We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed here 21/09 13 for nine days.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very unhappy experience at this hotel with the room, cold food served very late and with no choice and rude staff.When we asked to see the manager he avoided us.This hotel was also out of the way.Its cheap to stay here because of all of the above .Do not go there and book else were to save any disappointment.
Vee and Jo Liverpool.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vicky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.
We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 917 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the outset, I felt that profit and cost savings were the number one priority for this hotel. This is evidenced by having to pay for a safe, food re-served in a different guise, cheap toilet roll, inconsistent quality of food, dirty bedroom floors (see photo), marks on the bedroom walls and overworked restaurant staff.

I was also unhappy that guests were offered a free gift during their stay, if they created a Tripadvisor review (See photo). While they did not explicitly request a positive review, I feel that this practice of offering gifts for reviews DURING THE STAY does not encourage guests to provide an accurate account of their REAL experience.

I feel the management at this hotel have completely dropped the ball. They should be inspecting and correcting faults – not waiting for disappointed guests to report and comment on deficiencies. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, isn’t it?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PanEuro_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks in Sept - staff very friendly and helpful, loved the hydro area of the spa - large with lots of different things to do, very spacious steam room and jacuzzi and the inside pool was nice and warm. The view from the outside pool is great. The breakfast was lovely - great choice and the omelettes and eggs/bacon are cooked fresh to order. Hotel was lovely and clean. Had a view of the dusty car park but didnt mind casue if you looked up you saw the mountains ! Parking was also great - all around the hotel was free. (and there was also the dusty car park - there was no need to pay for the hotel car park)
Shops nearby (le corte ingles across the road has a v good supermarket) as is the beach and promenade. Only negatives I have is I would have liked a better snack selection at lunch time (but dinner buffet was great) and the outside jacuzzi isn't heated but there is always the inside one which was hot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline1635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Senator Spa for 12 nights from Sept 7th 2013. Our check in was swift, we were welcomed by the receptionist and given details of when meal times were etc. (we were staying on a half board basis). The room was lovely, clean, comfortable, nice bathroom and plenty of wardobe space. There was a fridge, but no facilities to make a cup of tea or coffee, which I found a bit strange. You can buy coffee from the bar at a cost of 2.50 euro, I mentioned to the receptionist that I thought it strange, but she just said that the hotel didnt put kettles in the rooms. Very close to the hotel is a Lidl supermaket and opposite that is a Sol supermarket, we stocked up an drinks for our room as the prices were very reasonable. A bottle of gin in Lidl was less than E5 and the beer was also a good price - so we kept our fridge stocked up. The hotel has a lovely Spa which is free to hotel guests, there is a swimming pool, a sauna, a turkish bath, jaccuzzi - its is a great way to unwind and relax.
The only problem we had with the hotel was the food. It was bland, boring and repetative. We also mentioned to the waiter that it would be a good idea to label the dishes, so that people could know what they were eating - but he suddenly became unable to understand us! - for example, there was alway soup - but nothing to tell you what kind of soup it was. One evening, with the vegetables, there was what looked llike potatoe croquettes, but when I cut into it, it was some kind of sausage! Not good when you dont eat meat! At breakfast, the waiter brought a pot of coffee to the table, if you wanted tea, you had to ask for a pot of hot water, get a tea bag from the stand and make it yourself. The teabags were probably the cheapest they could get - we got the impression that the hotel got the cheapest option a lot when it came to the food. We didnt let this spoil our holiday, we just ate out more. When you walk along the front from the hotel, you come to a bar called the Banana Tree, they serve tasty snacks and meals - they do a special which is chicken and chips followed by tiramisu - not your ordinary chicken and chips - the chicken is slow cooked in a lovely gravy and tastes fabulous. They also do a pretty good curry or a tasty burger if you just want to be casual. When we wanted something a little bit more up market, we went to Da Bruno's a bit further along towards the town. This is an italian restaurant which soon became my favourite. Great service, fantastic food and a nice atmosphere.
The location of the hotel was really good, a very short walk to the seafront were you can turn left and head towards the centre of town, or go right in the direction of Porto Banus. Porto Banus is about 7km away so it is a decent walk, takes about 50 minutes, but it is a nice walk. We got the ferry back to Marbella which cost about E8. There is also a good bus service and I believe the bus fare was less than E2. There is also a Catamaran going back and forward from Marbella to Porto Banus. It is worth going, the array of yatchts, fancy cars and designer shops is a sight worth seeing. On a Monday, there is the most fantastic market in the old town in Marbella - go and grab a bargain! - It is great for handbags, shoes, clothes and jewellery.
We did two excursions, which we booked at the travel agents along the seafront. We went to Gibralter - which was a nice trip, with a tour of the rock and time to do some shopping. We also went to Ronda, which is a beautiful place steeped in history - plenty to see - our tour guide was very knowledgable, we went on a walking tour with him around the arab quarter and went to see the bull ring - fascinating.
The beaches in Marbella are lovely - very clean, plenty of sunbeds if you want one, also good facilities like toilets and showers.
If I went back to this hotel, it would be on a room only basis, we are looking at going back to Marbella, but would probably look at renting an apartment so that we can suit ourselves more.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - one side of the hotel gets a sea view, the other side overlooks the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Green2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

From the very start this hotel was very disappointing, On arrival, the staff behind the desk ignored us and were unfriendly. A sign on the desk advertised that if you wrote a review they would give you a gift during your stay, there was also the same advert in the lifts and outside the dinning room. This felt like a bribe.
I choose this hotel , mainly based on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, having experienced a holiday at the hotel , I now question the integrity of these reviews.

The hotel was located beside a busy road and was some distance from the beach, one side of the hotel had a view of the sea and mountains in the distance ,the other side was much less attractive and overlooked a small, dusty carpark and some buildings. A charge of 20 euros/day was offered if you wanted a room with a view of the sea.

The bedrooms were not very clean with marks on the walls, some of the furniture was worn, the floors had not been cleaned properly for the whole length of the stay. The bed linen was not changed every day. The rooms were very noisy, with plasterboard separating each room., you could hear the people next door very easily. The noise from the busy road beside the hotel made sitting out on the balcony unpleasant. A charge was also made to use the safe in the room.
The quality and variety of food was inconsistent -at best, you could say it was okay. The plates for the hot food were always cold. The coffee that they served automatically at breakfast varied from cold/weak to strong/cold. Some plates, left out for customers use, were dirty

On the positive side the rooftop pool had a lovely view but getting in and out of the pool would be a problem if you have mobility issues. The spa was nice. Some areas of the hotel lacked atmosphere, the outside patio area was very basic and the indoor reception area was unimpressive.The best thing about this hotel was that the general staff were friendly and helpful although some staff on reception could improve their attitude. In my opinion this is not a four star hotel. Would I go back again? The answer would be an absolute no!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tellitlikeitis202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

I am sorry that these problems have caused discomfort during your stay. It would have been delighted had they been able to attend in person and help you make your stay more enjoyable.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked. We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Best regards,

Miguel Angel Piedra
Senator Marbella SPA Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Holidayed here for two weeks during September. Have to say it exceeded our expectations. The room was very spacious and comfortable with two double beds a good size bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Selection at breakfast was very good - as mentioned by others here omelettes etc. are cooked to order and there is a good range of fruit, meat, cheese etc. all you could want. Pool and sunning area is on the roof, plenty of room there in September and there were no problems with sun lounger availability during our stay. I liked the location of the hotel . Its a short walk down to the beach and from there you can head left into the centre of Marbella or right to Puerto Banus which is about a 50 minutes scenic walk along the front. We will certainly stay there again when visiting Marbella. The only point for improvement I would mention is the wifi which was not the strongest and was difficult to access at certain times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I found the staff in the hotel to be very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean with a nice balcony. I particularly loved the Spa and the facilities in the Spa. The food was lovely. The beach was near the hotel and Marbella is a lovely area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaraJaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,774 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Marbella Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Address: C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n | Parcela 97, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range: $68 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Marbella Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Mile of Marbella, next to the Exhibition and Congress Centre and just minutes from Old Town, surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs of Marbella's best to live the glamorous nights on the Costa del Sol If anything distinguishes the hotel Senator Marbella Spa is a spectacular hall dominated by a magnificent pendant. This magnificent large hall can be seen from its two panoramic elevators that rise to the rooms. The hall is the starting point for the rest of the Hotel.: Outdoor pool located on the 7th floor with the best views in Marbella, restaurant, bar, lounge, pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Senator Marbella Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing