We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveler rating
366
387
156
67
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
387
156
67
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool old town turkish bath two double beds euro deposit air con el corte ingles minute walk sea view ceiling fan good size mini fridge hen weekend lovely hotel girls holiday bars and restaurants breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Our room was a standard but quite large with 2 double beds joined together, bathroom with shower over bath separate wc, large balcony with table and chairs. Excellent food with fried made to order. 5 mins walk to sea front promenade ,plenty of sea front eateries reasonably priced. Only downside you are charged €3.50 per day for room safe, rip off

Room Tip: West side rooms views of mountains sunny in mornings
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alankinder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important for us, it is a great source of motivation and it will be shared with our team.

According to your comment about the expensive cost for the safe, we inform you, that our rate is standard in the tourism sector. Further we offer to our guests the possibility to save free of charge at our reception safe their values objects in a closed envelope.

We truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with another unforgettable moment in Marbella.

Yours sincerely,
Mario Pérez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

I had previously stayed at this hotel and although quite dated felt it was the perfect choice again for a ladies weekend for a catch up and some sunshine. Rooms were ok and facilities sufficient for what we needed. However would never come back due to the security at night demanding we get in our rooms (we had just arrived at the hotel after a meal in Marbella old town. It was not late and bearing in mind we were 40 year old mums who just wanted a quiet break) the security guard then followed us to our rooms and demanded we get in our rooms and to f*** off. We were disgusted with the way he treated us and was undeserving. I spoke to receptionist the morning after who was not surprised and waived our safe fee ???? I asked to speak to the manager and she advised that they would contact me re email. It’s now a week since we arrived home and no email. I would recommend to avoid unless you like prison conditions rather than a hotel

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Beckynorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take guest feedback seriously, and it is disconcentring to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are sorry to learn that your overall expereience was disappointed due to the staff service. However, it must be known that guests are escorted by the hotel security guard such as if the guest is diseased or has lost the key. We sincerely hope you will give us a new chance to attend you in the future and we are at your full disposal at any.

Yours sincerely,
Mario Perez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Recently stayed at this hotel as a couple between the 19-26th September. As most people do when booking holidays we spent days regularly checking the reviews to ensure we was going to enjoy our week away. All of the reviews was great so we had high expectations. First of all, after specifically requesting a sea view room as we had taken the advise from other reviews to do so we was given a view of the opposite side which is of a dusty gravel car park and a lovely view of Burger King! The bed was also two double beds pushed together with a gap in between. No chance of a romantic week away without falling down the gap. Expect to find yourself up one end of the bed and your partner all the way on the other side. Im sure prisoners have comfier beds, as the mattress is rock hard. No chance of a mattress topper. Not to mention the mingy, crap quality of the pillow. Yes pillow.....not pillows. When we went down to reception to speak to someone in regards to changing our room we was greeted with a rude and abrupt 'WHAT DO YOU WANT'. The staff (Alex on reception and his female colleague) was extremely rude and not willing to help us even though the room had been requested. Our bathroom had ants in the sink and bath tub. The shower was very poor with a drizzle of water coming out of the shower head.

The cleaners were very polite and friendly. However, often would forget to restock the toiletries, toilet roll, new towels and the changing of full bins.

We only had breakfast twice during our stay and it was OK. There is a chef freshly preparing your eggs, a coffee machine, fresh orange juice machine etc.

Minibar- they only stock the fridge once with two waters upon arrival! There is a supermarket opposite the hotel so advise you get your cans from there and stock the fridge up. One time we called room service requesting one fanta and one coke, we was informed they only had pepsi and a fake fanta brand (this was fine) but when we confirmed the price we was told it would be 5euro per can and 3.50 for the room service charge!!!!!!! The 'fake fanta' being offered to us is about 0.45 euro in the local supermaket across the road. AVOID AVOID THE ROOM SERVICE AND THEIR RIDICULOUS PRICING.

The hotel is very dated with an array of miss matched furniture. With a bit of TLC and staff personality transplants the hotel has potential.

The rooftop pool is the best part of the hotel however the pool is half full.

We spent as much time as possible out of the hotel. Also was declined paying late check out as although they had rooms available they require 12 in total so we had to spend 19euro each to be able to use the spa to freshen up as we had a late flight but had to checkout by 12pm.

All in all we wont be returning, this hotel was't great and we DO NOT recommend it to anyone else!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank shannel716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take guest feedback seriously, and it is disconcerting to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We would like to remind you that you had booked standard double room that consists of two 1.35x2m beds, 43" LCD TV and balcony with table and chairs. Therefore, it would have been better you had checked our webpage as you could have found all the information about: The sizes of the beds, the different types of rooms as our double le superior rooms has sea views, two beds of 1.35x2m and 43" LCD TV. It also offers bathrobe and pool towels service, and a balcony with table and chairs.

Concerning your comment, that the bath items were not replaced, I would like to inform you, that this is a task of the chambermaids and has to be done every day. I regret, that this matter was forgotten in your case. Please contact the reception staff in case that it happens again in the future.

Further to your comment of the high price for drinks, we would like to inform you, that we accept you opinion, but we do not agree with it, because we re-examed this matter adequate. We compared our prizes with the ones of other hotels in the same category and marked our prices in the same height. We try to serve our drinks with enough details, and improve every year the quality of our products and our service.

In relation to your comment about the late check-out, I would like to let you know that it is order one day before at the departure time and it depends on the availability.

We hope that you give us another chance and in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Yours sincerely,
Mario Pérez
GM. Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with friends last weekend and hotel is nice and clean with modern rooms and comfy beds. Staff were friendly and the hotel is close to the beach and also close to some nice bars. Good value for money if you want a base close to Porto Banus and Marbella itself.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank ivorwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind feedback and sharing your impressions with other readers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our service. We would be pleased to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Mario Pérez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

stayed for 7 night good room great shower & very nice breakfast ideal for golfers
staff helpful but not very smiley, 20 min walk to old town, 5 min in taxi, 2 min walk to beach, overall very nice stay

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind feedback and sharing your impressions with other readers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our staff took care of your needs. We do hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Mario Perez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews