We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time At This Fabulous Hotel”
Review of Hotel Don Paquito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Don Paquito
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Third Time At This Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Don Paquito

Just finishing our third visit to the Don Paquito, Torremolinos and this little gem of a hotel continues to please just as it did three years ago. I like to think of this place as an exclusive little spot in Torremolinos. It is only a 3 star hotel but the welcome and the service is definitely 5 star!

For me the dining room and choice of food is what continues to bring us back here. It’s small and intimate with a personal feel. The choice of salads or soups for starters is superb. It’s all so fresh and delightfully presented.
There’s always a good selection of fresh food for main course with ample meat ,chicken or fish options. There is usually a vegetarian option also. Their selection of deserts is equally extensive with fresh fruits accompanying all the usual sweet delicacies.

We always ask for a pool facing room because they catch the sun for nearly the entire day. In the afternoon you can sit on your own balcony with a drink and a good book soaking in all that lovely sun. The rooms are reasonably large too with a separate bathroom/toilet. This year the hotel has increased its range of free toiletries which might please the ladies?

Their free wifi network has always been top notch and just as fast as broadband back home. I make and upload little holiday movies directly from the room. Photos will whizz up to Facebook in no time at all. This is definitely the right hotel if you need to stay connected to the big wide world.

There’s not really anything bad to say about the Don Paquito. They work hard to give visitors an excellent stay. Oh and the cheapest white table wine is only € 8.50 which won’t break the bank! This is a great value hotel which I recommend whole heartedly!

Room Tip: Always opt for a pool facing room since they get the sun the entire day. The street facing room do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paultasker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive Trypadvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Torremolinos.

We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. It,s gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the buffet. We are all the time improving to have variety and quality.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Torremolinos.


Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    234
    56
    13
    14
See reviews for
124
498
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co tyrone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very good . Staff are the friendliest in all of Spain . Rooms are good , beds very comfortable . Food was very good although limited in choice. Declan is a fantastic bar man funny and very efficient . I will diffently be back and recommend it to anyone.

Very well run and friendly

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank clearlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your opinión on tripadvisor about your holidays in our hotel, we are very glad to know that you enjoyed them.

Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you very soon again.

Kind Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel chosen from the David Urquart brochure and for the recommendations on here from the TA's...We where greeted by a friendly reception, check in quick and efficient 27 euro's for the room safe for 14 days with a 3 euro refund on return of the key, the room was a good size, on the 4th floor overlooking the pool area with a small balcony which got a lot of sun from noon onwards, a fridge (no charge) a TV with a few English channels inc. ITV (no charge).The bathroom was a reasonable size with a selection of complementary toiletries and bathroom slippers. I had to smile at this touch I am sure the supply is one size fits all and if you have size 10 plus feet quite useful, a nice touch was the small bottle of water in the room on arrival, suprised to find a double bed I thought most rooms on the continent went for singles, also not a lot of coat hangers in the wardrobe, overall clean and tidy and the housekeeping was good throughout the stay.

The dining room: The food was presented well, the desert's included a very good selection of patisseries, flans, cooked fruits and fresh fruit, caramels, custard and rice, a large selection of Salad's, cheese's, fish on display, warm rolls to go with the soup of the day, the Hot selection was not labelled, varied in choice, meat's and fish and various rice, pasta potatoes etc. This section in my opinion was a little on the greasy side but some folk might like oily dishes I found I had plenty of choice over the 2 weeks and did not find it necessary to eat out of the Hotel.

There is no entertainment here, the Hotel has a small lounge with a TV and furnished with wicker furniture, not the most comfortable to sit on, it also has a happy hour from 5-6 (I think) In reception area there is a computor terminal and the sideboard contains books if you like to read on holiday. The receptionists are friendly and will give you all the info you need for around and about.

I would say that the Staff here are some of the best I have encountered in travelling all friendly and sociable without being intrusive they deserve the Excellent
stars.

Out and About.
The Bus-Stop up into town is 1.44 e. it runs around the front and picks up quite a few folk I should think in the peak season it would be a sardine can on wheels, It stops at the terminus and from here you can get other buses to Fuengirola, Mijas, the Train in the centre of the town was our preferred travel along the coast it is a few cents dearer but what a difference to the buses so much more relaxed and not so crowded and much quicker. The best do it yourself day trip by bus was to Mijas
there is a small museum which shows you the village as it was and the way of life and that was 1e entrance fee well worth a look, and the village itself is quite charming. The best Market was Fuengirola on the Tues morning only half an hr by train then a 10 min walk up to the market or by bus which takes longer but stops outside the market and then the 10minute walk back to the bus terminus.
nice cafe to sit and watch the world go by at the market...

All in all a good holiday and would recommend the Don Paquito and its excellent staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool get a good amount of sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank UkJohn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your opinión on tripadvisor about your holidays in our hotel, we are very glad to know that you enjoyed them.

Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.
Also we want to thank you for your comments about our staff; we work hard to bring you memorable experiences and the best vacation.
I like knowing that you have enjoyed the buffet, we are all the time improving to have variety and quality.

We hope you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Kind Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for the first time 08/01/14 for 3 nights.Arrived by taxi from the airport cost us 18euros.Used a taxi because we did not have a clue where the hotel was.If we return we would get the train or the bus.There is a bus runs to the airport number 128 stops quite near the hotel.
The hotel itself is small with no entertainment but has a very nice comfy lounge and bar.
The rooms are good with a TV with a few english chanels and a small minibar.Bathroom small but OK.Balcony(ours faced the pool)was small but adequate.
Food was good,I have had worse in 4 star hotels.Service excellent and dining room bright and clean.
All the staff I met were very polite,friendly and helpfull.
The town centre is a short walk uphill it is also where the railway station is situated.The beach is gorgeous and a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel.
The hotel is clean as are the rooms.
I would go back again no problem.As 3 star hotels go it ranks right up there with the best.

Room Tip: The sunny rooms are facing the pool and they are quieter than the ones overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LesandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Don Paquito.

Also, we want to thank you for your comments about our staff and we like knowing that you have enjoyed the buffett, we are all the time improving to have variety and quality.

We hope see you again in the next vacation and once again to be grateful you have decided our hotel Don Paquito.

Best Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Very nice small hotel. Staff are very helpful and friendly. We had a pool side room that got the sun most of the day. Clean rooms,comfy beds. We had an issue with our pick up times and leaving date but Patrica and the other reception staff soon sorted it out for us. Also as we had a late flight home we kept our room at no extra charge. The only thing we found was the food was not labeled so it was difficult to know what it was at times and it was not very hot.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JuleeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us and all the tripadvisor followers.

Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.
It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to upcoming holidays.

Best Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We would give this hotel 3 out of 5 but the staff 4 out of 5. We had a room on the 1st floor overlooking the pool. The room was a good size , it needs a lick of paint. The beds are clean and comfy. We had a few English channels on the tv, WI-FI is free all over the hotel. We had a nice size balcony. The bathroom is very small, older people may struggle to get in and out of the shower/bath. On the first day we had shampoo/shower gel/soap etc but we were surprised it was never replemished after the first day! The main problem with the rooms are that you can hear every sound... toilets flushing, showers, tv's, coughing and people walking around in high heels even when slippers are provided. However, the rooms are clean. We were half board, the dining room is cozy, fresh and clean. At breakfast there was plenty of choice but some of the food is not very well presented (broken eggs, dried up tomato, greasy bacon etc). We only have cereal and toast so we wern't really bothered. In the evenings there were a number of people moaning rather loudly that the food was not hot enough. Sometimes we agreed with this but sometimes not. Maybe they should also speak up when it was good. The hotel possition is good for the beach but it is a hike up the hill to Torremolinos centre. However you can get the 123 bus from the beach to the town. We found Patricia on reception to be very helpful and friendly, a credit to the hotel. The other staff were also polite and did their jobs well. If you remember you are booking a 3 star not a 5 star hotel i think you will be happy with your stay.

Room Tip: High floor, pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TWEEDY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are always looking for ways to improve our product and our services; open and honest reviews from our guests is our best way to address areas wich need improvement.

We always try to cover the needs, suggestions and requirements of our customers.

We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future and prove you that your feedback is very important to us and we do our best to make your stay enjoyable.

Kind Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our second stay at the Don Paquito, and as last time the staff make this hotel very special. So friendly and helpful. The food is very good with plenty of choice. The location is ideal, close to the beach, and a short walk from the lift up to the town, also only 15 minutes from Malaga airport.

Room Tip: Choose a pool side room for the sunshine all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Don Paqui... T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments about the experience that you had in our hotel.

Also, we want to thank you for your comments about our staff, our guests are our passion and the most important to us, we work hard to bring you memorable experiences and the best vacation.

It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed also our buffet in the restaurant and the good location and situation of our hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Kind Regards.

Belén Quirós.
Hotel Don Paquito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paquito

Property: Hotel Don Paquito
Address: Avenida Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Paquito 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Hotel Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing