We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, but not a 5* property. Impossible to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, but not a 5* property. Impossible to find”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in a Superior Deluxe room for 1 night. The room was large and well-appointed, but not particularly clean. The terrace was spectacular - great views and comfy seating. The lighting in the room was problematic - from confusing light switches beside the bed to the bathroom light which came on full-blast whenever the door was opened (very unpleasant). The receptionist at arrival, although very pleasant, had difficulty finding our reservation and even sent us to a restaurant on the property that was closed that day. The hotel would be spectacular with some tender loving care.
Please get very specific directions - there are no signs anywhere from the main road to the hotel itself, which is located well into a small street - almost impossible to find, especially at night.

Room Tip: Pool and ocean view rooms - great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vibrantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    296
    147
    80
    45
See reviews for
161
392
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Oh dear! Our hotel room was shockingly bad! the decor is very dated, light switch hanging off the wall, shower head broken, bottom of bathroom door frame come away from the wall, wooden panel of door to main bedroom hanging out of the frame, scuffs and scratches on the desk, light bulb gone in bathroom. Despite all that , at least it is clean!
Surprised to find a very small bathroom with a shower above the bath. Apart from the fact the water kept changing temperature all the time it was not what I was used to or expecting from a 5* hotel. Considering i have recently been to the Sensatori 5*in Tenerife where we had a huge spacious room, big bathroom with separate rain shower, huge comfortable bed etc, the beds here are ok , not great, thin mattress , again not what you'd expect from a 5*.
We were half board , Breakfast was very good, lots of choice . Dinner is a set menu which doesn't change and is repetitive, by day 4 we were fed up with it and ended up skipping dinner. Don't expect much from the pool bar - toasted sandwich with plastic processed cheese squares!
Hotel is in a good location, nice 10-15 minute walk to Puerto Banus down the sea front. The staff are lovely and helpful,

Unfortunately it is very unlikely we would stay there again, it may have been worthy of 5 stars 20 years ago but the room was just too tired and dated. A lot of money and very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Always stay in five star hotels, stayed at don pepe two months ago and guadalpin in marbella a couple of years ago. Pesonally think stars are handed out too generously in this area.
Booked deluxe junior suite with rooftop terrace.
THE GOOD. roof top terrace is fantastic, one of the best i have seen. Large balcony with lovely furniture and great veiws, wish the rest of the hotel was as good as this But its not.
Excellent location right on the beach, breakfast was nice enough but the usual wait for eggs and toast. (why only one person serving?)
The BAD. Room was average to say the least, no luxury or refinment at all. No Coffee machine, no tea making facilities, no turn down service, no pillow menu, no information in the room on breakfast times,Bathroom was below average for a five star hotel. No walk in shower, its above the small bath in a tiny corner, two threadbare bath towels, brown wood sink unit top that had seen better days, hope you get the picture nothing to suggest that its five star or worth the £400 plus per night.Beds are hard and pillows even harder
Pool area is basic and the kids pool is nothing more than a trough of water, sunbeds have no padding and did not see any sevice at all for a couple of days so we stayed on our terrace.
Limited sunbeds on the beach and uncomfortable. There are sunbeds right next to the hotels costing between 15 and 25 euros per day but they are more comfortable and there is waiter service. Not sure why a five star hotel does not provide this.
All in all the don pepe is far superior and if you want a more attractive hotel with the extras you expect in five star hotels you are better off there. If you want fantastic balcony and terrace but very average 3 star service then book a deluxe junior suite at guadalpin banus.
I do ask who on earth dishes the stars for some of these hotels and while we all have diferences of opinion surely there is a certain standard to maintain to achieve five star status.

Room Tip: Has to be deluxe junior suite with terrace, the full suite do not have the roof top terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for one week and thank god because I would have not stayed for another. We were half board and had dinner on the first two nights from the same menu, so decided to have lunch the next day and was handed the same menu again. We then decided to have lunch by the pool and have dinner in other restaurants and on leaving we were charged nearly €100eu for six sandwiches. The breakfast is not very good either they have one lady struggling to cope with cooking eggs in the morning as there are none on display you could be waiting up to 20 mins for an egg. The beds by the pool have no cushions on them and after a week on them you will have a bad back and sore bum. Any complaints made to staff were ignored. Location is not great you would definitely need a taxi to find this hotel. Would never go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jofromtheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I booked a superior double room but it was not to the standard I would expect a 5 star hotel to be. The room was tiny and in desperate need of decorating. The sinks in the bathroom were dark wood but had scratch marks everywhere and the shower flooded the bathroom after every shower. The telephone and safe wasn't working and when I complained about the phone they told me to use the one in the toilet. The battery was replaced on the safe but then wouldn't open again when i needed to get my stuff out! The cleaners did not take my dirty glasses and didn't provide me with any clean ones. The pool area is nice and the hotel is on a nice location on the beach. I've stayed in many hotels in puerto banus over the years and don't think I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ccarolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in July 2013 for a hen party and it was amazing. Right on the beach, near ocean club, always get a lounger (and there was 8 of us) and food was lovely.

We had a mix of suites and normal rooms they were really clean and had everything you needed. I can understand why ppl say it isn't a 5* but I thought it was great. A couple of negatives was that we had to repeat to the staff about 3 times that rooms had changed due to one girl dropping out and we had to keep proving to them on our paperwork that we were half board. Got quite annoying and they should just know on their system that we had paid for it.

Another thing is check your bill at the end of your visit. I was in a rush so just paid it and didn't check but there was some incorrect charges which I was a bit annoyed about.

This isn't a party hotel and I liked it like that, the bars are all within walking distance it's nice to come back to a quiet retreat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Humber-Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Reading a few previous reviews I was unsure what to expect but from the moment we met our hotel transfer car at Malaga airport I was pleasantly surprised. We arrived, checked in early and were able to head straight to the pool whilst they sorted out our room. The pool manager/lifeguard handed us towels and found us sunbeds by the pool edge. This is then where we spent the rest of our week, only leaving to take the short (15 minute amble) into the port along the beach front promenade for dinners and cocktails.

I would happily return again and would recommend for both couples and families

Room Tip: Room with a pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KR00123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
5.0 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

Property: Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Address: Calle Edgar Neville s/n | Nueva Andalucía, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbeatable location. This beachfront resort is only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Puerto Banus. Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5* has 181 exclusive rooms decorated with noble materials & luxury finishings, offering splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea in an atmosphere of privacy and rest. You can also enjoy an exclusive and varied gastronomic offer in an idyllic setting: the sea front in Puerto Banus. High Cuisine Restaurants & exclusive Bars, Beach Club & Pool Bar, Fitness Centre & Sauna, Children playground, complimentary Wi-Fi, Meeting rooms will make of your stay the most exclusive and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing