We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't bother. Rip off and horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Funny Beach

Funny Beach
Carretera Nacional 340, Km 184, Marbella, Spain
+34 95 2823359
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 80 things to do in Marbella
Attraction details
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wouldn't bother. Rip off and horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I came here because i wanted to visit all the beaches in Marbella and near my hotel. On arrival I was hounded by looky looky men who said come on fellow black man buy something. Uhh no I don't want your crappy fakes.
The prices of drinks at the bar were terrible and more expensive than Marbella's central beach in Marbella Town and the showers did not work and were dirty and un cleaned.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mrrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    26
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Funny Beach ..... Mmm?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Poor road acces to this beach, if you miss the turning it's a long drive around the block again, and when you leave the car park, it's a hairpin turn at the top of the steep hill - not ideal, if your in a mini bus !

A clean sandy beach with some sun beds and Unberellas available for hire at reasonable rates.
The beach has quite a steep incline going from 0-2 feet+ in a couple of steps ! - you need to watch little ones, as they could easily be out of their depth very quickly. Also the first 5-6 feet once in the water are stones and pebbles, but then it is mainly sandy on the feet.

This beach is mainly for water sports fans, jet ski's, jet bikes, boats, peddlos are the main attraction. Many were towed across the beach throughout the day from the car park, by a small jeep, which did get on our nerves a little. There is a marked off coridor in the sea, marked by a series of coloured bouys which all motorised boats to are to use, where swimmers should be safe to both sides, this was not adhered to when we visited, mainly by jet bikes, that seemed to think that everyone visiting the beach had gone there to watch them perform stunts - there noise and general foolishness made this a one and only visit for us !

There was, what seemed to be a well run go cart track - all ages and abilities were catered for, and this looked to be a good pastime with all that took part. There were also bungee Trapolines, and fresh water showers that didn't work!

For us..... a not so funny beach, but probably good for teenagers who could afford the expensive motorised sports available.


Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neale007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Poor service, expensive,
Food good but expensive, little amount not enough if hungry
careless staff all around

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice beach but a bit expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited Funny beach a few times on our holiday last month. Our boys 10 & 12 loved it. Nice beach and not too busy with lots of other attractions to try.
If you do try anything though it's not a cheap day out. You have to pay for parking 5 euros.
Jet ski's 50 euros for 15 minutes. Not cheap but average for in Marbella.
The inflatable trampoline was 10 euros i think for an hour.
There are also Pedalos and lots of watersports on offer so great if you have money to spare and want to do more than lay on the beach. There is also a small kiosk offering drinks and snacks.
No toilets and a shower to wash off your feet near the carpark.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trotter966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent a day on Funny Beach on Wednesday 14th August. My older daughters went on a pedalo with two of their friends which was 25 euros for the four of them. The hire was supposed to be for an hour but no one seemed to be clock watching! The beach is lovely, sandy with areas of shingle & peddles. There are sun loungers to hire and a little beach hut selling ice creams, cold drinks, buckets and spades, etc. The restaurant was busy but we were served with our lunch quickly, the food being very good. The kids took advantage of the arcade/trampolines/rides etc which were all reasonably priced apart from the go-carts which were quite expensive for only a 20 minute turn. The whole area is very well looked after, very clean and well maintained. Having driven there, parking was excellent - 5 euros which you can get back if you present your car park ticket at the restaurant. My only concern was the steep uphill drive to exit the beach and then the very sharp turn back onto the main road.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funny Beach also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Funny Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing