We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Don Alfredo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Don Alfredo
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A really nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed for one week in the Don Alfredo in November, with our six year old. The hotel is just on the edge of the old town, but not in the pedestrian zone. Everything was really close - restaurants, shops, beach, etc. We had a fantastic view of the castle walls from our room.
The hotel is very clean and the maid comes everyday. The room (202) had everything we needed, and the bathroom was spacious (although not all rooms have a bath). The personnel were helpful and friendly, although English was limited. We asked to move from one room to another, and the staff were more than happy to oblige. There is no restaurant/bar in the hotel itself, but the cafe downstairs is very handy, again with friendly staff.
We were overall very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel. However, there were one or two points that stopped our stay being perfect. Firstly, the road outside could be very noisy in the middle of the night - it seemed that the street cleaners passed six or seven times a night some nights. Secondly, the doors in the hotel were noisy: the handles and locks were stiff, and made a lot of noisy, which also added to the noise especially at night. For these two reasons, bring earplugs. Lastly, the room was rather small for three - even though we paid extra to have a third bed, it was not really big enough. We found it difficult to find space to store everything, and there was little room to move.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusymumBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
34
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Small hotel with 19 rooms, clean, quiet, located in the Old Town, and looks across to the ancient fort walls. We took a taxi and this turned out to be a good idea as there was no way we could have walked all those labyrinthian streets and found it on our own.

Not a whole lot of English spoken at the hotel but we were able to communicate somehow.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyCLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Hi i stayed at the Don Alfredo in Sept for a week, I can honestly say i have never stayed in a clearer hotel. Its a 2 star but its got everything you could need. the hotel has recently been refurbished and looks great. Location, service and price very hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DublinKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Don Alfredo. This was a big change from the resort and large hotels we were used to staying. However, it turned out to be a brilliant surprise. If you do not mind walking around and getting to know a city, it is a perfect place to stay. The Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable of where the very helpful in finding the local food and hangouts.

Should we return to Marbella, we will most certainly be visiting the Don Alfredo again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcharb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

Me and my friends stayed at Hotel Don Alfredo for a week in June/July 2008.

Hotel staff were very helpful although there english was limited but we got by. While we were there the cafe/bar opened which was really handy for a cheap tasty breakfast.

When we booked the hotel it had the old pictures on the website, so we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived that the hotel had been re-decorated. Its a really nice, small and very clean hotel. The place is really REALLY clean as a maid comes everyday. The air con worked well and was refreshing exspecially in peak season.

The only slight problem was that the hotel was a little noisy in the morning, so if your a light sleeper I would recommend a pair of earplugs! But it was quite at night, which is the main thing. It doesn't have a pool but your 10 mins walk to a lovely beach.

The resort is friendly and has everything you need, however, we did feel there was a shortage of bars but a quick 10 euro taxi journey takes you to puerto banus. If you stay here then you HAVE to go the puerto banus - its amazing and the clubs are really good, I would recommend Mambos (but I warn you its hot in there!)

I would highly recommend anyone to stay here as it is GREAT value for money. The best holiday I have ever had and i'm probably going back next year.

Hope you find this helpful

  • Liked — Everything you could possibly need and so cheap!
  • Disliked — It's on a bit of a steep hill , so not ideal for elderly or disabled people
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatlmissesMarbella08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Puerta de Aduares
0.2 mi away
Hostal Paco
Hostal Paco
#38 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Morada Mas Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#24 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baviera
Hotel Baviera
#41 of 71 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Berlin
Hostal Berlin
#42 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Alfredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Alfredo

Property: Hotel Don Alfredo
Address: Calle Portada 11, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Alfredo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Don Alfredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing