We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location friendly staff”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days, rooms very good clean and plenty of space, good breakfast with both chefs very good. 5 mins gets you to the promenade.Also very good jacuzzi steam room and sauna.
Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallymenaFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards,

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    332
    129
    53
    37
See reviews for
200
310
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in October. I looked at lots of hotels before booking and picked this one as it was the best priced 4* hotel within walking distance to Marbella and the beach.
The rooms are spacious and have plenty of storage. We had two double beds and a separate toilet off the bathroom, which was clean and modern. Tele has mainly spanish channels but for American/English shows dubbed in Spanish you could change the sound back to the original track and watch (under q menu on the remote control). Had an empty mini fridge which was handy for keeping our own bought drinks cool. Maids came in and made beds everyday. Air on wasn't working but we didn't ask about gettin it fixed because it was always cool enough at night due to the time of year.
When we arrived we asked about a sea view (as we hadn't booked one) and were offered a sea view room for 10 euro extra per night.
The rooftop pool was never too busy to get a sunbed (although we did go out of season). The view from up there was amazing and it had a quiet and tranquil feel. The spa was worth a visit, lots of pools, jets and a couple of saunas.
The location of the hotel was fantastic, not right in the centre of marbella but only 10 mins walk from the centre along the beautiful paseo walkway on the seafront (which is full of restaurants and bars) It's less than a five minute stroll to the beach directly down the road which the hotel is on. There's not much atmosphere in the bar in the hotel and if it's quiet it can take a while to get served but we didn't feel the need to stay in the hotel bar as there's such an array of bars a few minutes walk away. There's also a convenience store two minutes away which is open late called opencor and a. Department store called el corte ingles opposite.
All in all we were more than happy with our choice of hotel for the price we paid and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCovos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is very close to the beach about 200 metres. Nice spacious rooms very unique, stylish. Breakfast great and also a great and pleasant chef making eggs and stuff. The surroundings are full of restaurants with mouth watering dishes. The city is fabulous with lovely villas all around. A good place to have a quiet vacation, don't know abput summer though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nene_iwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in the Senator hotel during September and have an amazing stay. Rooms were spotless but really did miss some of the English speaking channels. Hotel is located within walking distance to many nice restaurants and also the old town of Marbella is about a 15min walk on the promenade. Ate half board in hotel with many choices for breakfast and dinner each evening. Still managed to get in some great restaurants close by though on some evenings Pool area is great and spotless. The only one negative point about the hotel would be the bar service at reception. Long wait to be served. Received free use of the hotel SPA during our stay which was used and really enjoyed. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to view the wonderful sights of Marbella/Puerto Banus. Staff on reception were very helpful and always greeted with a smile. Hope to return in the future on the next trip to Marbella.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. Floor 5 or above offer outstanding views of the surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FergalJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.


We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in the Senator Marbella halfway on a trip through the area, found the hotel nice, good location close to Marbella old town and main routes. Food well priced and roof top pool a great facility, good proximity to El Corte Ingles across the road. I found the staff a lot nicer when you spoke Spanish to them, we had trouble finding the hotel initially and when we called and spoke in English they were completely unable to help us. Overall seemed to be a lot more Spanish clientele and they were more accomodating to native speakers, but there were a few nice touches like a complimentary cocktail at the pool etc. Would recommend it for a night or so stay, not a week's holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinacoladas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed at many Spanish hotels and found that the Spanish version of 4 star usually equates to a 2 star, but we were pleasantly surprised with the Senator Marbella Hotel! The whole hotel was finished off well, very clean and tidy and the decor looked fresh. We had a standard room with a double bed each to ourselves! The room (on top floor) had a mini fridge, flat screen TV (2 English channels only - Discovery Max and the Disney Channel), balcony partly looking the sea to the left, mountains to the right. The air-con worked well in the day, but at night it was a nightmare and got very hot (I don't think the system could cope with all the guests having the air-con on at the same time...) We had breakfast included and this was reasonable, the usual continental cheese (that no one eats!), bread, orange juice, cereals, then the chef was cooking fried eggs, omelettes, bacon, sausages to order which were very tasty. Tea and coffee was brought to your table once you were seated (a nice touch) and all of the restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the evening once at the restaurant, food was average although we preferred to eat out. The location of the hotel is not what we would call in the center of Marbella. Approx 20 minute walk down to the sea front, a selection of shops and restaurants. The Chinese on the seafront (above Italian) was very good and we would recommend. The spa in the hotel is brilliant, we spent every day here and usually had it to ourselves - large pool, jacuzzi, turkish bath, sauna, citrus pool, cold/hot plunge pools, neck massages, ice cabin, rain cabin etc and open til 8.30pm. There is also a very small gym (2 bikes, 1 cross trainer and some dumb bells). All in all a very enjoyable stay, only a couple of minor things to fault - the air-con in the evening, & then an older gent on reception who could do with some customer service training - waited to be seen & eventually gave up and didn't bother. Other than that a lovely stay and would recommend to anyone who just wants to relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The first 4 were ok however the last 2 there was no air conditioning.
They kept saying they would fix tmw which they did. However it went down again for the second night running at 1730.

Most hotels would have someone on standby to fix these problems, But not this one. The air con conveniently goes off when the engineer is at home tucked up in his cold bed while we cook inside our rooms.

Also the spa facilities are closed from 1330-1600. I know the Spanish have siestas but I wouldn't expect the hotel to close for a siesta as well.

Positive note. Good location, happy chef and some nice staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Frontlinefrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

I apologize for the interruption of the air conditioning as it was due to a failure to timely fixed quickly

Our winter SPA schedule is from 11 to 19.30 uninterruptedly.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Best regards.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,419 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,511 reviews
3.2 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#37 of 70 in Marbella
571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alanda Hotel Marbella
Alanda Hotel Marbella
#36 of 70 in Marbella
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Marbella Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Address: C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n | Parcela 97, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Marbella Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Mile of Marbella, next to the Exhibition and Congress Centre and just minutes from Old Town, surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs of Marbella's best to live the glamorous nights on the Costa del Sol If anything distinguishes the hotel Senator Marbella Spa is a spectacular hall dominated by a magnificent pendant. This magnificent large hall can be seen from its two panoramic elevators that rise to the rooms. The hall is the starting point for the rest of the Hotel.: Outdoor pool located on the 7th floor with the best views in Marbella, restaurant, bar, lounge, pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Marbella Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing