We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They used to be good (years ago)”
Review of Restaurante Med - CLOSED

Restaurante Med
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Rotterdam, Nederland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They used to be good (years ago)”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Unfortunately we won't come back here anymore.
Years ago, I believe 2006, they had a wonderful, surprising and excellent 'tasting menu', but believe it or not: they haven't bothered to change that menu ever after.
What some other recent reviewers have written is right, unfortunately: very expensive, surprises at the check, no menu in English, a wine list that looks good but many bottles aren't there, and very poor knowledge of English by the staff.
We happen to speak some Spanish ourselves and we didn't want to make it too difficult for the waiters to speak English. But once you start in Spanish, they just don't have any mercy anymore: Spanish is fired at you at machine-gun speed and if you ask to speak slower, they switch to louder (at the same speed).
What remains is a beautiful see view, elegant tables and elegant interior. And not a bad kitchen either. But that's not enough for me to have a nice dinner. I'd rather switch to a basic tapas place where price, quality and a friendly smile from the owner make a much better evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnix010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“not very good”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

a restaurant with ambition undoubtedly but way off the mark
2 glasses of cava had to be sent back as they were flat
menu in spanish totally and only 1 waiter spoke english
difficult menu to choose from but eventually chose the jamon jabugo and the foie gras pate which were passable
however the mains were dreadful
iberic pork which consisted largely the fatty outer layer and had to be sent back
entrecote steak asked for as well done came burnt on the outside and almost raw inside
minimal vegetable choice
routine desserts- meltting chocolate pudding totally formula
the place wasn't busy but the standards of produce and cooking were dreadful
will not go again

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whoopsidoneitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Save your money!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This place came as a recommendation from a local friend of mine, she's never been there but thought it would be a nice romantic place for my girlfriends birthday. Yes, it does have a beautiful view but that was the only good thing. I had my hotel call and make reservations for us and let them know we were celebrating a birthday. It took us a while to find the place, signs are hidden place is upstairs in an ugly strip mall. As mentioned above, menu is only in Spanish, which I speak and read fairly well, but this menu might as well have been in German. Our waiter had an attitude, the food runners and hosts were much friendlier and helpful. They did bring us a complimentary appetizer and some good bread. Appetizer was terrible, next came a lobster salad, tasted like fake rubber lobster with greens that had dark edges and were soggy soaking in a terrible dressing. That was followed by a shrimp tempura with vegetables, we had to ask for salt and soy sauce, that made it tolerable, finally they brought out a fish dish, that was good but not great. They never remembered or asked about my girlfriends birthday. Ended with about $140 bill. That with no wine or alcohol, just Pelligrino.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ecappelletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Are they trying too hard?”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Me and my three friends went there in Nov 2010 with very high expectations. The athmosphere was nice, white table cloths and chair covers were quite nice and totally differed from very plain wooden walls and ceiling. The view is probably great because of restaurant's location, but we were there in the evening, so we could not enjoy of it.
The menus were only in Spanish. Waiter told us that he could translate us the dishes but as we found out his English was poor. Besides the menu included tens of portions so it would have take quite a long time to explain them all for us.
As an appetizer we got small portions "from the house" but as we ordered the check these were not a complimentary as the waiter let us understand but we had to pay 12 euros each...
Anyway, we finally found something from the manu, for excample sirloin and goose liver and some meat that we first did not regognize but with a dictionary we found out that it was goat. Liver was okay. We asked sirloin to be cooked medium but as we got our portions it was raw - very raw and bloody, so we returned it to the kitchen. When we got them back we tasted them and they tasted liverish, clotted, not good at all. The goat was terrible too. And what happened with wine...? They had very ambitious wine list with about 30 choices and then the wine we wanted (we knew this wine and it was on their list) they did not have. So the waiter recommended us something else "very similar and very nice". It was quite okay but since he did not decant it there were lot of sediment in our wine glasses. It was a very, very expencive bad dinner. As the waiter asked did we like it we told him our honest opinion and he did not even bother to say he's sorry. It seemed more that he tried to arque with us.
I think the problem with this place is that they are too ambitious. They have made a very good looking restaurant, very large menu and very large wine list. But maybe if they would simplify it they could success.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“brilliant food stunning views”
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I dined here in March was very impressed with the design of the restaurant we were shown the menu which was in spanish and there was not one translated in english i personally think this is a problem for tourist trade and it would of been nice to understand each dish the waitress translated the main ingriedient i had grilled beef from cordoba and it was nice my brother had lobster with squid ink tagliatelle we also had amuse on the house which again was great this is a serious restaurant and the food is very good i am a chef and know when food is cooked very well.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juangoodtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Med also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing