We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is my second visit to this hotel we visited 1st march 2014 hotel very clean staff are five star,food cold and poor choice. The bar was not always staffed they had to work in dinning room at the same time I felt a pest ordering drinks. Think the hotel was under staffed.
We had a room on the street side it was very noisey, bin men and bottle collection every night at 1.30 am we did request a pool room (these are quiet ) but they only had a double and we were two ladies so not suitable.
As for the resort it was very quiet at this time of year and lots of bars still closed or closed up at betweeen 6pm and 8pm we are not party animals age s 53 and 67 year olds but did feel like we were in an old fokes home at times other guest stoping for 3 to 4 weeks (hard core).
The hotel is so diffrent in the summer the pool is beautifull and its a good base to get around the resort.

Room Tip: Pool room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying at hotel Don Paquito and for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay.

I am sorry to hear that you seemed to be a bit disappointed by some aspects of your stay. I can assure you that we take all reviews very seriously and your negative comments are all noted.

We say goodbye to you, reiterating our commitment to continue improving to provide a better service and we hope you back to visit us again someday.

Kind Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 847 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just got back from another 5 day break at the Don Paquito. We keep returning year on year for a short duration holiday at this Hotel because the quality of the half board fare and, the happy positive attitude of each and every staff member leaves us feeling special, and with a desire to come back again.

The food (as usual) was excellent. The two young ladies who ran the restaurant and bar could not do enough for you, Patricia on Reception was her usual happy helpful self, and was a Joy to see again.

Thank you also to the room service cleaner ladies, always happy to help. We both would have loved to stay longer this year, and it was with some reluctance, that we left for the airport this morning. Just a few more days would have been perfect, but alas, time presses onward, and work beckons.

We flew with Easy Jet for the first time ever - this was because we could book allocated seats, and without this facility, would not have used them. Really OK actually, no problems experienced except for a bit more standing in line waiting to get on board. Would use them again. Taxi to and from the airport was very easy, and cost E17 each way for the ten minute drive. Well worth it for the ease of transfer.

Walked a few Km to Benalmadena Marina and back, doing the full tummy shuffle - which was a good job too, since the food at the Paquito is so good and plentiful, it is hard to move after an evening an meal.

Chirungitos on the front remain quite pricey for lunch, so choose wisely would be my advice. Quality chairs and a tidy well kept premise do indicate quality of effort made in respect of quality of food served.

I am told that new owners are now in place at the Don Paquito. From our experience, nothing has changed, and if you want really nice food, really nice staff, spotless cleanliness and an easy experience, you should take a few days here.

5 star service, 5 star food, 3 star Hotel...... punches well above its weight.

Room Tip: Pool view every time gets the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you very much for posting your opinión on tripadvisor about your holidays in our hotel.

We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our facilities, restaurant and services. Also, we want to thank you for your comments about our staff.
Everyone of us work hard to bring you the best vacation.

We appreciate your loyalty and hope you back again every year.

Kind Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Been to this hotel about four times. Always Spotlessly clean rooms, staff are fantastic, warm friendly and so helpful. The only thing that let's this great small hotel down is the food, firstly nothing is labeled so not quite sure what the dishes were, sorry to say the food was only just warm, by the time you sat down to eat it had already gone cold. I feel the food is the only thing that let's this otherwise fantastic hotel down, my advice is go bed and breakfast

Stayed: March 2014
Thank RosieBee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

I want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience with us.

We are always looking for ways to improve our product and our services, open and honest reviews from our guests is our best way to address areas wich need improvement.

We always try to cover the needs, requirements and suggestions of our customers.

Thank you so much for your loyalty and i hope to see you again when you back to Torremolinos.

Kind Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Now because I've visited this hotel on my own for many years, every time I arrive Patricia who runs the Reception comes round and gives me a big hug. Its like visiting relatives who want to give you a good time and make you feel comfortable while your there.

The Hotel has changed owners since I was there last October so I was interested to see what changes might have happened. There has been a very small increase in their prices and one or two staff changes but nothing to give cause for concern. I like the rooms, especially the ones overlooking the pool. the sun comes around in the afternoon onto you balcony, lovely. The food as always was excellent.

I did notice that close to the hotel a shop hiring scooters ,motorbikes and mobility scooters had opened up, very handy. They were very helpful to me when I rented a Motability scooter for two days. There is a lovely Pug dog there called Gizmo.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graceandsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

First of all, i appreciate you taking time to write in about your holidays.

I am glad to hear you did find your stay enjoyable and that the hotel did meet your expectations like the other times you visited us.

We work hard like always to satisfy the customers with our best services and efficiency.

We appreciate your loyalty and hope see you very soon again.

Kind Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to this lovely hotel and being under new owners we were a little worried about our return trip,But need not have worried it was same staff and I must say everyone of them are excellent and a special mention for Patricia who has all the answers at the desk,The dining room was busy the first 2 nights due to a Foreign coach party but was all back to the ambiance of a quiet dinning room the rest of the holiday and this is why we like the Paquito to the larger hotels in the area.And hope to return soon.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jackaroo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you very much for posting your opinión on Trypadvisor about your holidays in our hotel.

It is gratifying to know that you find the same services and quality than the last time you visited us. Our guests are the most important to us, we work hard to bring you memorable experiences and the best vacation.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a third visit,

Yours sincerely.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

just returned for our second visit to this great hotel we were there from 20` feb -27` 2014 once again a great holiday, the staff are the most friendly and helpful you could ever wish to meet, in all the hotels we have stayed in they are the best.the food if possible was even better then than the last time, everything for everybody taste, on the Monday I belive 35 polish people arrived and we had to wait for our evening meal but we got a drink on the house and the staff coped fab they are a credit to this hotel it is only a small hotel no entertainment which suits us great,we cannot wait to return

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 961Tom_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us on Trypadvisor.

Our best satisfaction is knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that they are looking forward to visit us again.

Thank you so much for your loyalty and we hope to see you again many times when you come to Costa del Sol.

Kindest Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I are just ending our 3rd week of 4 weeks stay here, and we have found it to be one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.
Yes its small compared to nearby giants, but what it lacks in size is more than made up by its friendliness.
All of the staff have one aim it seems, and that is your happiness. Nothing is too much trouble, and their smiles and welcomes with their pleased to see you smiles is wonderful.
Special mention must be made of Damian in the bar - restaurant. He never stops, is always on the go and is one of the nicest members of hotel staff you could meet. Tatiana, Maria and Ava too always greet you with a beautiful smile. Patricia in reception got us through check in efficiently and speedily. I mention these because we had more contact with them, but ALL staff here are excellent.
The food is great too. You cannot change a breakfast menu that much, but its always plentiful and nicely cooked and presented. Dinner is always delicious and varied with a wide selection for all tastes and dietary requirements.
The rooms are a nice size. Bathrooms could be bigger but are adequate. They are made up daily with regular changes of linen.
The beach is 2 minutes walk away and shops and bars are close too.
There is a bus stop outside to the centre if town for other buses and trains to take you all over the Costa del Sol. I recommend the trains, they are comfortable cheap and efficient.
All that said, I believe this hotel deserves every possible praise, and we will certainly be coming back again, like many of our newly made friends already do, some as many as 15 times. That says everything, doesn't it ? Have a great holiday, if you stay here you will for sure

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank MalCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

First of all, i would like to thank you for staying at hotel Don Paquito and for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay.

I would like to thank you for all the positive comments that you have stated on your review such as the good location of our hotel, the good food and the most important our staff. I really apreciate it!

Comments like yours makes us feel very happy.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito

Address: Avenida Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $63 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Essence Hotel Boutique By Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing