising cars and not noisy. It is a standard 4* stripped off the business perks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edyta35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    904
    308
    83
    39
See reviews for
683
1,082
47
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just came back from a week with family and friends and had a great time.

Good points
Great location and within walking distance to beach and lots of places to shop/explore. Stayed half board and food choices at breakfast and dinner were good but did get a bit boring by the end of the week. Hotel in general is clean and tidy. Stayed in family room on 9th floor which overlooked entertainment area. Could be noisy in the nights was kids sometimes in bed before entertainment finished. Choice of 9 pools was great and kids used different one each day. Lots of places to eat and drink nearby and drinks much cheaper than hotel.

Not so good
Room on 9th floor not received update as friends who were staying on 5th floor. Also no balcony to dry towels etc. The staff in hotel were generally unfriendly and we were usually greeted with a grunt. Chef at breakfast called 'Carlos' was particularly funny as he took his contempt out on the eggs he was serving each morning!!

Room Tip: As we were holidaying with friends we emailed and asked for adjoining room and our request was ignor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
I have never actually heard form someone who has swum in all 9 pools here on one holiday. Perhaps we should organise a circuit! Seriously though, I am glad that you took the time to explore. It is not only the pools themselves but the different atmosphere in each of the pool areas.
The family rooms on the 9th floor are larger that the standard rooms but at the cost of losing the balcony. It is however safer for parents with very young children.
I am sorry that the adjoining rooms were not given. I would be interested to know to whom you emailed and whether you got a response as we have a member of staff dedicated to ensuring that requests are fulfilled.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I will be very honest we only stayed one night due to our plane being cancelled and 1 night was more than enough!
The food was bad the rooms smell as does the hotel. had to move rooms because there was a smell of gas in first room.
I defo wont be booking this hotel next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeRT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is NOT a 4 star hotel but something between 2 and 3 stars – the building is dated and in need of modernisation – the hotel is located across the busy road from the beach - very old and slow lifts - difficulty communicating with the hotel’s staff as very few spoke (little) English – internet access is €4 per hour, when the 3 PCs (located in the hotel’s lounge) are NOT out of order! (about two days a week) - rooms have side views of the sea from the balcony only – no bidet within the shower-rooms – the charges for room’s safe box is €2 per day - smoking is allowed EVERYWHERE, hence NOT suitable for non smokers – poor management and poor hygiene and cleaning, especially in the bedrooms – will not go back to this rundown hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
I am sorry that you have come away with such a poor impression of the hotel. I understand that we did not meet your expectations but feel that the review is perhaps a little unfair and exaggerated.
The Don Pablo was built in 1973 but all the rooms have been renovated over the last six years. The bathroom was renovated last winter and, although we have removed to bidet to make the room more spacious, we have had little but praise for the redesign. We do have rooms with bidets for those that ask for them but obviously unless we are made aware during the stay we cannot offer the room change.
The majority of the rooms have lateral sea view. There are rooms with frontal sea view which we offer to guests for a supplement.
Smoking is allowed only in the 2nd floor bedrooms of the hotel. No smoking is allowed in any interior public areas. I can honestly say that since the ban on smoking in public areas was introduced five years ago I have only once detected cigarette smoke in any of the public areas of the three hotels.
It is true that the internet corner costs 1€ per 15 minutes. We have 7 PCs available in the complex. We also offer free WiFi connection in all the common areas and the guest bedrooms. It is possible that 3 internet stations in the Pablo building were not always functioning, for which I apologise.
I feel that the allegations of poor hygiene and cleanliness are perhaps exaggerated and certainly misleading. The housekeeping department of the Don Pablo is very highly rated in comparisons with other hotels not only of the Melia chain but also competitors in the area. We also subscribe to the HACCP certification for food hygiene and have official approval. There may have been a lapse in the room cleaning at some point but I suspect that it might not warrant this description.
The road between the beach and the hotel is a cul de sac which serves three apartment blocks and one hotel 500 metres further down at the end of the road. It has a 30km/h speed limit and pedestrian crossing every 150 metres. There are small restaurants on the beach-side every 200 metres and the road is mostly used for parking to go to the beach. In summer there are many people going to the beach and walking along the promenade so in a sense it can be busy, but I want to avoid the impression that one might get from reading this review that it is a motorway, or that there is an excess of traffic noise.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a very nice stay at this hotel and we would go back if we ever went again.
Good points
The hotel was really nice and clean the floors were cleaned everyday and the rooms were spotless.
Our room view was ok we were on the 5th floor and could see the beach and some of the pools. The room was a good size the bathroom looked brand new and was always cleaned well.
We paid for B&B the food was amazing they had so much to chose from e.g fry up bread doughnuts cheese ice cream cakes fruit cereal and more.
The 5 pools were nice you could choose any one of them as all the hotels are joined together . They are heated except for the indoor pool which was freezing cold.
They had entertainment in the evenings there was discos for the kids and shows such as grease peter pan and some Spanish dance shows. the only bad thing was that in grease they mimed to all the songs and just danced.

Bad points
The lifts were quite small and at breakfast time you had to wait a long time until you got in one.
The maids start cleaning early and you can hear them banging around in the corridors. On the morning we had to checked out we were disturbed at 8.00 by a maid knocking on the door trying to clean our room even though checkout was 12.00.
Dont go to the shop next door to the hotel as they rip you off their prices are very expensive. If you want to get food or something walk further down as the shops will be allot cheaper and you will save more money.
Another bad thing is that there is a street which is covered in dog poo near the front of the hotel don't go down there only if you have to.
overall we had a nice time in this hotel and we would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for your in-depth review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. You mention that the indoor pool was freezing - we only heat it in winter as we have EIGHT outdoor pools to choose from. I hope that it wasn't really an inconvenience.
There must have been a mix up on the morning of your departure because the maid should not have come to your room so early. Actually the maids are all cleaning the common areas until 8.30 when they come up to the floors, but I don't contest that she might have come earlier than you would have liked.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

we stayed for two nights and was so excited due to the excellent reviews. firstly we waited approx an hour to check in, accepted that but then was dissapointed when entered room to find we were over looking flat roof which was littered with vaious bits of rubbish such as old buckets and balls. balcony door also smeared with old handprints. food was good and my daughter enjoyed grease show, but found female bar waiting staff just didnt want to serve us, was it because we hadnt tipped enought night before. wish i could be more positive but sadly wont be returning

Room Tip: avoid rooms overlooking flat roof of entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank col k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you should have. I appreciate your mention of the flat roof - which has been seen to immediately - and your dissatisfaction with the cleanliness. In general we have the very highest scores for our housekeeping department but we must not let our eye off the ball.
I accept your comment regarding the bar staff however I do not know which member of staff specifically was referred to. We have made a general announcement to the staff. Certainly it would not have been a lack of tip - we have all nationalities here and many do not tip at all (the locals included). I apologise that you felt mistreated.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walton on thames
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

this hotel was brilliant, the buffet breakfast was enough to fill you up, so no lunch needed just a dinner in the evening. The location was brilliant right on the beach, they had some lovely swimming pools and you could always get a sunbed. Went to aqualand one day and that was good, although expensive if there is a lot of you, take your own pack lunch, 5 euros for a red bull, bit steep. 8 euros in a taxi from hotel to Aqualand. Benalmadena Marina is a good trip to, we went one evening for dinner and stayed in a bar till 3am, was a nice night out, 15 euros though each way in a cab. Hotel was not far from airport so do not need to hire car, 18 euros in a taxi to the hotel. Big thumbs up and will definitely be going back here again. Only one critique and I am sure you get this whereever you go but was noisy at times, this was people slamming doors and coming back from nights out and also first thing in the morning going to breakfast, people certainly was not quiet in the corridors. This included the maids !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovethesun073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
898 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.2 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing