We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an exceptional welcome, in elegant surroundings...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Claude Marbella
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“an exceptional welcome, in elegant surroundings...”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We have only just returned from the Hotel Claude, in Marbella - and we really have had the most lovely time. The owners are all charming, and nothing is too much trouble for them, to make your stay special...it is not like a hotel in fact, it was so much more - we really felt like we were incredibly welcome guests, staying in a family home.
We loved it.
And Old Town Marbella is charming, even if Puerto Banus is not.
We saw authentic Flamenco dancing, and have eaten in lovely restaurants, and met some lovely people along the way. And today, with an extremely elongated check out time, we have had the pleasure of whiling away the day on the roof terrace, in the sun, reading. Magnificent.
Do go - if you want to feel extra special.

Room Tip: You must ask Desi for recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caribbeanfan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    22
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
202
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We loved this interesting & historical hotel which is ideally situated within walking distance of lots of restaurants, bars and shops in the quaint Old Town yet is very quiet so you get a good nights sleep! The room (Oriental) was wonderfully large with extra comforts eg ipod docking etc and the cleanest I've stayed in. The breakfast menu was perfect; the freshest continental style plus eggs anyway you like and was served on the small but well thought out roof terrace. The staff were extremely helpful; Desiree greeted us in style with a glass of cava and organised our taxi transfer from airport as well as booking tables at restaurants - all done with a smile too! We wanted a quiet short break out of UK but not too far, staying in affordable luxury boutique hotel and ability to walk to good restaurants in pretty location - Hotel Claude delivered on all aspects and we even had warm sunshine in March!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs-WT-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We arrived to a very friendly welcome from Desiree. That welcome continued through the service we received through the whole stay - quite simply the hotel team could not do enough for us - from booking restaurants, to breakfast literally served whenever we wanted it, tending to the odd medical emergency, and just always being available with a friendly smile and quick unobtrusive chat about life. This is a family run hotel which has a very chic feel. We stayed in the Francesca room which contained one of the largest and most comfortable beds we have ever stayed in. Despite being at the front of the house, we were able to lock ourselves away from the world and overslept on more than one occassion.
This hotel was recommended to us through Mr and Mrs Smith, so we were confident we'd get a cool, boutique hotel. What we didn't expect was such a warmth and hospitality throughout the stay. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLynden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

When we couldnt find hotel, Desiree came and got us, let us use her car parking
space, which im sure isnt the norm.

I had an awful cough and was treated with honey lemon and ginger which was so
nice.

Desiree is very kind and accomodating, i appreciate all her help with anything, eg
Restaurants Casanis gorgous french bistro 2 mins away from hotel.
Zozoi at the back of the Church not as cosy with all tables nearly touching but none
he less food really good, and english speaking girls.

Hotel Claude in a quant cobbled street, near the church flowers everywhere and coffee
and tapas bars around, very close to orange square, lots of shops on main road,

Hotel offers spa ammenties on the beach front about a 20mins walk.

Had a brillant time, loved the rood terrace too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

This was our second stay at Hotel Claude in the last 18 months and this time we stayed with our 5 months old son for 6 nights! We had an absolut brilliant time in this wonderful place! Desi and Hanna made sure we also had the the most relaxing time ever!
I do believe this is the way a boutique hotel should be....... ! Staying here feels like staying at a friends home, very personal, very warm and very caring!
We shall be back.................soon!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joop_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontevedra/osaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

A big thanks to Desi, Franz and their team who made us feel more than at home away from home. We had just left another Marbella hotel 4 days early as we were not made very welcome with the kids. Hotel Claude was recommended to us by my best friend who had spent her honeymoon there. When we entered this gorgeous building we were scared because we had our two (sometimes)noisy children with us and the place was just stunning. Very traditional spanish building with all the modern comfort. We had booked a superior deluxe room with an extra sofa bed for one of the kids but we got an upgrade and an extra room free of charge just for the girls. The attention to detail and attention to our kids was amazing. It´s not a typical children´s hotel I would say but we sure were made feel part of Dési´s and Franz´s family. Hannah who served amazing breakfast (more like brunch) every morning also made a special cake for the girls one day. We even got a free baby sitting the last night. Dési is the best host and nanny in town! In short: simply family-fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuko71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

What can I say…. avoid giving your credit card to these rogues. They asked for our credit cards as Identification and once home I got my bank statement through and they had taken money from my account as well as my Sisters account even though we paid up in full with Euro's when we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank zed38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Claude M, General Manager at Hotel Claude Marbella, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We have no interest in overcharging guests as we would not like that to happen to us neither!
The reason we charged an extra amount to your credit card was simply because an item was missing from the room when you checked out.
When you checked in you or your sister signed the form which said that if guests would like to purchase any items they would just have to let us know but if they did not let us know and items were missing we understand that people want to purchase them and charge their credit card. This note was signed by you or your sister (the person who provided the credit card) and before charging the card we did sent out a letter asking if you actually wanted to purchase the item or if it was packed by mistake. As we had no reply, we proceeded to charge the card a month after you had checked out. The bank received a copy of your signed document and hence we did not have to reemburse the money which in my opinion does not make us "rogues".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
6.5 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claude Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claude Marbella

Property: Hotel Claude Marbella
Address: Calle San Francisco No. 5 | Casco Antiguo, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claude Marbella 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revamped Royal Townhouse Once the summer residence of Empress Eugenia de Montijo (Napoleon III´s wife), Hotel Claude Marbella is a 17th- century townhouse that has been revamped and restyled to meld authentic period features with modern design, setting a new benchmark in the boutique-is- beautiful league of southern Spanish hotels. This latest chic retreat takes its name from the late Claude Devoize, the French Opera singer, whose home this townhouse was back in the 70s and 80s, hosting endless soirees and cultural gatherings. The focus of Hotel Claude is its marble-flagged patio and its unique romantic roof terrace, overlooking the bustling old town of Marbella. The seven rooms, divided into 6 Superior Deluxe Rooms and 1 Suite, have been designed individually and each boasting their own unique personality and feel, though all come equipped with the latest in comfort and technology. The Suite Francesca is the only room that looks out onto the old town’s main street. A large balcony and a huge floor-to-ceiling window keep it bright and airy, and the high, wood-beamed ceilings and decorative arch leading to the minimalist mosaic-fitted bathroom create a sense of spaciousness. All 6 Superior Deluxe Rooms are located to the back of the building, overlooking neighbouring patios and roofs. Up in the eaves, The Flamand room overlooks the roof terrace and has its own private stairwell leading up to a smart loft-style studio with glossy oak floors and a semi-open-plan bathroom. Listening to the church chime outside and looking out over the steeple, you feel like a princess in a tower. Savannah and North African-themed Marroqui are joined by a courtyard, making them ideal for families or friends travelling together. Small properties can sometimes feel stifling, but not here, and the design incorporates a flurry of velvet, purples, reds and cream colours. Once the a la carte breakfast has been served on the roof terrace or the black and white themed “bijou” style dining room, guests are left to their own devices. Focusing on showing guests a slice of the old Marbella, in addition to the Costa del Sol´s beaches and golf courses, Hotel Claude emphasises on slowing down and enjoying the surroundings. You´d be hard-pressed to find a retreat as slick or private as The Claude anywhere in Marbella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Claude Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing