We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix bag of a hotel. Nickel & dime for everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mix bag of a hotel. Nickel & dime for everything”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is a fix bag of good as well as the ugly. Arrived to find receiption full of gloomy overworked personnel . Took the higher floor which gave us a great view pay extra 30.00 per night. Was worth it and rooms are bigger also. Ask for safe 5.000 euro a night extra. Took a safe. Hotel is extremely clean . Air conditioning worked great. The bath towels are extremely worn. Got cold at night took out a blanket from closet and it's smelled. Good location in the middle between Puerto Banus and Old city which was convenient to go to restaurants. Took taxi everywhere at night. For 7-10 each way . Walking distance to the beach 2 blocks down the street. Again beach towels a problem. 10 euro deposit for each. Needed ironing board asked fir it 10.00 deposit. Deposit, deposit, deposit - annoying...beach is dark colored sand but in the water pebbles hard to walk in and out the water. Found a restaurant on beach and rented beach chairs for 5 euros all day ( no towels) bring your own. The water does not warm up until 2 pm so don't rush in morning. The food was good but service oh my god.. SLOW . One day we waited for 3 hrs. Back to the hotel the shower water temperature goes from hot to scolding with no warning. Just bevare. But of restaurants in waking distance on promenade as you get to beach turn left and keep walking 20 minutes to get to main area. The food genrerally pretty good but I relied to trip advisor reviews and found some great places.
the spa in hotel was great my teenagers used it I never made it they are closed in middle of day(?) fot 1-5 pm. Monday Spa closed all day. The breakfast was very good with great selection of food coffe hot eggs to order. Even champaigne . Again the servers are gloomy . The lady that made the eggs was nice and freindly. Had couple of minor issues in the room and they send somebody right away ti fix it. The shampoo was low quality and no conditioner . The soap was lousy. Went out and bought my own. Supermarket right across the street. Overall not a bad stay but everything about this hotel is 3 star. Elevator broke down too. Day to fix it . Internet works but so SLOW if you need better internet pay extra. The front desk stuff needs lessons in customer service.

Room Tip: Take the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory. Please do not hesitate to let us know if you want to return to the hotel and try to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    332
    128
    53
    37
See reviews for
199
310
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hi just got back from 5 days stay at this hotel,we werent sure what to expect as reviews were mixed,so on arrival,we were pleasantly impressed. The staff were all friendly and couldnt do more for you.
on arrival to our room, we found a large spacious room with a massive bathroom, spotlessly clean, nice balcony with views of the mountains out the back and the sea at the front.
we immediatly went on an adventure of the hotel, where we found the roof terrace with fully equipped bar, unfortunatly for us it was just too hot to stay there and make use of it so we headed downstairs to the spa, it was fantastic, lovely big warm swimming pool with other pools around including a citrus pool,pebble pool,jacuzzi,massage pool also there was a sauna, turkish steam room,ice chamber and rain chamber, all were fab and defo worth a visit!!!!
breakfast was vast with everything available from cooked to cereal to every type of bread! all staff welcoming you with a smile and greeting!
hotel bar had all you needed and at a reasonable price.
this hotel is of great location for marbella the beach is less than a 5 minute walk away down a beautiful leafy street, straight on to the fabulous prom!
would highly recommend!!!
we opted for late checkout as we had a late flight, it was only 29 euros and well worth it!
there are bus stops across the road and a great supermarket, so all onyour doorstep!
THERE WAS NO CHARGE FOR THE SAFE,as previously suggested, there is a 10 euro deposit for towels but is returned when you return your towel!
would return to the senator anytime!!

Room Tip: ask for sea view, other rooms over the other side had the car park view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinger78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Brilliant hotel 5 mins walk to beach lovely rooftop pool with pool bar just opened, breakfast good also chef cooks breakfast In front of you, we used inside pool aswell every morning very relaxing,no faults.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was on my second visit to the Hotel and hence was pleasantly surprised when the reception staff was able to remember my preferences (thank you front desk). No one can beat the customer service. The personal are very polite and friendly, the all service is great. The way I was welcomed was very grand!
This is an answer for Johs S. from Brooklyn, YOU LIES…..
The Room as usual was clean and comfortable with a good sleep quality. Room Service was prompt and helpful. They're apparently trained very well and are able to practice what has been taught.
The Buffet menu was an interesting mix and very well prepared and presented.
Fantastic hotel who have probably made me a customer for life. I would recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Well nothing more to say I'll give this property 10/10.
Well done

Room Tip: Speak with the staff, they are very helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
I appreciate greatly that you recognize that there are users of tripadvisor are lying (Johs S. from Brooklyn) just because they had to pay what they wanted for free
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I recently visited the Senator Spa Hotel with a group of my girl friends. We had a fantastic time! Rooms were cleaned daily and were spacious, all staff were lovely and willing to help answer our many questions (however silly) from restaurant requests to "will you take a picture" of us all glammed up before a night on the town.
Breakfast hit the spot every morning, and we were definitely not short of lunch & dinner options just minutes away in a cab.
Pool and spa were lovely, and beach & town was a quick 5 min walk.
My only negative comment was that the pool bar opened on our last day!

Would visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments
Best regards,
Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have recently stayed at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel and was very impressed with the hotel that is located only 300 m from the beach.The room was spacious and clean with a nice balcony.Using Spa for free was a definite added bonus to the stay.And the last but not the least I would like to thank the fantastic reception team who was helpful and friendly pointing out local attractions that were worth visiting.Thank you!

Esther W.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esther w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have returned from this Hotel today, having stayed for one week.
Room and bathroom were spacious and cleaned daily.
The food was lovely, great breakfast and the dinners were delicious.
Carmen makes a great omelette.
The roof top pool area was clean and a bar is under construction.
The staff were helpful and friendly from maids to management.
2 minutes walk to the beach and 30 minutes to the old town.
This is a well run , no fuss hotel , which delivers a good service.
Would I recommend it............ I already have.
Would I return...........Yes.
Don't be put off by a few bad reviews.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pipmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Senator Marbella Spa Hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The rooms were a good size, small balcony but adequate with a nice sea view, lovely bathroom and great powerful shower!
Great selection from the buffet breakfast with faultless service from the catering staff.
This hotel is in a wonderful location, a very pleasant 10 minute stroll to the sandy beach with a good selection of bars and restaurants. We walked to Puerto Banus a few times which is lovely but some may find the walk a bit far.
Housekeeping is faultless and all the staff in this hotel are very friendly and welcoming. We only used the spa once on a rainy day and it too was great.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,511 reviews
3.2 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#37 of 70 in Marbella
571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alanda Hotel Marbella
Alanda Hotel Marbella
#36 of 70 in Marbella
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Marbella Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Address: C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n | Parcela 97, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Marbella Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Mile of Marbella, next to the Exhibition and Congress Centre and just minutes from Old Town, surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs of Marbella's best to live the glamorous nights on the Costa del Sol If anything distinguishes the hotel Senator Marbella Spa is a spectacular hall dominated by a magnificent pendant. This magnificent large hall can be seen from its two panoramic elevators that rise to the rooms. The hall is the starting point for the rest of the Hotel.: Outdoor pool located on the 7th floor with the best views in Marbella, restaurant, bar, lounge, pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Marbella Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing