We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Claude Marbella
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm a frequent traveller and I have to say our stay at Hotel Claude was the most lovely experience that we have had. Désirée together with her staff is doing more than an excellent job to make the guests feel spoiled! THANK YOU Désirée <3

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glittmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    22
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
202
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nueva Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We actually live in Marbella and I decided to invite my wife to spend a night 'away' in the Old Town. Like most privately owned boutique hotels Hotel Claude has it's eccentricities but the shortcomings (few) are completely outnumbered by the positives. Not being able to park at the hotel might discourage some (our sat nav and yes we live in Marbella, was directing me to the wrong side of an impenetrable brick wall some distance away!). They shouldn't be discouraged but they should grab any available parking spot or use the multi-storey a short walk away. Our suite was absolutely charming and with a super view to the small plaza in front of the hotel to the north of the Old Town. The service was delightful and both personal yet unobtrusive. I'd requested a bottle of Albarino to be left in the room and it was very good indeed and produced by friends of the owners. A request for an iron & board (yes some of us like to dress up in Marbella!) resulted in my clothes being ironed and returned to the wardrobe. In short nothing was too much trouble. We asked for recommendations of things to do and places to go and this took us to Paco Jimenez in Orange Square for an amazing dinner experience. Drinks on the roof terrace before dinner and breakfast there in the morning were both really lovely experiences. I never give anyone ten out of ten but a strong nine for Hotel Claude and we've promised ourselves an 'anniversary' return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the principal suite - first floor facing the front. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyLee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Perfect place to stay in the old town of Marbella! Staff is very friendly and helpful and very caring Desiree makes you feel so welcome from beginning to end.
Lovely fresh and homemade breakfast on the roof terrace is very relaxing and you can pass an hour or two in the sun.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MarinaDomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are in Marbella, this is the place to stay. On the old part of the city, live in a divinely refurbished 1800 home. The staff are superb. They serve a great breakfast included with your reservation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Francesa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallinadepalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Claude for our first time in Marbella and it was everything we could have hoped for and more. Everything from the minute we walked into the door was so well done and well thought out. The room was very very clean - and I'm a harsh critic on cleanliness. The staff spoke perfect English. The breakfast was amazing and there were plenty of options. They are also very flexible about what time you want breakfast - and you should definitely have it up on the terrace with such beautiful views. The location is perfect. You have so many delicious little restaurants and tapas bars right outside the door, yet you're a quick walk to the beach. We would love to make it back to Marbella - and if we do we will absolutely stay at Hotel Claude. We would go as far as saying it was one of the best weekend trips we've had in Europe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel set in the old town of Marbella close to numerous restauarants, bars etc. A 10 minute walk to the beach. The room (Francesa) was spacious with excellent decor and furnishings. The bed is large and very comfortable. The bathroom is amazing but be mindful that it leads off the bedroom through an archway with no door, so is not entirely private. The hotel was spotless and service first class from all members of the team. There are no tea/coffe making facilities in the rooms but there are some located in a communal area. Dining room is delightful and the breakfast more than sufficient (fresh fruit, cereals, eggs. bacon. croissants). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Style and Luxury are words overused too often in the travel industry. The Hotel Claude has more to offer on the subject than just talk. This is a beautifully styled, seven bedroom historical hotel located in the heart of Old Town Marbella. It is so special, that I hesitate to tell anyone about it except very good friends. As other have said, the staff at Hotel Claude have a casual way of making you feel like the only guests in town. Take every recommendation they give you. I suspect that there is nothing that they would not or could not do for their guests. Nothing is too rushed or too much to ask, but every detail has been thoughtfully handled anyway and you just feel special. The bed and bedding are in a league of their own and that really does count. The lower level has a beautiful wishing well and intimate gathering areas all of which are covered by an atrium that allows natural light to highlight the restored features of the floors above. There is a roof-top escape that offers private, modest view of hills and sea and it is the perfect place to start your day or end your night. I would be willing to bet that this hotel and its' staff hold many secrets. If you are looking for a hint of well known guests past, you won't find it - but be sure, they are there. Hotel Claude is the secret of Marbella.

Room Tip: It's all about the bed, and Hotel Claude knows how to please. Best bedding for comfort and styl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
6.5 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claude Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claude Marbella

Property: Hotel Claude Marbella
Address: Calle San Francisco No. 5 | Casco Antiguo, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claude Marbella 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revamped Royal Townhouse Once the summer residence of Empress Eugenia de Montijo (Napoleon III´s wife), Hotel Claude Marbella is a 17th- century townhouse that has been revamped and restyled to meld authentic period features with modern design, setting a new benchmark in the boutique-is- beautiful league of southern Spanish hotels. This latest chic retreat takes its name from the late Claude Devoize, the French Opera singer, whose home this townhouse was back in the 70s and 80s, hosting endless soirees and cultural gatherings. The focus of Hotel Claude is its marble-flagged patio and its unique romantic roof terrace, overlooking the bustling old town of Marbella. The seven rooms, divided into 6 Superior Deluxe Rooms and 1 Suite, have been designed individually and each boasting their own unique personality and feel, though all come equipped with the latest in comfort and technology. The Suite Francesca is the only room that looks out onto the old town’s main street. A large balcony and a huge floor-to-ceiling window keep it bright and airy, and the high, wood-beamed ceilings and decorative arch leading to the minimalist mosaic-fitted bathroom create a sense of spaciousness. All 6 Superior Deluxe Rooms are located to the back of the building, overlooking neighbouring patios and roofs. Up in the eaves, The Flamand room overlooks the roof terrace and has its own private stairwell leading up to a smart loft-style studio with glossy oak floors and a semi-open-plan bathroom. Listening to the church chime outside and looking out over the steeple, you feel like a princess in a tower. Savannah and North African-themed Marroqui are joined by a courtyard, making them ideal for families or friends travelling together. Small properties can sometimes feel stifling, but not here, and the design incorporates a flurry of velvet, purples, reds and cream colours. Once the a la carte breakfast has been served on the roof terrace or the black and white themed “bijou” style dining room, guests are left to their own devices. Focusing on showing guests a slice of the old Marbella, in addition to the Costa del Sol´s beaches and golf courses, Hotel Claude emphasises on slowing down and enjoying the surroundings. You´d be hard-pressed to find a retreat as slick or private as The Claude anywhere in Marbella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Claude Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing