We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Marbs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in May 2012 with three friends. Rooms were lovely and really clean.

The location is within walking distance of a number of bars, restaurants etc and within 5mins of beach. Also there is a bus not far from the front of the hotel that will take you to Puerto Banus.

There is a lovely roof area with sun loungers, pool and jacuzzi, however the pool could do with topping up with water as it only seemed half full!! Also it would benefit from a small bar area on the roof! These are only small things and it didn't effect my stay!

Would recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank tawti_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 892 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is ideal for most of the experiences of Marbella. The beach is at the bottom of the road a short walk away and right on to the front should you wish to walk along to central Marbella past every type of restaurant and coffee shop you can think of, a beautiful walk in the evenings.
To the right of the hotel is Marbella high street, lovely shops and the old town all just a stroll away a pleasant walk both day and night. If you go this route through to the old town then come back to the hotel via the beach front, the best of both worlds in one go.

The hotel itself is the best priced hotel in Marbella for the price you pay (my opinion) as I have been coming to Marbella for over 10 years and stayed at over 30 different hotels, both on business and pleasure. The staffs are friendly and helpful the rooms are excellent all with large bathrooms and balcony. The hotel itself is spotless and in a fantastic location, if you want to go to Puerto banus its €5 euros in a taxi.

I always stay in any hotel bed and breakfast only and the breakfast here is as good as anywhere. The gripe with some guests seems to be that the cooked breakfast is not under a hotplate waiting for you. This hotel is different you order your breakfast fresh (bacon eggs Spanish omelette etc) then go and get your toast coffee etc then go over to the grill chef and hey presto a hot fresh cooked breakfast is waiting for you. Some reviews on here say there is not enough choice so last week when I stayed here again I counted them, fresh fruit, cereals, fresh cooked bacon eggs omelettes toast tea coffee, fresh juices, cheeses ham and 8 different types of bread for toast. If this is not enough choice then I don’t know what is.

The pool and hot tubs on the roof terrace, plenty of sunbeds, magnificent views over Marbella Sea and mountains in the rear. Clean and tidy. There is no bar on the roof terrace, so if you want a drink its down in the scenic lift into the bar and up again. You can also have afternoon tea and cake on the ground floor terrace. For the price you pay for this hotel and the service and quality of rooms and location I cannot see how any guest can complain.

As for me I am back in Marbella on the 10th to the 17th June and yes I will be staying here again

Room Tip: All rooms are in a good position but the higher you go the better the view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EddieM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here with my sister on 19th-26th May 2012. We are aged 23 and 25 (both female).

We absolutely loved it! In my opinion the thing that really makes a hotel is the staff and the service they provide. The staff here will remember us when I say we were demanding! (Sorry about that!). We asked for salt (for my infected mosquito bites!) which was no trouble, then sugar (as an exfoliator!!) then asked to borrow scissors, the list goes on.... and nothing was too much trouble for them! We also were very cheerfully loud in the bar (due to Cava) on the Friday night which they took in good spirits (I think!).

P.S. there is a constant supply of Cava, orange juice and water and fruit in reception on ice, all day...brilliant!

Alexandra on reception was great - knowledgeable of local facilities and always printed out maps for us.
On the Monday we did not realise breakfast closed earlier than at the weekend, so we rocked up half an hour late. However, a kind waitress called Chari took us to the lobby bar and fixed us up with tea, coffee, toast, croissants and jam, when she really didn't have to.
The chef on the hot plates (JuanJo) was efficient and amenable, and the barman (also JuanJo) was friendly. Andreas the waiter was also very good. There was a man training to be a manager on reception (sorry I don't know his name) who took time to chat. On the last day there was a good-looking young barman, whom I did not get to chat to, alas.

In the rooms you get a double bed per person, cleaned every day; the pool area has great views and plenty of beds. The spa is amazing!! Included in the price. Large warm swimming pool, hot jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, ice cabin, and a pool filled with lemons!!

The hotel also has a PC with free internet in the lounge area, and WiFi.

Complaints such as those by 'Trevor L' - under his 'bad points' he said 'it's still 200+ yards to the beach.' Really?? Why didn't you just sleep on the beach if you want to be that close to it? Also under his bad points 'It's about 1/2 mile from Marbella Centre' - oh no! Trust me, you can walk to the shops and beautiful old town in no time.

Anyway, hotel highly recommended by us, as a good base for a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guests,

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay in our hotel as pleasant as you indicate. Your comment makes us feel proud of the work done on a daily basis, with the only aim of satisfying the needs of our guests.

Thank you for your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

It seems that the hotel has been recently renovated and therefore everything is quit clean and tidy. However the materials and the taste of the hotel is not very modern. I had the room with the sea-view on the 6th floor. The room was big with two queen size beds which occupied the entire room. There was no couch to sit on. The restroom was comfortable with bathtub and a separate toilet.
The room had a nice balcony with two simple chairs which are nice since the sea-view rooms gets the afternoon sun.
The pool is located on the top floor, however it was under maintenance and closed for one day. The second day it was only half full of water. The top floor area was quite nice and comfortable for sunbathing even though there is no bar for refreshments.
The location of the hotel was superb. It is close to the Marbella center and the beach is only a few minute walk away. On the beach boulevard you will find lots of restaurants and bars. Plenty of parking too.
The spa was ok. There are much better spas in Costa del Sol, but it was included in the room price.

The gentleman at the reception was very friendly and helpful. He really made the effort to make guests feel welcomed and comfortable. 10 point for him. Unfortunately I must give much less points for those two girls at the reception. They should be sent to customer service training for few days. They were really apathetic and unfriendly for everyone they “attended”.

Room Tip: Get a sea-view room from the top floor. Rooms are facing a busy road, and the top-floor rooms are qu...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Good points;

It's almost new
It's clean
The breakfast is acceptable but very limited choice, especially if you want an English breakfast.We are having bacon and eggs each morning (there's no beans, mushrooms, sausage, etc.) and the reason this is in the good points section, is because it is fresh fried to your liking, rather than mass produced. There's also a limited choice of prepared fruits (grapefruit, melon & pineapple being all we've seen so far), although there are fresh fruits of poor quality also available. There's also a selection of European type breakfast options but I tried one of the baked options to find them dry and tasteless.
The staff are generally pleasant and willing to help but few speak English very well.

Bad points;

There's no air conditioning in the rooms, so how this gets a 4 star rating is beyond me.
This hotel is more suited to and more used for business trips than holidays
There's no holiday feel about the place
The pool is on the roof but there are no drink facilities available and there's a limited number of shades
Although the hotel on the whole is recently new, there are already electrical problems and some of the fixtures and fittings in our room looked less than new.
The location is on the main road through Marbella, so although we can see the sea from our room, it is still about 200+ yards to the beach.
It's about 1/2 mile from the centre, so you miss out on the buzz that such a location offers
No excursions are offered

With a world of alternative countries, locations and hotels on offer, I'm pretty sure we won't be back to this one again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

Our hotel is located 300 metres from the beach. This intended more for business trips, although you can enjoy a holiday also. To enjoy a holiday on the beach we have from other hotels in the same city on first line beach.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this Hotel for 3 weeks from Jan 2012 into Feb 2012. I am disabled and wheelchair bound but despite an e-mail and a tel. call to the Hotel which stated that the hotel had rooms with disabled facilities the room 102 allocated to us did not have disabled facilities. We pointed out the few reasonably priced adaptions to room 102 to the very pleasant manager who stated that the work would be completed before our 'return' in 2013. All staff were very pleasant and helpful especially the barman.The cleanliness of the bedroom left a lot to be desired one photo shows sheets with blood stains from a cut to my arm but it took 5/6 days to get a change. The Hotel was still being worked on ie rooms were still being fitted out, doors fitted, ramp to front door was being laid, small ramp to roof still to be laid, ground floor nice sitting areas but steps to all areas, no ramps. The location of this Hotel is 1st class and when fully completed would be worthy of its 4* rating until then if you are in a wheelchair stay away.

Room Tip: Eat in Cappuchino which is 200mts down street to beach.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elljim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

As discussed personally, even 100% compliance with the regulations of tourism, their point of view is very helpful, because it helps us to improve the adaptation we have to do in the rooms so that people who visit us with reduced mobility, are comfortable and enjoy your holiday with total normality.

I can inform you that the work of urbanization is fully completed.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a new hotel, very well located in Marbella, just next to the Congress Palace and 5 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are big and comfortable, the bathrooms are also spacious and very well distributed. The spa is fantastic, the girl at the reception (Rony) very nice and helpful and the masseur (Charo) is very good! We had 3 nights payed and then we decided to extend it to 2 more nights.. We were a couple with two kids, one of them a baby, I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go to Marbella and stay in a nice place at a right value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ritica_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel A Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.8 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
308 reviews
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
3.2 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#37 of 70 in Marbella
582 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Marbella Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Address: C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n | Parcela 97, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range: $66 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Marbella Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Mile of Marbella, next to the Exhibition and Congress Centre and just minutes from Old Town, surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs of Marbella's best to live the glamorous nights on the Costa del Sol If anything distinguishes the hotel Senator Marbella Spa is a spectacular hall dominated by a magnificent pendant. This magnificent large hall can be seen from its two panoramic elevators that rise to the rooms. The hall is the starting point for the rest of the Hotel.: Outdoor pool located on the 7th floor with the best views in Marbella, restaurant, bar, lounge, pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Senator Marbella Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing