We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude bar staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely rude bar staff”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The bar is advertised as 2.00am closing time but this is clearly not the case. On arriving at the hotel at 12.50 we were refused drinks as they shut the bar when it suits them and not the customer. They wanted us to order room service at an extra rate and they wouldn't let us drink them at the hotel bar. The night bar staff really let down the daytime hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emsybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    298
    150
    80
    46
See reviews for
164
397
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

On the face of it this is a lovely hotel. It's tucked away from all the mayhem in a quiet corner on the outskirts of Marbella near to Puerto Banus. The location is good right on the sand. It's clean, it's functional and it works BUT it's not special and is pretty outdated. The decor isn't decor, I can't remember what my room looked like because it was so bland. The plus points are a great top floor with suites that include two terraces and a jacuzzi. This adds the wow factor with lots of space and great views. The car parking is ridiculous, luckily we had a hire care but I wouldn't be able to drive my car into it. There is no space so if you have anything bigger than a smart car it's impossible to get in and out. At £15 euros per day it's hardly a bargain either. We ordered room service and the food was average at best. All in all nice hotel, bit pricey but in keeping with the location. Go there if money isn't an object. There is a MOET bar downstairs by the beach, a lovely pool area with swim up bar and nice beachside restaurants. We stay here because the positives outweight the negatives. If I wanted true value for money I'd go elsewhere though.
I'm sure we'll return. Go but be realistic about what to expect!!!

Room Tip: Top floor suites having large private terraces with a jacuzzi. Great for couples or groups alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0el_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a four night girlie get away and it couldn't have been better!!!! Our rooms were lovely with a huge balcony however the sea view needed you to crane your neck a little.
It's a little out of season so it was quiet but perfect for us, fantastic swim up bar and lovely bar staff. Would recommend the Sangria :)) nice lunch snacks available by the pool and plenty of loungers with towels provided.we went for half board for convenience and so glad we did as the food was superb quality with outstanding service. Breakfast is an amazing selection, order your eggs first!!
A ten minute stroll from Ocean Club and a further five minutes to Puerto Banus so superbly located! Beach is gorgeous and the hotel is located right on it. Met some really fantastic people

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrennyDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
731 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Most reviews are correct , this is not a 5* hotel . But in Spain , 5* hotels that you expect in London or Paris for example are "5* deluxe" , like Marbella Club , Puenta Romano or Don Pepe in Marbella . Just look at the price difference and clientele , this hotel is very good value . You cannot get a proper 5* for the price you pay here ! Before complaining think about what you pay , it is cheap !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in a Superior Deluxe room for 1 night. The room was large and well-appointed, but not particularly clean. The terrace was spectacular - great views and comfy seating. The lighting in the room was problematic - from confusing light switches beside the bed to the bathroom light which came on full-blast whenever the door was opened (very unpleasant). The receptionist at arrival, although very pleasant, had difficulty finding our reservation and even sent us to a restaurant on the property that was closed that day. The hotel would be spectacular with some tender loving care.
Please get very specific directions - there are no signs anywhere from the main road to the hotel itself, which is located well into a small street - almost impossible to find, especially at night.

Room Tip: Pool and ocean view rooms - great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vibrantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Oh dear! Our hotel room was shockingly bad! the decor is very dated, light switch hanging off the wall, shower head broken, bottom of bathroom door frame come away from the wall, wooden panel of door to main bedroom hanging out of the frame, scuffs and scratches on the desk, light bulb gone in bathroom. Despite all that , at least it is clean!
Surprised to find a very small bathroom with a shower above the bath. Apart from the fact the water kept changing temperature all the time it was not what I was used to or expecting from a 5* hotel. Considering i have recently been to the Sensatori 5*in Tenerife where we had a huge spacious room, big bathroom with separate rain shower, huge comfortable bed etc, the beds here are ok , not great, thin mattress , again not what you'd expect from a 5*.
We were half board , Breakfast was very good, lots of choice . Dinner is a set menu which doesn't change and is repetitive, by day 4 we were fed up with it and ended up skipping dinner. Don't expect much from the pool bar - toasted sandwich with plastic processed cheese squares!
Hotel is in a good location, nice 10-15 minute walk to Puerto Banus down the sea front. The staff are lovely and helpful,

Unfortunately it is very unlikely we would stay there again, it may have been worthy of 5 stars 20 years ago but the room was just too tired and dated. A lot of money and very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Always stay in five star hotels, stayed at don pepe two months ago and guadalpin in marbella a couple of years ago. Pesonally think stars are handed out too generously in this area.
Booked deluxe junior suite with rooftop terrace.
THE GOOD. roof top terrace is fantastic, one of the best i have seen. Large balcony with lovely furniture and great veiws, wish the rest of the hotel was as good as this But its not.
Excellent location right on the beach, breakfast was nice enough but the usual wait for eggs and toast. (why only one person serving?)
The BAD. Room was average to say the least, no luxury or refinment at all. No Coffee machine, no tea making facilities, no turn down service, no pillow menu, no information in the room on breakfast times,Bathroom was below average for a five star hotel. No walk in shower, its above the small bath in a tiny corner, two threadbare bath towels, brown wood sink unit top that had seen better days, hope you get the picture nothing to suggest that its five star or worth the £400 plus per night.Beds are hard and pillows even harder
Pool area is basic and the kids pool is nothing more than a trough of water, sunbeds have no padding and did not see any sevice at all for a couple of days so we stayed on our terrace.
Limited sunbeds on the beach and uncomfortable. There are sunbeds right next to the hotels costing between 15 and 25 euros per day but they are more comfortable and there is waiter service. Not sure why a five star hotel does not provide this.
All in all the don pepe is far superior and if you want a more attractive hotel with the extras you expect in five star hotels you are better off there. If you want fantastic balcony and terrace but very average 3 star service then book a deluxe junior suite at guadalpin banus.
I do ask who on earth dishes the stars for some of these hotels and while we all have diferences of opinion surely there is a certain standard to maintain to achieve five star status.

Room Tip: Has to be deluxe junior suite with terrace, the full suite do not have the roof top terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,622 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,685 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,164 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
5.0 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

Property: Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Address: Calle Edgar Neville s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbeatable location. This beachfront resort is only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Puerto Banus. Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5* has 181 exclusive rooms decorated with noble materials & luxury finishings, offering splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea in an atmosphere of privacy and rest. You can also enjoy an exclusive and varied gastronomic offer in an idyllic setting: the sea front in Puerto Banus. High Cuisine Restaurants & exclusive Bars, Beach Club & Pool Bar, Fitness Centre & Sauna, Children playground, complimentary Wi-Fi, Meeting rooms will make of your stay the most exclusive and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing