We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Escandinavia
Ranked #16 of 23 Torremolinos B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Plus points
It was located on a very central Road. With the beach, the town center and the train station nearby.
The rooms were spacious, tiled and had balconies.
The management was very helpful. They gave us a brand new ironing board for use. Patita the lady at the reception gave us directions and helped us a lot.

Negative points
The hostal is in dire need of renovation. Even the gardens are wild.
There is smell of cat urine in the corridors and the common areas, thank god not in the rooms.
The management locks the main door all the time, so each time you want to enter the hostal you have to ring the bell.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balconies and do take a strong air freshener with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HINAWASEEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 66 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

my husband and I have just returned from a 3 nite stay at the hostal escandinavia in Torremolinos. it was basic accommodation which we expected as it was very cheap to stay there. there was plenty of hot water for the bath and the maid came in everyday to change our bedding and towels and clean our room. the owner was very obliging and when we told her we didn't fly back to the uk until midnite she allowed us to use the room in the evening to freshen up before our journey...very nice considering the booking out time was actually midday. if you just want somewhere to sleep in the centre of Torremolinos and ure happy with "no frills" then I would recommend the Escandinava. If you want upmarket accommodation with perfect tiles and plastered walls then don't book to go here!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7 and didn't have any dodgy sockets or anything else to cause us any concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pippa1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Brother and Sister owners of the Hotel seemed welcoming the room was ok clean towels everyday and you had the choice of looking over a noisy dual carraige way or a very busy one way street the perfume of cats pee everywear down stairs. Noisy water pump everytime someone ran the hot water tap. The place is in a time warp 70s waiting for developers to come and buy it out. Very good for the centre and lift down to the beach. You are jumped on for the key whenever you go out .We loved laying awake at night listening to people coming back from Night Clubs in the road below all times of the night LOL.There are some much better cheaper Hostels or Hotels in the area go there.

Room Tip: We had the room over the side road probabley the quieter if you could say that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in December 2012. It was a bit strange, that you have always to ring the bell, if you want to enter the Pension - but that was no problem. Large room with old furniture. Free WIFI worked well. Between 5 and 10 minutes walking to Torremolinos train station. Next to the building are several bars, so it might be noisy during spring and summer. I had no problem,
because they were closed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is not by any stretch of the imagination a hotel or even a hostal. It is run down dirty and should be shut under every health and safety regulation in the book. There was one electric socket in the bedroom - the one in the bathroom fell to pieces when I tried to use it. The wiring is completely outside of the Spanish legalities for wiring of domestic properties let alone hotels. The room was filthy, with only half a toilet roll supplied. The sheets had holes in them and the curtains didn't do anything to keep out the light. The entire building smells of cat urine throughout. The worst part of all this is that the owners lock you in and lock you out. They are keen to snatch the key from you when you leave and you have to ring the bell to get back in. Once in the hotel is again firmly locked. If there was a fire then God knows what would happen. This "hotel" has long since seen better days and needs a complete overhaul. Only good thing is that it is a short walk to the centre of the town - but sleeping on the railway platform would be more comfortable and quieter!

Room Tip: Sleep here at your own risk - I am covered in bedbug bites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hewkinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed two nights in Eskandinavia. My room was nice, clean and there was a balcony. I knew that in southern Spain the heating is not the first priority. I had made my reservation through booking.com and there was promised heating.
There was a radiator in the room, but the power was not connected. The bed was not wet, but moist because the lack of heating. In Finland I have used to sleep in warm room so the first night was terrible. I had a severe argument with the bartender next morning.
In the afternoon when I came back from Malaga, the lady who was in charge asked me has there been cold in the night. Obviously the bartender had informed his boss about the argument. I got an portable heater and in the evening I noticed that the fixed radiator in the room was connected too.
As summary, I was very satisfied how the manager-lady arranged things. I can recommend this hotel, the price/ quality- ratio is high. Just ask the extra heater in the wintertime.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jari t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We looked on line for accommodation in or near La Carihuela. This was the cheapest accommodation in Torremolinos area - 25 euros per double room per night, so we were not expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised on arrival - there was a warm welcome from the couple who owned the place (and the resident cats, Lily and Mickey). We had a pleasant bedroom overlooking the lemon trees in the front garden, and an ensuite bathroom. Its basically an old Spanish house on the main road, with about a dozen or so bedrooms, some have small balconies. There is a little bar at one end of the building, which is open to the public in the mornings for breakfast. Ok the fixtures and furnishings are old, but everything is spotlessly clean, with new towels provided and beds made every day, and the building is authentic Spanish. What more could you want or possibly expect for 25 euros a night? We will definitely stay here again as it was cheap and convenient, within 10 minutes walk from La Carihuela and 5 minutes walk the other way into Torremolinos centre. Easy 5 mins walk to Torremolinos train station. 10 minute train journey to Malaga airport (1.5euros per person!). If you want luxury, then pay about 5 times as much and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Room 8 is at the front and has double bed, no balcony. However we were given the choice of this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bevanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Guadalupe
Hostal Guadalupe
#1 of 23 in Torremolinos
326 reviews
1 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
0.5 mi away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,574 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Escandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Escandinavia

Address: Avenida Palma de Mallorca 43, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Torremolinos
Price Range: $30 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Escandinavia 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Escandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Escandinavia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing