We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't like it at all”
Review of Hotel Don Alfredo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Don Alfredo
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Reviewed May 30, 2011

First of all the lady at the front desk acted scared and like we couldn't pay two euros more for four people. Secondly the rooms where to small. Thirdly breakfast came with it but all you get is croissant and coffee for adults and cola cao (hot chocolate) and bread for the kids. It was not a very good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anjolina22447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

My fiance chose this hotel and to be honest, I wasn't really expecting much. We stayed here for 2 nights in mid-June and wow... it was perfect! One of the cheapest options in Marbella and we were thrilled with it. The location was superb - couldn't be better. It was literally a 30 second walk to get into the centre of the old town. The rooms were clean, the bathroom perfectly adequate, the beds comfortable, and we had an absolutely amazing view of the old castle walls - superb. Unfortunately, the cafe downstairs was closed while we were there so we can't comment on that. Our only gripe would be parking - there were a few parking spots close to the hotel but the cars never seemed to move! We ended up parking in a carpark at the bottom of the town (this hotel is on top of a hill) and paid dearly for it... I think €36 for 2 days? Ouch. Also, this hotel is seriously tricky to find! We were using maps, not a GPS, but Marbella was just tricky to navigate. My advice - use a GPS! :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We were referred to Don Alfredo by a local person. The 2-star hotel (family-run) is on the edge of Old Town and is facing the castle. The rooms are clean but basic just enough space for 2. There is the all-important airconditioning and flat-screen TV, and ensuite bathroom with hot and cold water. One thing that's impressive is that they offer free wi-fi in the rooms.
They have a little cafe adjoining it with great value on meals/drinks.
The staff couldn't do enough for you. The beach was only 10 minutes walk away. We only stayed 2 nights but would have definitely stayed longer if we could.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malvernite2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. It is a small family owned hotel with very good atmosphere and location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aneta_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We returned to the Don Alfredo for a second time as our first stay was so good. Yet again the staff were really friendly and helpful and the accommodation excellent...very comfortable and clean. A truly great location, with an excellent cafe attached to the hotel and an unbeatable room rate. Thanks again

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 19, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed for one week in the Don Alfredo in November, with our six year old. The hotel is just on the edge of the old town, but not in the pedestrian zone. Everything was really close - restaurants, shops, beach, etc. We had a fantastic view of the castle walls from our room.
The hotel is very clean and the maid comes everyday. The room (202) had everything we needed, and the bathroom was spacious (although not all rooms have a bath). The personnel were helpful and friendly, although English was limited. We asked to move from one room to another, and the staff were more than happy to oblige. There is no restaurant/bar in the hotel itself, but the cafe downstairs is very handy, again with friendly staff.
We were overall very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel. However, there were one or two points that stopped our stay being perfect. Firstly, the road outside could be very noisy in the middle of the night - it seemed that the street cleaners passed six or seven times a night some nights. Secondly, the doors in the hotel were noisy: the handles and locks were stiff, and made a lot of noisy, which also added to the noise especially at night. For these two reasons, bring earplugs. Lastly, the room was rather small for three - even though we paid extra to have a third bed, it was not really big enough. We found it difficult to find space to store everything, and there was little room to move.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusymumBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 mi away
Marbella Inn
Marbella Inn
#43 of 69 in Marbella
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Puerta de Aduares
0.2 mi away
El Rodeo
El Rodeo
#39 of 69 in Marbella
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Marbella Playa Hotel
Marbella Playa Hotel
#28 of 69 in Marbella
1,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baviera
Hotel Baviera
#42 of 69 in Marbella
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Paco
Hostal Paco
#45 of 69 in Marbella
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Alfredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Alfredo

Address: Calle Portada 11, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range: $65 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Alfredo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Don Alfredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing