We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay - again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Don Paquito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Paquito
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Clacks
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay - again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying at this hotel, we have just returned from a 5 day visit - it is clean, the staff are very friendly and courteous and the food is very good we can recommend this hotel. We have also stayed at 2 other 4 star hotels in Torremolinos but this is our favourite by far. We were not arriving until approx. 22.00hrs so I informed the hotel and they emailed me back to say they would keep dinner for us even though the dining room closed at 9pm - excellent.

Room Tip: I am quite a light sleeper so usually ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolly-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel. And I like knowing that you have enjoyed the buffet. We are always time improving to have variety and quality.

Once again I am grateful you have shared your experience and we hope see you again the next holidays.

Departamento Calidad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    232
    56
    13
    11
See reviews for
124
492
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just returned from a seven day stay at the don paquito hotel in torremolinos in southern Spain where this small hotel is ideally located for the fantastic beach, the old town, aqua world and a lovely walk along the promenade to the next resort of benemadena. The hotel is 3 star with a nice pool area at the back of the hotel, excellent buffet meals and very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms have all the usual requirements for a short or long stay in this area of Spain where Marbella and port of banus are a short distance down the coast. There are a good selection of beach bars and restuarants along the sea front although the hotel itself has large choice of wines and beers with a nice lounge between the reception desk and the bar. Gibraltar is within a easy distance to visit from torremolinos where this is a tax free haven and a beautiful place to see during a tour of the rock, a cair lift to the top of the it where you have the Atlantic Ocean to the right, the Mediterranean to the left and Africa to the south. Pick this hotel and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

We are glad that you could have visited the surroundings of Torremolinos and had seen different places like Marbella and Gibraltar.

It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel. And I like knowing that you have enjoyed the buffet. We are always time improving to have variety and quality.

Once again I am grateful you have shared your experience and we hope see you again the next holidays.

Departamento de Calidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved this hotel. Everything is spotlessly clean and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable with air conditioning and a small fridge which was really handy.... our balcony overlooked the pool area and it caught the sun all day. We stayed half board and the food was excellent with a good variety. The hotel is just a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klmn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel. And I like knowing that you have enjoyed the buffet. We are always time improving to have variety and quality.

We hope see you again in the next vacation and once again to be grateful you have decided our Hotel Don Paquito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second visit to The Don Paquito and we will certainly be back again. We arrived before lunch after an early morning flight, even though check in time is stated as 2pm we were given the keys immediately. The room was clean and well presented. The room had air conditioning, flat screen TV and a small fridge which we found to be a nice bonus as in other hotels there is usually a daily charge for this facility. We stayed half board and found the food was always good with plenty of variety. We were also surprised that the drink prices were very reasonable, in fact probably cheaper than a lot of the local bars. This is only a 3 star hotel but in our opinion should be at least a 4 star. The location of the hotel is ideal, the beach is at the bottom of the street and if you feel like a lunchtime snack pop into one of the many beach front bars and try out the fresh sardines cooked on the BBQ, a very tasty snack for only 3euro. All in all we had a lovely holiday and would recommend the Don Paquito to even the fussiest reviewer. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool get sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEJBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

We always try to cover the needs, requirements and suggestions of our customers.

We hope see you again in the next vacation and once again to be grateful you have decided our Hotel Don Paquito.

Departamento Calidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lots to like about this hotel. It’s very clean, the staff are friendly and efficient, the pool area is small (ish) but very nice, the rooms clean and the beds comfortable, location excellent (if you find yourself in Torremolinos that is), breakfast exceptional. Careful if you go to the bar at 5PM; it’s easy to get sucked in to the whole happy hour thing! Recommended.

Room Tip: Facing pool side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations and during your stay in the Hotel you have enjoyed the facilities of our hotel.

It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel, fact that I will make known of the whole team.

We hope see you again in the next vacation and once again to be grateful you have decided our Hotel Don Paquito.

Departamento Calidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have been to this hotel before usually March and thought we would try a summer visit. Have to say I have been plesantly surprised by the resort. I thought it might have been to busy in summer but it was perfect. The hotel has to be one of the best we have ever stayed in for all the reasons mentioned in all the previous reports. Am sure I might manage a wee pre Christmas visit to see how December is. Recommend you give it a try. Fantastic wee place.

Room Tip: Have had high, low pool and road facing rooms and you wont be disappointed with any room. The layout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne10aber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from 11 nts in the Don Paquito, and I have to agree with most of the reviews on here, this 3* hotel was good value, rooms cleaned every day, meals were fine, I did suggest to the manager who stopped me one day, to put on ice cream as part of the sweet menu, but this is a very minor detail, as the selection was very good. Other food was not too repetative and I am sure you will find something to eat, even if you tend to be a bit fussy..
All staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the bar/restaurant staff and reception, cleaners were also very pleasant and always spoke to us,
The hotel itself is in a really good area, close enough to the main street and beach but far enough away if you wanted a quieter night, if you are going up to the main area reached by the lift, I suggest you take a left when leaving the hotel, go to the top of the street and take a left at the small supermarket, walk along the road past the new entrance to the Don Pablo and when you see the Ship Inn on your left, go up the stairs to the lift (50 cents P/P) but worth it, we walked up the first day and that was our last (old codgers).
I spoke to an ex-pat one day at the bus stop when we were catching a bus to Fuengirola and he told me about a car museum in Malaga, so made some enquiries at the tourist office and made my way there, only to find it was closed on Mondays, alas, I returned myself next day as I then knew how to get there, best way is to go up to the main street, either walking by the lift, or taking the Playamar (local bus to the bus terminal) walk towards Malaga to the Hotel Isabela and at the bus stop behind this hotel take the M110 to Malaga, there are also other stops before this one nearer the main shopping area, as you come into Malaga watch for the purple sign for the Museo Automobiles and get off at the stop just past it, costs 6.50 euros to get in, but if you like old cars I would say it is worth it, now to get back to Torremolinos, head back to where you got off the bus which is the start of a one way street, take a left down one of the other streets until you reach the one way street going back the way, find a bus stop, they will probably not say M110, but they do stop and pick you up, forgot to say, the M110 is only 1.60 euros each way, only one down side was that the buses can get too busy, if they are they will not stop and pick anyone up, this happened on the bus I was on,and I had to stand all the way, takes about 10-15 minutes.It may have been the time of day !!.
More on the hotel, the airconditioning was free to use, which was a definite bonus, there are only a selection of sandwiches on the snacks menu so if you want something more then you will have to head down to the main front restaurants, of which there are many.
Also the hotel does a very popular happy hour between 17.00 and 18.00 where you can buy 2 drinks for the price of one, but they must be the same drink, but 2 Mojitos for 5 euros was good value, this was on all drinks as well.
If you want to stock up on some beers and snacks for the room, there is the added benefit of a small fridge for keeping things cool, (we took ice cube bags but our fridge did not have an ice compartment but some do), then the best place to shop is in the larger supermarket which is about 4-5 mins away, go out the hotel, cross the road and head down the street you see, turn right and follow the road round a few bends and you will see the supermarket on the left hand side,It is directly behind Shennanigans Irish Bar, everything in here is much cheaper, I got 5 ltrs of water for I think 1.90 euros, bottle of Red Label for 10 euro and this was 16 in other small supermarkets.
Before travelling, e-mailed the hotel and requested a pool view, on arrival, we were looking out to the road, I asked Patricia at reception if we could have a move and this was granted next day with no problems ( many thanks Patricia). some have mentioned the lack of Sunbeds at the pool, this area is quite small, on the pool rules it does say maximum 80 persons, this was never reached the 11 days we were there, we also had no problems getting a sunbed the days we went to the pool, there are signs up advising not to leave the sunbeds un-attended for more than 30 minutes, not sure if this was enforced or not.
Can I also say,if you are travelling light, the train runs from the airport into Torremolinos, there are 2 stations, one called Colina at the start, then the main station up town, it will be a cheaper way to get to your hotel depending on what pat of town you are going to, the entrance and exit to the station is on the main square just along from Burger King (which, by the way isn't as cheap as here in UK, and take your receipt with you to access the toilets)
We took taxis both ways from thre airport which cost around 20 euros for a 10 minute journey, but we had budgeted for this and it was more convenient for us, suppose if there are four people, this is only 5 euro each, also ask the price before you get into the taxi, I heard this may save any problems..we didn't at the airport and the meter was not put on so had to wait until getting to the hotel to find out, on the way back, I got the receptionist to ask the price, and it was down to 17 euros!!..
Defiately recommended for a short to medium break, the hotel seems to have returning customers, that in itself says something, also a lot of Spanish were staying too...
Hope this review helps

Room Tip: 5th Floor facing the pool would be my preferred choice of room, but any with a pool view were fine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Weedode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#2 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 72 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#9 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paquito

Property: Hotel Don Paquito
Address: Avenida Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Paquito 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Hotel Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing