We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great little bargain!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little bargain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a great little hotel.
Pro's: Great breakfast
Friendly Staff
Close to the Old Town
Supermarket and Chemist are round the corner
Well known
Quiet
Bus stop just opposite the hotel with very cheap fares
Con's: Bit of a taxi/bus ride away from Peurto Banus (5/8 mins)
Our room for three people was quite small
Pool area not so great
Overall -
I went to Marbella with 2 of my friends for a mix of abit of partying and relaxing. I'd say the Senator suited us perfectly as it was far enough away from the party scene so we could chill out when we wanted, but also close enough to Peurto Banus when we wanted to party/
The staff are friendly, although there were quite a few of the staff members that could not speak English.
We looked forward to breakfast every morning as it offered such a large variety.
For the price we paid, I would definately recommend the Senator.
Advice to anyone taking a girly trip to Marbs - take lots of money. The standard price for a drink in Banus is about £12. However, it doesn't kick off till about midnight so you can start at the hotel, and you can get lots of free drinks from reps who are trying to fill up their bars.
We loved 'News Cafe', 'Beach Plaza' in the day and 'Aqwa'.
Have fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anisabottrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    310
    115
    46
    28
See reviews for
179
287
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ibiza
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I found it very hard to believe that this is a 4* hotel. It's a typical very basic hotel that offers very little services (eg. no room service, only a pizza delivery option) and in comparison to most 4* hotels, the rooms and 'luxuries' are not that great.

That said, when you look at the price, you simply cannot complain. EXCELLENT value for money and I must also say that I found all the staff here (especially the team on reception) to be extremely friendly and helpful. My stay here was very pleasant.

My advice: If you are looking for a value for money hotel and are happy with something basic, look no further. The hotel is clean and you'll probably struggle to find anything to complain about. If you want luxuries (that of course you are happy to pay for), I would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uknownsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards,

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

A colleague and myself where travelling for business and got rooms 127+126, this past week. We were expecting the spa to be open until 10 pm but close at 7 and opens at 10am. The gym has 3 machines only and the bike was not working. No TV, cold walls, no decoration, no treadmill. Outside the temperature was 5 degrees C.
A hotel with 4 stars so close to the beach would better sell at higher rates but offer a real experience! Look at El Fuerte hotel or Gran Melia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,

Noi apprezziamo molto i vostri commenti, e grazie ad essa siamo in grado di conoscere la percezione del nostro prodotto e ciò che è più importante la qualità e il servizio cordiale.

Capisco la sua critica, ma permettetemi di dire che non sono d'accordo del tutto. Per quanto riguarda il tuo commento sul programma di SPA lasciatemi dire che in inverno, aperto dalle 10 alle 20 ore di ore ininterrotte di ritardo. E per quanto riguarda il nostro accesso agli ospiti è gratuito durante il vostro soggiorno.

Per quanto riguarda le macchine esercizio lasciatemi dire che se ci fosse un viziato, è un po 'sporadica, perché tutti i giorni i nostri responsabili della manutenzione rivedere ogni essere in perfetto stato di funzionamento e che la palestra è in linea con le esigenze dei nostri ospiti.

Dispiace molto non aver incontrato le sue aspettative e saremo lieti di darvi la possibilità di incontrarlo in una delle nostre strutture. Abbiamo molto in mente le vostre impressioni, lavoreremo per migliorare i punti segnati
Saluti,

Miguel Angel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were given a room that did not smell good,it was very poky & we asked to be changed which they did after some complaining 3 days into our holiday.Some days the rooms were cleaned very late & toiletries were sparse,the beds were badly made on 2 or 3 occasions.This hotel is quite basic both rooms & food.We stayed half board but after the first night realised we would be better off eating in McDonalds.It definitely is not a 4star,more like 2-3,there is no entertainment,one small bar in reception,you definitely need to go out for entertainment.We did speak to the "director" to state our views,nothing changed while we were there.If you want basic with poor food go there,the only thing in its favour is that it's only a 15 walk to Marbella town and we found the reception staff helpful.

Room Tip: If you love Spanish food and wine don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Best regards.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here recently while enjoying a night in Marbella. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the sea front and about fifteen minutes gentle stroll to the town centre. Excellent pool and spa. Great breakfast. Nice room with good view. For the amount they charge you can not grumble about anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

It is It is for the team hotel a pleasure to know how comfortable it was found in his room

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days, rooms very good clean and plenty of space, good breakfast with both chefs very good. 5 mins gets you to the promenade.Also very good jacuzzi steam room and sauna.
Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BallymenaFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards,

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in October. I looked at lots of hotels before booking and picked this one as it was the best priced 4* hotel within walking distance to Marbella and the beach.
The rooms are spacious and have plenty of storage. We had two double beds and a separate toilet off the bathroom, which was clean and modern. Tele has mainly spanish channels but for American/English shows dubbed in Spanish you could change the sound back to the original track and watch (under q menu on the remote control). Had an empty mini fridge which was handy for keeping our own bought drinks cool. Maids came in and made beds everyday. Air on wasn't working but we didn't ask about gettin it fixed because it was always cool enough at night due to the time of year.
When we arrived we asked about a sea view (as we hadn't booked one) and were offered a sea view room for 10 euro extra per night.
The rooftop pool was never too busy to get a sunbed (although we did go out of season). The view from up there was amazing and it had a quiet and tranquil feel. The spa was worth a visit, lots of pools, jets and a couple of saunas.
The location of the hotel was fantastic, not right in the centre of marbella but only 10 mins walk from the centre along the beautiful paseo walkway on the seafront (which is full of restaurants and bars) It's less than a five minute stroll to the beach directly down the road which the hotel is on. There's not much atmosphere in the bar in the hotel and if it's quiet it can take a while to get served but we didn't feel the need to stay in the hotel bar as there's such an array of bars a few minutes walk away. There's also a convenience store two minutes away which is open late called opencor and a. Department store called el corte ingles opposite.
All in all we were more than happy with our choice of hotel for the price we paid and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCovos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#16 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#21 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#32 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#24 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Marbella Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Address: C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Marbella Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Mile of Marbella, next to the Exhibition and Congress Centre and just minutes from Old Town, surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs of Marbella's best to live the glamorous nights on the Costa del Sol If anything distinguishes the hotel Senator Marbella Spa is a spectacular hall dominated by a magnificent pendant. This magnificent large hall can be seen from its two panoramic elevators that rise to the rooms. The hall is the starting point for the rest of the Hotel.: Outdoor pool located on the 7th floor with the best views in Marbella, restaurant, bar, lounge, pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Senator Marbella Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing