We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
173 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Spent just over a week here. Lovely hotel.
Particularly enjoyed the roof terrace.
The fridge in the room was a great idea as there is a nice supermarket just over the road.
Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    325
    124
    51
    31
See reviews for
192
305
34
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 9-14 June, in a group of 3 girls. Although not totally central in Marbella, Hotel Senator is well located being only a few mins walk to the beach (bit longer to the marina), and a short taxi ride to Puerto Banus about 10-12 euros.

I found the staff to be helpful and cheerful at all times. The rooftop pool and jacuzzi's are great and bit more peaceful if beaches are busy although no bar or snack facilities up there. The indoor pool and it associated jacuzzi's, sauna, lemon pool, ice pool, rock pool etc etc are well worth a visit too, we used these every day.

The room was very clean and had a balcony, it was however on first floor and faced East thus didnt have any sort of view. It looked like there were some kind of sun terraces adjacent to our balcony but these were never used or equipped but maybe belonged to another property.

All in all I had a very positive experience at this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s20phs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our
establishments

Best regards.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Senator marbella. 5 girls aged 26-27. Hotel is lovely, newly built so everything is new and clean.
We booked 2 rooms, one for 2 adults and one for 3 adults. We was however dissapointed to find out that both rooms are identical, and there is no extra bed for the 3rd adult. Even though you get charged more for 3 adults!!! all rooms apparently have just 2 double beds. Which is fine for 2, but if your a 3 adults and not couples... be prepared to share a bed with your friend!!! apparently it states this on there website, but i booked through travel republic and it was not stated on there. We did ask to change rooms but they explained every room in the hotel is the same! it was ok for 3 nights with the girls, but any longer and it would have probably been a bit cramped!
The room also had a safe but you did have to pay extra for this - fair enough in a 2 - 3*, but think its a bit much to charge for that in a 4*, never had to pay in any other 4* hotels I have stayed, so we just paid for one in our room and the others shared it.
There is no iron in the room but you can get one from the reception - but it was a 20 euro deposit! in my opinion again for a 4* i assumed there would be one included in the room.
Room also had air con and celing fan, so we was never too hot. And shower was powerfull and always was hot water.
We had breakfast each morning, which was very good - big choice, and hot counter where they would freshly make eggs, omelettes, bacon for you.
We didnt get enough thime to use the spa facilities but we did go down to have a look - and it looked very good, lots of different pools, jaccuzzis, and steam room, ice chamber, and water jets.
The swimming pool is on the roof of the hotel and has 2 jaccuzzis up there too. it is on the 7th floor. Again very nice, very clean, plenty of sunloungers, and amazing views! However there is no food or drink facilitys up there so u need to go down to the ground floor for drinks etc. I think maybe the hotel should look into putting a drinking water fountain up there atleast - as it does get very hot, and also mayb some quiet music would be nice to create a bit of a atmosphere and make it relaxing. There are also toilets up there.
The beach is literallydown the road, less than 5 minutes walk, and is lovely and clean as well.
We spent most of our time in Peurto Banus, and so used alot of cabs!!! They dont have 7 seater cabs out there, we did also check this with reception, so it was expensive as we needed 2 cabs every time - so be aware of this if you are a 5 or 6 group. it was on average 10 - 12euros to peurto banus, and took no longer than 10 minutes.They run on a meter. The hotel would call a cab for us and it was always there outside within 5 minutes.
The staff at the hotel were ok, however the gentleman on reception in the evenings is by far the most helpfull. The 2 girls didnt appear that bothered or helpful - even when we arrived and was trying to sort out the room situation.
Also on our last day we did ask to keep one of the rooms for late check out as the hotel was no where near full, and the gentleman was very helpful and allowed us to do so for free - so that was good customer service.
overall the holiday was amazing, and i would probably use the hotel again as it was a good price and was very clean. None of the things i have wrote about are complaints as such, just wanted to make people aware of these to help. We still had an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Myself my husband and two children stayed here for a week from June 19th to June 26th. The hotel is in an excellent location only a few minutes from the beach and has rooftop pool, jacuzzi etc. Extremely clean and quiet. Very good value. Rooms excellent size. Only downside was beds extremely uncomfortable! Only a small problem I know. Some of the staff mainly on reception not particularly friendly - need to up their game and be more pleasant but waitresses, cleaners etc excellent - friendly and helpful at all times. Would return again for a shorter stay - for a longer stay would need a more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed in other four star hotels in this area and therefore, by direct comparison, the Senator is not worthy of four stars.
The staff were incredibly unhelpful, "it's not possible" was the most used phrase of the week, and if it was possible then it cost money. Staff in desperate need of training.
I booked and paid for a "family room" for two adults and one child. When we arrived we were given a double room and told that because we only had one child we were not "entitled" to a family room. After debating this point for a substantial amount of time we were then told that they did not have famly rooms at all. I was, and still am, annoyed as in that instance I would have only booked and paid for a double room - complete rip off!!
We were only given two towels in the room (for a family of three), when requesting a third towel we were told that children were not entitled to a towel and if we wanted one it would cost 1 Euro.
Breakfast is edible but a very basic and limited choice. Breakfast chef was a very pleasant and helpful man who worked hard - only member of staff that is worth a positive mention.
Rooms are clean and tidy, however a bit on the small side.
The location of the hotel is very good.
The Spa was a good facility but some lighting would have helped to make you feel that you weren't in a basement car park conversion!
On the Senator Hotel's own web site it states that it has a solarium and gardens - however no garden at all.
On check out we were charged for breakfast even though we had booked a B & B rate, I produced my voucher which clearly stated our rate but for some reason this took about 20 minutes to sort out. I cannot stress how unhelpful and unfriendly the staff, in particular reception staff, were.
This hotel is clearly run on a shoe string budget and this is extremely evident throughout.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennetbaden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Okay first off, this was for business and we did not have to pay for the hotel. In that, for what they did pay, this hotel was beyond fantastic. But, if I had to book it myself and pay what they ask, then I think I would have been totally disappointed.

Now for the good points: The rooms are large, clean and in good condition (new renovation). The bathroom was large and also very clean. The pool area with the view is spectacular (I ate a picnic dinner up there 3 nights). Even being on a main thoroughfare, the hotel was not noisy. The access to the spa really is a bonus...though do not expect, nor should it be compared to its more expensive neighbors. The location to the beach is also excellent, just out the front door, left and in minutes on the beach and boardwalk.

Middle points: I wish the fruits and jogurts were closer to the other offering, I did not discover them until my third breakfast, as they are across the room. The egg guy was fun and did a good job of doing my eggs every morning. All the dark haired staff in the breakfast room were gracious and always smiling and happy to help.

Lowish points: The front desk staff could MOST definitely use a pick me up pill, or at least a happy pill, especially Matias (spelling, sorry). I am not one to name people on here unless they do a great job, but this guy really should not be on the front desk. His attitude and unenthusiasm leave such a sour experience. Also, I know breakfasts are never easy for service staff, not much appreciation, and serving lots of coffee out front to lots and lots of people at one time, is a lot to ask....but one staff member really needs to smile as well. We got her to do it one time, but she is truly bitter. And, what is with the safes not working.

Now why do I give this hotel a Very Good. I just find it lacking in some refinement to give it more. Had I paid for the room myself, I would have been even harsher. I really wanted to give it an Average for this stay, but the rooms are large and comfortable, and everything is spotless...two most important things when staying for an extended period in one place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in May 2012 with three friends. Rooms were lovely and really clean.

The location is within walking distance of a number of bars, restaurants etc and within 5mins of beach. Also there is a bus not far from the front of the hotel that will take you to Puerto Banus.

There is a lovely roof area with sun loungers, pool and jacuzzi, however the pool could do with topping up with water as it only seemed half full!! Also it would benefit from a small bar area on the roof! These are only small things and it didn't effect my stay!

Would recommend to friends and family.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tawti_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,293 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#33 of 70 in Marbella
294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#23 of 70 in Marbella
482 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Marbella Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Address: C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n | Parcela 97, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Marbella Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Mile of Marbella, next to the Exhibition and Congress Centre and just minutes from Old Town, surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs of Marbella's best to live the glamorous nights on the Costa del Sol If anything distinguishes the hotel Senator Marbella Spa is a spectacular hall dominated by a magnificent pendant. This magnificent large hall can be seen from its two panoramic elevators that rise to the rooms. The hall is the starting point for the rest of the Hotel.: Outdoor pool located on the 7th floor with the best views in Marbella, restaurant, bar, lounge, pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Marbella Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing