We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
269 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A lovely place to escape”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in the Khao Lak room for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are comfortable with everything you would expect from a boutique hotel/B&B, but what makes this special is the staff and the relaxing atmosphere. We needed assistance with parking in Marbella, things to see and reconfirming tours on the next part of our trip and nothing was too much trouble. Mercedes loves people and is a joy to talk to during breakfast.

What we also loved was the lovely grounds and relaxing atmosphere to laze around in the afternoon. It was so relaxing by the pool, with both shade and sun options to spend the afternoon with a great view of the coast.

A tip: you really need a car as it is a 10 minute drive into the town centre. Parking is easy outside the hotel, but without a car you will be reliant on taxis.

Room Tip: The Khao Lak room had great views with a lovely small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    26
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
254
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A boutique hotel with a personal approach in the context of a private villa. Personalised breakfast, tranquility of the Marbella heights, cleanliness and top service are the key ingredients of this unique experience.
Don't hesitate to book a room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was in search of a small, intermit and luxurious boutique hotel that offers a warm welcome; Marbella Heights really is Marbella’s best kept secret! I found this beautiful hotel online and was pleasantly surprised by what I had found. I booked two nights in the Pantay garden room and wanted the hotel to know it was a special stay for my partner and that our stay was a surprise. The hotel staff could not have done anymore to ensure our stay was perfect. Prior to our arrival the email correspondence between the staff and myself was first class and the manner in which they conducted themselves really did set the bar and I couldn’t wait to arrive. Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne. The calmness and tranquillity of the hotel and the views were just amazing and I knew I had found my little piece of heaven. We were told we had two upgrades during our stay, and the second night we were to stay in the suite! The first night we were upgraded to the Java room which was lovey. The second night we had the pleasure of suite Mandara, wow……this was just fabulous and couldn’t believe the luxury and the size of the balcony. Sat night we decided to have dinner on our balcony, this was very much private dining with a difference. The hotel having just five rooms provides an exclusive stay. The East Asian theme throughout the hotel is part of the reason I chose to stay – it has calmness about it and the décor is to a very high standard, they have spared nothing and the attention to detail is flawless. The Owner Mercedes and the Manager Maria (both wonderful people and feel blessed to have met) and the small team of staff really did tend to our every need and their friendly and warm approach made our stay extra special. One of the best hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in and a weekend away we will certainly not forget!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, however if you want to reallt splash out and have the best, save your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Quite simply one of the most beautiful relaxing Hotels i have ever stayed in. Should be called be called, Elysium, " A place of perfect happiness " Can't wait to go back. The owners and staff where equally perfect and made us both feel like part of the family. Besso Grande to you xxx I have just read a review from Eileen M. Whilst everyone is of course entitled to there opinion please please disregard almost everything she said! This lady just didn't get it!!! If you want to relax book this hotel now and feel the real vibe for yourself if you don't get it you should stick to 3 star or maybe the travel lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in this amazing boutique hotel. We were greeted with a glass of champagne and smiles from the staff. The overall service was one of the best and personal we have had so far. Its not a large chain hotel, so dont expect a corporate feel. It is a Spanish family run hotel which gives it a very personal warm touch. We had a formidable view from our room, we enjoyed the swimming pool, the honesty bar, the jacuzzi and playing golf next door. We are highly recommending it to all our friend and look forward to returning there.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvanvloten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Alemania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I found it on the internet by chance, and I have to say that after having spent a week in this wonderful hotel, , I have no words to describe how beautiful was the place, and how charming the views. The room was perfectly well decorated, the staff so thoughtful, and the common areas very cosy. I truly recomend it to everyone who want to spend some relaxing days in the south coast of Spain, in the beauty village of Marbella.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderbar101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

First and foremost, this is hard to write as Mercedes the owner is a wonderful lady and has really tried to create a beautiful hotel experience. However, she can't do this alone and it shows up (badly) if you are unfortunate enough to stay when she isn't in attendance 24/7. I am writing this for the people who make the error of booking this hotel as a luxury stay - particularly if you travel alone or would like to enjoy restful days without having to travel to the town at expense.

I booked the Marbella Heights as a real treat for a few days of R&R following my hen do with 20 girls so the descriptions on here sounded ideal - spa, great service, beautiful rooms, pool. I had been staying at the Blue Bay Banus (VERY good for the money by the way - cannot fault that hotel in Puerto Banus) but wanted some luxury before returning to the UK.

The website is misleading as this is an ok experience, not a luxury one. I must stress this is not unpleasant (apart from the food) but it is just an adequate level of hotel stay. It is not dreadful - the staff are very sweet - but NOT worth the high prices by any stretch of the imagination.

The rooms are very small (ie - my shins still bear the brunt of the bed stead as I continually bashed them as the bed really takes up the whole room so there is little room to move about). There are no japanese toiletries, there are some cheap brand spanish bits and bobs in the bathroom(was told the website was really old and I shouldn't really read into that...!!). The bathroom itself is very basic.

The beds were presented beautifully on arrival, then just turned down for the rest of my stay.

The 'honesty bar' is a nice touch if it was stocked - there wasn't even ice and never any water. No red wine for the entire stay.

The breakfast is quite good (not briliant and not 5*) but the rest of the food is HORRIFIC. I really can't stress that enough. Do not plan to stay in the hotel for an evening meal or lunch (the disadvantage to this I will go on to as the hotel is MILES from any other options) For eg a 'goats cheese salad' is essentially a bag of iceberg lettunce thrown into a bowl with bits of goats cheese melted under the grill on top (it was truly horrid)

The hotel is NOT near Marbella and not near the beach. On my own I had to pay 40 euros there and back to go to a tapas bar in the old town (as I was desperate for some non Marbella Heights food). There is no place you can stroll to. So remember - you are in a B&B and without a car a bit stranded or subject to taxi drivers charging you heavily for having to come up into the hills....

I was there to relax so wanted to stay in the grounds of the hotel for the day - however I was sat in a mess of glasses and bottles and old plates for an entire afternoon and evening one day that noone cleared. At these prices you'd expect better.

The ambience was lacking - the first day (when Mercedes was present) I was offered drinks, music was piped through the building and it felt pleasant. It was silent and serviceless the rest of the three days I stayed.

Now, Mercedes took feedback on board and did make compensation for my stay on the bill.This hotel is probably worth about 100 euros a night - but certainly not 230 euros.

I just think the reviews on here are out of date and misleading in many respects.

There is a lovely pool (not heated so couldn't attempt to swim it was so cold!) and a pretty view. It would be wonderful to have staff offering some decent service in the daytime so you can enjoy it. If you are literally staying here for breakfast and getting up and going out for the day this is an ok option for your holiday. If you want to enjoy the actual hotel it is not.

Huge apologies to Mercedes as she is truly lovely - but this is NOT an option hotel if you are alone, want to enjoy a stroll or walk to a nice bar or two, and not at all an option if you wish to dine near your bed in the evening without a big taxi bill.

Room Tip: I would say only the suite would count as a luxury experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.5 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel

Property: The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Address: Balcon del Golf, Parcela 97 urbanizacion Golf Rio Real, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#7 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marbella Heights is a 1000 square meter Luxury Villa, with incredible panoramic views both the mountains and the Mediterranean sea. Decorated and furnished in fine Asian Style.Our Hotel comprises 4 Luxurious guest Rooms and 1 Suite, all are individually decorated, and all are fully equipped.The Marbella Heights Hotel is a place where you can book simply a room, or even you can hold the whole hotel to celebrate a special occasion, as aniversaries , small convention groups , friends groups or couples , VIP guests, etc.A relaxing place where you can enjoy an anti-stress weekend, playing in some of the famous golf courses we have in the area, with absolutely exclusivity, offering a high standard service and the most exclusively personal attention to our guests.Our dedicated and professional reception team will take care of your needs 24 hours a day. They will be happy to assist in providing accurate and precise information about Marbella and its surroundings, we can give some suggestions for nice restaurants to have dinner, including some of the most famous star Michelin restaurant’s in the area, a choice of night-life places and excursions worth to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing