We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap prices and perfect location/atmosphere!”
Review of Hostal El Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal El Gallo
Ranked #9 of 36 Marbella B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent location (in the centre of Marbella), 8 min waliking from the sea side and very friendly personal.
We had a double room at the last floor (2rd), with a nice balcony and an air conditioning.
In other words, great service and for convenient prices :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego B, Gerente at Hostal El Gallo, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión , para nosotros también ha sido muy grata su visita.
esperamos volver a verlos de nuevo pronto.
Un abrazo
Diego y Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 86 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have just come back from El Gallo after having a wonderful week. This Hostel is welcoming very clean and staff helpful We had Bedroom 6 - double room with a terrace which was wonderful in the evening to have a drink it was like being Mary Poppin`s amongst the chimney pots - They also has a good restaurant well worth a visit for tea and breakfast
When arrived into Malaga get the bus to Marbella which is a cheap transfer which takes you straight to the bus station, then get a taxi about 5 euros to the old town, they will drop you off and its a short walk to the Hostal El Gallo , if I can do it anyone can .
Marbella front has a wonderful walk way all the way to Puerto Banus, we hired bikes for the day which was great especially when the sun shone, got to Puerto Banus and put the bikes with a chain in a bike store.
Marbella has many lovely restaurants on the front so many to choose from, our favourite beach bar was " The Palms " which did great salads and a cold beer.
Then in the evening Medium Rare in the old town, and across from there they do a fabulkous Sangri the best I have drunk. The best place for Football and all sports " The Tavern " the host there were great with plenty of chat worth a visit.
We found the Old Town great fun as there were so many restaurants in little street tucked away with little bars we never made it to all of them ??.
If you like shopping the Old Town has plenty of shops.
Well worth a visit and we will be back to El Gallo again , give it a try but book early.

Room Tip: Try and get Room ^ this one has the Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WirralGabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed at El Gallo many times and every time I find some very simple improvements made to make my visit more comfortable. This time dispensers for soap and separate shampoo had been added in the showers= additional lighting in the room and a really good breakfast menu ranging from the famous English bacon /egg/toast / coffee/orange juice to a simple continental style meal=all for a very good price. The standard of food/cleanliness in the hostal is magnificent and the whole family are most kind and make the stay a most pleasant experience. I am greatly looking forward to my next stay. Many thanks guys!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony186276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hostal is really nice! The location is great - in a quiet street in the old town of the city - close to the restaurants, but quiet small street near the old castle.
The rooms are comfortable, ours even had a nice terrace (but be careful, as the low door gave us head bumps).
The owner is also very kind and assisted us in finding the best place to park our car (this is impossible on the street before the hostal, as it is really small).
The rooms are equipped with TV, good wi-fi connection, comfortable bathroom.
The beach is 10-minute walk from the hostal, through the charming small streets of the old town!
I would definitely recommend this hostal, especially if you plan a short 1 or 2-nights visit in Marbella, as it offers perfect location to feel the atmosphere of the old town and a great value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Located very near the old town centre, very quiet road, very comfortable room and clean. Was a birthday and anniversary and we were surprised to receive a bottle of cava. Certainly recommend this hostal and would definitely return.

Room Tip: One with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toodunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We prolonged our stay twice. This is an honest place. The owners and staff are very kind and accommodating people. The hostal is clean and tidy. It is located in a very charming street with traffic limitation in the old-town of Marbella. The hostal offers excellent value for money. The attached restaurant is simple but good. We ate there several times during our stay and enjoyed it a lot. We would always stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelix-BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel was located in the old town, which was charming, compared to the surrounding area that is your typical Costa del Sol conglomeration of high rises and crowds. It was about a 15 minute walk to the water and promenade. The room was nice and roomy. The bathroom was nice but small and had a shower stall. There was a large balcony with a table, chairs and a laundry line. The room had a desk, chair, bureau, large closet, hot water and coffee maker, and tv. There is free street parking a couple of blocks away. Some minor complaints we had included the fact that there was not a lot of lighting in the bedroom. Also, it was hard to find because the street it's on is closed to cars, so gps will get you close but still a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Pension Aduar
Pension Aduar
#7 of 36 in Marbella
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Boutique Tribeca
B&B Boutique Tribeca
#1 of 36 in Marbella
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#3 of 36 in Marbella
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Town House
The Town House
#4 of 36 in Marbella
171 reviews
6.6 mi away
My Villa Alexandra Marbella
7.2 mi away
El Nacar
El Nacar
#16 of 36 in Marbella
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Gallo

Address: Calle Lobatas 46, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Marbella
Price Range: $63 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal El Gallo 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal El Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing