We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must for Marbella”
Review of The Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Town House
Ranked #4 of 31 Marbella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Must for Marbella”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

great boutique hotel. Park in parking garage which is less than 5 mins walk. Hotel on a pedestrian street and near a lot of restaurants/bars. Rooms are modern, clean with a nice Spanish touch in the bathrooms. lady at front desk is super friendly and helpful in recommending places to go and even helping us to check out accommodations for our stay in Jerez and Seville. Rooftop terrace is the reason I chose this place and that is a gem. Breakfast included is simple but delicious. fresh baguettes, cheese and meats and a great coffee! Oh... And it's a 10 min walk to the beach!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    40
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
95
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Whilst we nearly had a divorce trying to find this hotel, it was well worth the find! It is perfectly situated in the old part of Marbella in a narrow little lane off a small square. It is in walking distance of all we needed: the old part of Marbella, the Golden Mile, the promenade along the front etc. Caroline and Evita, our 2 lady managers, were simply delightful. Their warm and helpful personalities made our stay a delight. Always smiling and laughing, they recommended excellent restaurants, guided us for the shopping we needed (we were looking for furniture for our apartment) etc.

Our room was right at the top of the Town House and there was a little roof terrace we could have used but the weather was not warm enough. The room was comfortable and quirky. We really enjoyed it. Excellent continental breakfast.

We shall defnitely be back, no doubt bringing our daughters with us next time to enjoy the shopping!

The only thing we missed was the ability to make a cup of tea/coffee in the room. It would have been nice to have a cup of tea either when we got up in the morning or in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay at Town House and it was everything we were hoping for- charming, intimate, well-designed, and comfortable. The woman who runs the hotel is lovely and eager to help, and the food is very good. Definitely a great find for people who like charming boutique hotels. The only downside is the noise- it didn't bother us, but it's an old building with a central courtyard so be prepared for echos!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in Marbella and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Town House. It is ideally located in the old town - near to plenty of bars, the beach and restaurants. The staff were all friendly & very helpful and gave us lots of great tips of where to eat - including a lovely place for paella in Puerto Banus. Breakfast was tasty - serving a good variety of things. Our room was comfortable - perhaps we had one of the bigger ones judging by other people's reviews!! The only downside (which didn't really affect us as it was so quiet when we stayed) is the sound proofing and other people have mentioned that it can be quite noisy due to the central staircase.The roof terrace is lovely and had it been nicer weather we would have made more use of it! We would definitely go back and would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sialianddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was just the ticket. Clean, charming, great location and lovely staff. Nice simple breakfast too. Yes, the central staircase can make it a wee bit noisy but hey, it's not the type of place that has gangs of revellers rolling in at all hours. I think the best compliment you can give to a hotel is that you would stay again without hestitation and without checking out any others and that's exactly how I feel about The Townhouse. Like other reviewers, I had a misguided view of Marbella as being populated by the blinged up, tangoed, fake everything brigade, but the old town couldn't be further from the truth. Utterly charming. Wouldn't say same thing about Puerto Banus and would give this part a body swerve. Anyway, we had no worries about tackiness with The Townhouse. Simple scandinavian, warm and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisym0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A lovely hotel in an old town house right in the centre of Marbella. The staff are wonderful and the decor delightful with a clean, neutral decor. You can feel the Scandinavian influence in the design (the owner is Swedish) and most of the very kind staff are Scandinavian too. We were less than impressed with the tacky, bling of Puerto Banus further around the coast where all the rich Brits play on holiday, but the old town of Marbella is still mostly full of locals and has retained a very Spanish feel. We loved walking around in the evening after dinner and then returning to our very comfortable hotel with its comfortable beds. The roof terrace is small but has lovely views of the surrounding town and old church and we enjoyed a glass of Cava up here as the sun went down. The breakfasts at the Town House are very good too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is in a great position in Old Marbella. The staff are amazingly friendly and welcoming. Parking is a disaster - I felt pretty unsupported re parking and parked ten minutes up the hill after losing ninety minutes driving around. Some ideas and better directions may have helped.

This hotel features in Sawdays but we expected smarter rooms. Ours was a little tired - a post fell off the four poster bed and hit my head. Bathrooms quirky but shower head fell flat constantly. Small rooms, quite dowdy but still OK.

The ladies do a great job of welcoming guests, the girl who ran the bar was totally courteous to us and users of the bar. There are a few tables outside in a cafe style.

The roof terrace is treat - we had breakfast up there and the honesty bar works just tally the drinks you use.

Overall - a great experience, wonderful location, great staff just tired rooms and an absloute parking disaster - having said that if you don't want to swallow 20 Euro's a day - drive up the hill and park near the bridge. You can reverse up the street to collect luggage as you leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeoff42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#23 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Property: The Town House
Address: Calle Alderete 7 | Plaza Practicante Manuel Cantos, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charmingly located in the Old Town of Marbella The Town House is a private intimate pension with a central location in the old town, Marbella, in the antique area, close to Plaza de los Naranjos (the orange square). The Town House is almost like a private town house, with four floors, roof terrace and a welcoming bar at the entrace level. All nine rooms are individually decorated, with a tasteful mixture of antiques and modern design. The Town House has nine rooms, bar for both hostal- and external guests, lounge, possiblities to rent conference room, breakfast room, roof terrace, rooms with TV och internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing