We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

if you are going to torremolinos stay at this hotel it only has 66 rooms 35 tables in the dinning room, there is no pushing or shoving or queing for food .youget more of the personel touch, the food is excellent the breakfast is second to none and wait for it yes there is even fried bread.
a good locaction and the prices in the bar are very good also,a bottle of house rose was only 8.50 euros and very nice to we will stay at this hotel again when we return to torremolinos it has alovely cosy bar and a good seating area outside

Room Tip: second floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 961Tom_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you very much for posting your opinion on tripadvisor about your holidays in our hotel Don Paquito.

I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and Torremolinos so much.

On the behalf of myself and the entire staff, thank you for sharing your comments and that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 847 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago and overall was very pleased with everything, however we found that this time around standards were a little lacking. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis but the floor was never given a thorough cleaning and always felt dusty. The bed was never made up properly and the air conditioning fans was way over due for a good cleaning that is why when turned on they always gave out a very stale odour this was the same with the fridge.
The food was good BUT never hot enough and cool items ie milk for cereals and fruit juice not chilled .
The sunbeds always seemed to be booked from early in the morning ie before 9am although some of the guests it was clear just kept their towels on all day just in case they felt like an odd hour around the pool . . .
I hope that the new management do make some changes to this hotel for the better as there is signs of complacency in standards overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for the review and I am sorry that you seemed to be a bit disappointed by some aspects of your stay. I can assure you that we take all reviews very seriously and your negative comments are all noted.

We say goodbye to you, reiterating our commitment to continue improving to provide a better service and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to upcoming holidays.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Don Paquito hotel and another fabulous experience. As many people have said before me, the staff in this hotel go out of their way to make your stay very special. What other hotel can boast staff who have been there for years and welcome you as if you are part of their family? Everywhere is spotless and it is particularly attractive to couples looking for a quiet stay in a small, but busy establishment in a perfect location. I have heard that the hotel is going to be under new management from November. I only hope that the new owners realise all the reasons why this hotel is such a success and DON'T change anything. No one visits the Don Paquito once! Each time we have visited, there have been people there from previous years. This hotel deserves to do well and we hope when we return for another visit, nothing has changed.








L

Room Tip: Rooms either have pool view with full sun or street view with no sun. It just depends what you refe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay at our hotel Don Paquito.

Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.

Many Thanks for sharing your experience with us and all the Tripadvisor followers.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just back from a week in Torremolinos staying at this hotel. Location is very good, just off the main sea front in a fairly quiet street. The hotel has friendly efficient staff, is spotlessly clean and offers a very good 3* experience. We never found the pool area to be crowded and always managed to get a sun bed in the shade, which is our preference. There is a hairdryer and complimentary shower gel, shampoo & conditioner provided in the bathrooms. Pool towels are available from reception at no cost. There is a safe in the room at a cost of 12 euros per week plus a 3 euro refundable deposit. Books are available in reception to read whilst on holiday or exchange with one you have finished with. There are lovely walks along the sea front via La Cariheula to the marina at Benalmadena, with plenty of watering holes and dining experiences along the way. Torremolinos also boasts a characterful old town crammed with shops, bodegas and lovely little restaurants. The train journey to Malaga is well worth doing, it takes around 25 minutes and costs 7.80 euros for 2 adults return. Malaga has some wonderful architecture and museums, the cathedral is jaw dropping. We also walked up to the Castillo (castle), quite a steep climb but well worth it for the views over the city and to walk the castle walls. Try and go on a slightly cooler day, as we did and take plenty of water with you. The beaches in Torremolinos are very well groomed, clean, with plenty of sun loungers and parasols, the general charge seems to be 9 euros for 2 persons. There are some wonderful sand sculptures as you walk along the beach, some have tea lights featured in them and look especially pretty when lit up at night. Overall we would recommend this hotel as suitable for couples and solos.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel suffer a bit from traffic noise and from the hotel's outside ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morgansnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

We take great pride in being located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos and i am very happy you were able to indulge in some of the surroundings.

I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel so much. I look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Thank you again!

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here 12th of september for 10 days. The staff are really friendly, always have a smile on their face and seem to enjoy working there. Hotel room is small, but suits all your needs. Free aircon, fridge, hairdrier, flatscreen tv (with itv1) and free fast wifi. We were travelling with friends and had rung the hotel prior to leaving the uk, requesting, (if possible) high floor, pool veiw and rooms close to each other. They gave us all 3 requests! Excellent service, we were in rooms 505 and 506. Food is excellent. Plenty of variety, nicely presented and tasty. We were planning to have a couple of meals out, but enjoyed the food so much, we did'nt bother. Two minuets to beach, nice 10 minutes to town. Take a walk down the promanade towards Benelmadina, around the headland and you come to a lovely area with narrow avenues full of bars, restaurants and shops. All in all, highly recommended. One last thing, we're all in our 50's, and we seemed to be the youngest!!

Room Tip: Try to get pool view rooms, although the road that other rooms face is pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deadgroovy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Many THANKS for taking the time to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay at our hotel Don Paquito.

Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.

I appreciate your taking time to write in about your holiday and am delighted that you would return.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Like others we booked this hotel on the back of the good reviews here on Trip advisor. On the whole agree with most of what has been said. We stayed for 5 nights.

Room was clean and adequate - a little on the small side but this was not a problem. We had a 4th floor room overlooking the pool, balcany was a sun trap in the afternoon which was lovely. Aircon is a bit noisy but we didn't mind this.

We were half board - food was good if a little luke warm which I think is a problem on the whole with buffet style dining. Restaurant and terrace were nice, waiting on staff were excellent - friendly, polite and quick to clear tables etc.

Easy to get a sunbed round the pool - a few put towels out but on the whole this was not a problem and we always got 2 beds together where we wanted them. Not many folks used the pool - dont know why - we did and it was nice. Beach towels are available just ask at reception.

Most of the clientelle were middle aged +, we are early 40s and were probably amongst the youngest there. Don't know if this is usual or just how it was when we were there . A mix if nationalities.

Happy hour is 5-6 pm, bar prices are reasonable and again staff are excellent.

Probably won't go again as we don't usually go to the same place twice but would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

On the behalf of myself and the entire staff, thank you for sharing your comments and that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

just returned from don paquito and have to say it was well worth the visit we had a first floor room which was very clean and tidy the maids where in every morning so no complaints there the food was first class plenty to choose from and the sweet table was amazing only one little issue was if the put markers on view stipulating which was chicken, beef , veal ect. as some people were unsure what type of meat was on the menu ,the locating of the hotel was very good which made it very easy to go from hotel to all major parts of torremolinos would use the hotel if i was going back to this area

Room Tip: rear rooms overlooking the pool seem best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobbyKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your review. We consider our customers´ feedback very important to improve the service of our hotel.

We will take note of the points indicates for improvements.

I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel so much. I look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Thank you again!

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,117 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 71 in Torremolinos
806 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 71 in Torremolinos
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito

Address: Avenida Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $64 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hotel Boutique by Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Essence Hotel Boutique By Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing