We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but was expecting more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Mariola Marbella
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Torquay UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but was expecting more!”
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Marina Mariola has an excellent location right on the sea front, it is clean, secure and pushes most of the right buttons as previous reviewers have noted. But I felt disappointed in some respects. We travelled with my elderly parents so my wife and I were in the second bedroom which is poorly ventilated. The beds in that room were uncomfortable and only suitable for children or early teens. The Air Conditioning in the room was we felt unacceptable but our holiday company checked it out and said that the system was working normally - I don't know how anyone during the summer could sleep there comfortably. The TV only has Spanish channels no English stations in our apartment - not a problem to us but my Dad is disabled and would have liked to have been able to watch TV in the evening. Although we were fortunate to have received a 2 bedroom apartment for the price of a 1 bed you are paying a premium price for a product that compares unfavorably with other apartments we have rented elsewhere in the past. You are paying a premium for the five star location. It is a 8 - 10 minute walk to Marbella on the promenade and more than 40 minutes to Puerto Banus. We rented through Marbella Options, we were met on arrival by Monica who was a star - she did her best to sort out our problems over a bank holiday weekend, brought us an electric kettle, an AC unit for the second bedroom, and personally carried a spare bed up to the apartment for my wife. She could not have been more helpful - Carolina also had a look at our problem with the AC and TV - she sorted out the TV reception but there was nothing could be done re the AC. We enjoyed the pool and it was wonderful to have our breakfast on the terrace every morning in the lovely sunshine. Yes we had a good time, Yes Marina Mariola is in a fantastic location, but we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 64waterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pacific palisades,CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Breakfasts on the veranda with stunning views, walks along the boardwalk to many restaurants, fantastic location near the center of town. Our kids (ages 12 and 9) loved the huge swimming pool. We loved that the building had a lifeguard on duty so we didn't have to be on duty ourselves (he also made sure they didn't get too noisy so as not to disturb other guests). Our unit had an extensive collection of DVD's (you can change language selection). We had a 2 story unit on the '-1' level which was extremely comfortable (a/c, maid service every day except Sunday). Our only complaint with the unit was that the mattresses were not very comfortable. Rumor has it the unit we stayed in was for sale for more than 2 million euros! There is no reason to stay in a hotel when you can stay here.

We live near the beach in California so the beaches themselves were nothing spectacular by our measure but the pulse of the Marbella lifestyle was great with the many chiringuitos on the beach to have lunch or dinner of fantastic seafood with sangria. We also took a day trip to Grenada (about 1-1/2 each way) as well as visiting nearby Puerto Banus with it's fancy yachts and shops. We also took a trip up to Ronda but the extremely windy road made us all sick and it took much longer than we anticipated to get there (1 hour +...it felt like the curves would never end). Don't miss Orange Square for dinner ~ we didn't discover it until the last night. After Marbella we went to Sevilla which was approx. 2 hour drive and fantastic ~ don't miss it!

We would definitely book into the Marina Mariola again if we return to Marbella. We have very fond memories of a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carobritravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed at the Marina Mariola for a week in July 08 with my husband and our two daughters (aged 21 & 19) in a two bedroom duplex beachfront apartment which is absolutely stunning with amazing views. We couldn't fault the location, within walking distance of Marbella town where we ate out frequently (lots of lovely restaurants) and a short drive to Porto Banus where the girls enjoyed the clubs! On arrival in our hire car we were shown to our own underground parking space and then shown around the apartment, asked if everything was ok and that if we needed anything else to just ask. Everything in the apartment was perfect, extremely clean (maid service daily) decor and furnishings lovely. Sunbeds always available around the outdoor pool, nothing at all to complain about. We would definitely consider returning to these apartments for a future holiday. Very relaxing and a real home from home, with every amenity you could wish for.

  • Liked — view and location
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank L-H-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleborough
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2008

Stayed 4 nights in a 2 bedroom duplex apartment with husband and 2 friends. After reading the other reviews we expected the apartment to be good but when we opened the door the views out over the pool and to the sea took our breath away. The furnishings were first class and the balcony furniture was fantastic. The sound of the sea was very relaxing.

.We hired a car from the airport which cost £72 for a Ford Fiesta estate for 4 days and on arrival at the complex Carolina showed us to our designated spaces in the underground car park.We found this really great as on previous visits to Marbella parking has been a nightmare.She then showed us around the apartment and answered any questions we had.We found her very helpfull.

The complex was very secure and kept spotlessly clean as was our apartment.There were pleanty of restaurants within walking distance-we especially like da Pina an Italian pizzaria with a fantastic man playing the harp.(turn left and walk down the prom. for about 5 mins.) We also visited a restaurant called Robbies in Estapona-well worth a visit for its great food and unusual decor-covered in photos of 40s filmstars.

It was too cold to use the pools but they looked very well maintained and the gym was good if you wanted to work off some of those extra calories gained at dinner time!

We would certainly visit here again and would recommend them to anyone who wants to be near all the action of Marbella but who wants to stay in an upmarket, quiet complex.

  • Liked — position, furnishings,comfort
  • Disliked — having to leave!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettylittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My first 5 star review...it will be hard to find an apartment to top this one both internally and externally. First externally...wonderful, high end structure on a reasonably private beach...two swimming pools to chose from and a great jacuzzi...all in the right place. The view from the apartment is straight first of the pool followed by a view of the ocean...difficult to beat.

Now internally...immaculately furnished and nothing less than a presidential suite of an apartment so well kitted out all the way down to the selection of the beach towels and the cutlery. We found everything that we were looking for and a lot of things that we were not looking for as well.

I find it surprising to see the ranking on tripadvisor...the only explanation I can understand is that its a secret that no one knows about!!! There I've let it out.

  • Liked — Mostly everything
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

These appartments were excellent. We had a 1 bedroom duplex with full sea view.
We booked through Marbella Options, service from them was inconsistent, very helpful at the start, sorting out very minor niggles, then the rep Carolina disappeared towards the end of the week. Even though there was a promise she'd be there between 09.00 - 15.00 every day bar Sunday.
They'd book a taxi for 105Euro each way. We paid 75 there and 66 back - your choice.
It had everything you'd need: dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washer, dryer, M/W, cooker, hob, ironing board, iron, hairdryer, jacuzzi bath, guest W.C. big beach towels, lots of seating (see photos)
Downstairs to the bedroom, loads of hanging space, big bathroom.
The bedroom was on the same level as the pool, the balcony overlooked it.
We both slept like babies. Although I would advise getting extra pillows as the "one" supplied was about as comfortable as 2 sheets of A4 stuck together !!
Maid service good, and you can choose your time, which is nice.
T.V. - BBC World, CNN, German Eurosport, and Spanish channels.
Like I said in the title, when sitting on the balcony overlooking the Med with the waves crashing on the shore, there's few things better in our view.
Pool area, easily enough beds although the place wasn't full.
Indoor pool with jacuzzi and a quite well equipped Gym.
Out the appt on to the promenade, turn right there's not much, left any amount of eateries.
We found a good restaurant called Garum (can't miss it red chairs, black tables quite near the lighthouse, which incidentally is amongst the hotels on the front) quite expensive but excellent attentive and friendly service. Super meals, we went there twice.
About 300 metres past the Lighthouse there's a fantastic Indian restaurant - great food.
Supermarkets - El Corte Inglais, one right on the promenade, another on the main road, this was bigger therefore more choice, Both equidistant from the appt.
Lovely relaxing holiday, like being home from home, but with sunshine.

  • Liked — Balcony and view over the Med.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG&DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbellaoptions, Director at Marina Mariola Marbella, responded to this review, September 28, 2007
At Marbella Options, we love to hear from our clients and we also make sure we respond to all of them.

In this case, our guest was 100% right. Our young lady onsite Carolina was absent. Unfortunately she had a family emergency and had to rush off for a few days. We agree that it was an issue that noone replaced her, but Marina Mariola is not a hotel .... it is a beautiful apartment complex with some hotel services. Therefore we did not replace her in the office but rather left a phone number for our main offices (about 5 mins away).

As to to the taxi, again the guest is correct - our cars are more expensive. However, we send chauffeur driven cars (usually high end Mercedes) with english speaking drivers who help our guests with their luggage and meet them inside the arrivals hall.

I hope this has cleared up any confusion and I am available to answer any queries that may arise.

Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

My husband, myself and our two sons aged 16 and 14 stayed for 7 days at the Marina Mariola. We booked it through a company called Marbella Options, and I must say we are already considering booking for next year.
The apartments are situated right across the road from the beach. The apartment we were in had a beautiful sea view. It was perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine or a coffee at any time of the day. It also overlooked the pool area which was always very quiet with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas available ( no reserving sunbeds). It also had a heated indoor pool and gym.
The apartments themselves were exceptionally equipped with a fully fitted kitchen. A beautiful sitting room ,2 bedrooms both with ensuites. I must say that it was like home from home. The only one compliant we has was that the bed was a little too solid, but obviously this was a personal preferance.
If you want a kids club for children I would not recommend this accomadation, but if you want an extra bit of luxury and are prepared to pay a bit extra this accomadation is worth every Euro.
The situation of the apartments was within a few minutes walk to shops, restaurants, cinema the town centre ( shopping galore)and orange square with all its restaurants.
Marbella is a great place to visit and you are within 5 kilometers of Puerto Banus with all the designer shops and expensive youghts. You can Look! There are still affordable restaurants and shops in Puerto Banus. Restaurant prices in this part of Spain are not much different to home ( a little bit cheaper) but its lovely to sit on the street facing the sea and watch the world go by.
This is our second time to visit Marbella. We will be back!!!


  • Liked — Luxury and its situation in marbella town
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank noeleen-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.8 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#33 of 70 in Marbella
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardines Del Mar Apartments
Jardines Del Mar Apartments
#53 of 70 in Marbella
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,720 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Mariola Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Mariola Marbella

Property: Marina Mariola Marbella
Address: Calle Pepe Carleton 1 | Edificio Marina Mariola, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Class apartments in one of the most exclusives buildings in town. Best location in town,just 20 meters to the seaside and within walking distance to the old town and 5 minutes driving to Puerto Banus marina. Top class furnished and fully fitted. Daily cleaning available. 2 Parking spaces. 24 Hours security. The complex features one of the most beautiful pools in the area,heated pool,jacuzzi,gym. Enjoy Marbella with the privacy of an apartment with 5 stars hotel accomodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marina Mariola Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Mariola Marbella Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing