We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Don Paquito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Paquito
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - Good Location”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel which we really enjoyed. Booked based on the reviews on TA and the fact we'd stayed next door at the Don Pedro and we weren't disappointed. I had asked for a high floor and a pool view, both of which I was given on arrival with no problem.
Rooms were nicely furnished, flat screen TV with some english channels, bathrooms were quite modern and had free toiletries, toothbrush etc. Our room had a double bed which wasn't very comfortable (hence only 4 stars) but some rooms were twins. It did seem a bit dusty, my husband cleaned a few cms of dust off the aircon before we used it, and the floor around the beds could be cleaner.
There weren't many staff as the hotel wasn't full, but they were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They seemed to delight in remembering your room number without you having to say it for dinner etc.
We were half board and there was a good choice for both breakfast and dinner . Breakfast had a good choice of juices, cereals and continental stuff, hot food and a selection of cakes and pastries.
Dinner always included a soup, a couple of meat options and a couple of fish as well as a selection of salads, and a great selection of deserts (no ice cream though!!) .
The hotel has a small bar but no entertainment which didn't bother us. We did go to the Pub Chapo which is just around the corner and run by an ex pat.
Overall a good hotel and we will stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms ending 1-6 face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    232
    56
    13
    11
See reviews for
124
492
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

First off I have to admit I was a little apprehensive about staying here after reading reviews about the hotel being overbooked etc but a quick phone call and email confirmation put me at ease.

We stayed here as a couple with a 3½ year old child - we arrived at the hotel after 9pm due to flights and check in was a breeze, the hotel manageress had already ensured that there were some meals prepared and waiting for us in the dining area even though the restaurant had stopped serving food - nice touch and appreciated.

We asked for a pool facing room and high elevation - we were allocated room 205 which was 2nd floor pool view, it was actually a very good room as the balcony had sunshine from 10.30 - 5pm.

ROOMS - are clean,basic and practical with plenty of storage space, although our room was a little tight for space as we had a child bed in there with 2 singles. There is a small aircon unit which is free and a chargeable safe €2 per day, a small wall mounted flat screen with Sky news and ITV London as well as a load of Spanish,German and French channels. Maid service was available every day except Sundays.

FOOD - we stayed on a half board basis and the breakfast was pretty decent with a choice of 2-3 cereals, plenty of cooked items (eggs bacon etc) and a selection of pastries, breads etc.

Evening meals had at least 2 seafood selections such as prawns, paella or fish fillets as well as 4-5 meat choices - I tried a few chicken, pork and beef dishes and they were of good standard. There is also a good selection of salads/cold items and good variety of deserts - the catering staff are always replenishing near finished items.

DRINKS - good selection on offer and reasonably priced (red wine €2.20 & 60ml brandy €3)

STAFF - excellent from the duty managers, head waiter, bar staff and cleaning staff - all really genuinely friendly, polite and welcoming and attentive.

WEATHER - was excellent between 21° - 26° and night usually about 18° although it was a little windy

RESORT - a little quiet as it was the end of season but if you take a right as you walk of the hotel and walk 5 minutes it will take you to the promenade - take a right again and walk along the promenade maybe for 40 mins stroll and you will find La Carihuela - the main bar/restaurant and shopping area which is bustling.

There is a terrific little Irish pub round the corner from the hotel called the Irish affair which had live music on every night, also please take note that there is a restaurant directly across from the hotel called "Restaurante Avenida" - the food is poor and takes an age to arrive even though there were 4 customers - the waiter is rude, ill mannered and tried to overcharge us - one to avoid.

TAXI COST TO AIRPORT - €20

Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: good room for November is 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fraserrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have looked at reviews on Trip Advisor for years and would never book anywhere without looking but now feel the need to write a review, the majority of reviews for this hotel are spot on, which is why we booked in July to return to the Don Paquito for the 3rd time in 2 years. We booked with Jet 2 holidays, emailed the hotel a month before our visit and asked for a high floor and pool view (we have always had our request met) everything was fine until 3 days before travel on 29th September, when we got an email from Jet 2 saying Sorry but the hotel is overbooked, they offered us another hotel, a 4 star in Benalmadena, we were livid, why wait until now to tell us, I tried ringing but the office was closed (8.30-5.00) amazing if I had wanted to book a holiday there would be someone to take my call. After numerous phone calls back and forth we were offered other hotels. We were not accepting anything else, this was the hotel we had booked and paid for months ago, we stood our ground and jet 2 said they would try and get us back into the hotel we had booked. The next day we got an email from the hotel saying everything was OK and they would see us on the 29th and not to worry. The next morning I got a call at work from jet 2 saying the hotel was going to honor our booking and it was settled. Three days of hassle, stress and worry, not ideal before you go on holiday, I asked if we were the only couple and were told there was about 15 other bookings affected, Jet 2 still maintained it was the hotels doing, we are not sure. That aside we checked in and got the room we were promised, other couple were not as lucky at the same time and some were going off to other hotels in taxis. We had 9 days of fantastic weather, it was still 25c at midnight one night, the hotel is basic but very clean in public areas, bedroom we felt was not as clean (dusty) as previous stays and looking a little tired, we had a lot of trouble with the air-conditioning , it kept leaking water, and one day threw ice out at us, it was also not very cold at times, we had to report this four times and to the hotels credit they did get someone to look at it and fix it each time,(we were in room 401) The food is excellent and a really good choice for both breakfast and dinner, they use quality ingredients, and is always well cooked and tasty. Beware if you arrive late for dinner which finishes at pm, they actually clear everything away at about 9.05. The staff are excellent and remember you from previous years, they always pass the time of day, even the cleaners, there are many repeat customers, mainly British. There is never a problem getting a table for meals and you can sit outside next to the pool which is very nice. There is a great area to the front of the hotel to people watch with a drink at night, but would be much better with a table and 2 chairs as most of the time there was one couple sitting at each table with four chairs. The beach is just down the road and very clean with numerous places to hire sun bed, we did this 3 times as we were unable to get a sun bed by the pool due to selfish guests placing their towels at 8.30 or before, the pool does not open until 9am but these people would sneak their towels through the dining room early then not use the sun beds for hours, we have not had a problem before, when we left the receptionist were trying to stop this. We spent many a happy hour at the Irish Affair just down the road and to the right, they have live music each night and is a great atmosphere. We also found a great place to eat on a lunchtime called the Bistro Europa we found this by accident, down the road along the front and up the second road on the right (I think) fantastic food, good prices, friendly service, salads, quality burgers, chilli chicken, specials, worth a visit, also El Gato lounge on the front past the Melia, very good Tapas(see their own reviews) but all in all a great stay, we heard that the hotel was being taken over by new buyers in November(Russian) so will watch the reviews before we book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and higher floor, this is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed in around Torremolinos. The hotel was lovely and the staff were very polite and helpful. Wasn't sure what the food would be like as it was so cheap but was very good.
Would defo stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moom1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the don paquito in mid October .
Although only a small hotel it is big on service with pleasant staff all very helpful especially the reception.
The rooms are quite spacious and kept very clean with regular made service, the hotel was kept very clean all over.
There is only a small pool and a small cramped bathing area.most of this is in the shade of large trees, this did not bother us as the hotel is only 200 yards from the beautiful clean beach.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the pool so you can enjoy the evening sun on your balcony, also the front ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidjlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stay at the Don Paquito a couple of times a year and we recently enjoyed a five day break at the hotel. The staff as always were very friendly and helpful, the food good and bedroom very comfortable. Love the fact we got free wifi all over the hotel not just in one area as happens in a lot of hotels

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at don paquito. This is the fourth time we have been to this hotel and again enjoyed our stay overall. The food does vary quite a bit in that it was very good on a couple of days, with lots of choice, but only average on some other days with little choice. You seem to get everthing that you like on the same day. On one day you had lots of choice on the cold starters counter, like prawns, mussels, smoked salmon etc. all on the same day, with nice Lamb and steaks on the hot food counter on the same day.
Then on other days there was no seafood on the cold starter counter, only salads. I would recommend the hotel to have small amount of seafood on different days and not all on the same day. My wife and I always say we get everthing we like on the same day. Then nothing we would choose on other days, although there was always something acceptable. I just wish they would spread out all the nicer food throughout the week. Like mussels one days, king prawns another day, smoked salmon another day etc.
Some of the staff seemed concerned about the hotel being taken over by new owners, and one of the waitresses was a bit abrupt when we went to sit outside and had not signed for our wine that was put on the room expenses, but she did not bring the receipt to our table to sign. This happened a few times during our stay where they didn't bring the ticket to sign. The staff did not seem as happy as in the past, which is understandable, as the hotel is being taken over by new owners.
We enjoyed dining outside on some evenings and mornings, but some nights and days this was not available.
Overall would stay again at the right price.

Room Tip: Pool view for the sun, road side for shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are always looking for ways to improve our product and our services; open and honest reviews from our guests is our best way to address areas which need improvement.

On the behalf of myself and the entire staff, thank you for sharing your comments and that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paquito

Property: Hotel Don Paquito
Address: Avenida Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Paquito 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Hotel Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing