We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value, wonderful pool complex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed here recently on business and was very impressed indeed. €49 for a hotel room in such a good location is remarkable. Only €10 more for buffet breakfast, although I didn't got for that.

The hotel is small and most of it doesn't feel like a 4 star, however the room was huge with 2 king-size beds and a large terrace. Some room have a sea view I understand, but mine didn't.

There is a rooftop pool with great view, but the best thing about this hotel is the pool complex. Unbelievable! A 20m pool with 3 powerful massage jets, 3 Jacuzzis, one of which was big enough for 18, an iced-pulverised water cabin, ice cabin, Turkish bath, which was great, a nude and non-nude sauna, 2 hot baths and a hydrotherapy pool with 4 very high-powered jets.

Don't forget your confirmation though as I had a problem checking in without it, however I would like to say a special thank you to Matias on Reception who was very helpful and very friendly indeed. He thought of a good solution and managed to check me in. He is fluent in many languages and is the best Receptionist I have come across in Spain.

All the staff were friendly though and I say again, at this price there can't be a better hotel in Spain.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, but all rooms are spacious and more than adequate for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maxxxsensation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 922 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

young couple aged 18 and 20 travelled in january 2012 for 3 nights.

Hotel Senator Marbella is BRAND NEW and absolutely stunning!
Still a little ongoing work outside the hotel but it is irrelevant.

Hotel
- the lobby area is stunning! clean, new, everything is marble etc!
- hotel bar is simple and small. great for a quick drink and there are plenty of places to sit both inside and outside the lobby
- reception staff were excellent. fast check in and check out and helped us with all our queries despite the sligh language barrier
- restaurant was lovely (we only had breakfast there) good choice and again the staff were extremely pleasant.
- the lifts in the lobby are sooo nice! may not be important but 2 huge glass lifts are very glamourous!!!

Rooms.
- 2 DOUBLE BEDS!!!! brilliant!
- very spacious, built in wardrobes, various lights
- personal air conditioning/heating
- bathroom was floorless: bath/shower, sink area with massive mirror and a separate toilet room.
- balcony, again perfect (took a few goes to figure out how to work the door! haha)
- brand new tv in room
- cleaned EVERY DAY, the maids were very helpful
- we were located on the 4th floor and our view was UNREAL - sea view and mountain view!! plus we had the perfect view of sunset!

Spa
- cannot believe this is not advertised all over the internet!!!!!!!! it was fabulous!!
- 1 massive indoor pool with jacuzzi style massagers, turkish bath room, ice room, rain room, 2 cool baths, normal jacuzzi, fruit jacuzzi, pebble pool and pool with these shower things (hard to explain)
- basically you could spend all day in there simply relaxing!!
- you can also have treatments (we didnt)

Hotel Pool
- medium sized pool on top of hotel with 2 jacuzzis
- unfortunately these were not filled in winter but this was expected as the water would be far too cold!!!!
- lots of sunloungers and the views were amazing
- would imagine this area to be fab in summer!

Location
- could not be better!!!!!
- hotel is located just of the main road which has shops along it and also leads to the old town
- simply walk down the side road literally 2 minutes and you're at the beach!!! location is ideal because you arrive and the start of all the bars and restaurants, walking to the left. the bars and restaurants all lead up to the harbour where there are a number of stylish cafes and a massive beach!!
- if you want to try other places in marbella is merely a small taxi ride away (as we were there for only 4 days we stuck to the restaurants on the beachfront, all of which were open in winter!)



Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel enough!!
Perhaps not for children but is a definate must for couples or groups of friends looking for a relaxing break in a stylish hotel in a perfect location.

Room Tip: if you book a standard room ask for the 4th floor (the highest floor for standard rooms) and a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElenaCross_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

TOXIC SMOKE FILLING THE NEWLY OPENED HOTEL SENATOR IN MARBELLA IN THE EARLY MORNING HOURS OF 19 NOVEMBER 2011

On Friday the 18th November 2011 our family with a 3 year old toddler and a 15 month old baby checked into the SENATOR Hotel in Marbella for a one night stay.

We knew that the Hotel SENATOR had only recently opened and indeed everything seemed brand new and glitzy.

After the usual check in fomalities we finally got to our room on the 4th floor which was OK in every respect other than perhaps being a little on the small side.

After returning from dinner we immediately went to sleep as we were very tired.
At probably between 3 and 4 am I woke up and I thought there was a bad smell in the room.
At first I gave it no further attention and went back to sleep only to wake up again and now identifying the smell you get when you turn on an electric heater that has gathered dust. Both my wife and children were completely asleep.
As the smell got worse and now clearly was no longer a smell but serious toxic smoke that started to fill the room I woke my wife and she immediately realised that this was smoke from a fire.

Then our baby started to cough very badly.

I immediately opened our balcony door and to my amazement saw three fire engines and at least three police cars on the front side of the building with firemen entering the Hotel.

At this moment images of flames coming out from the balconies entered my head. However only smoke could be seen everywhere.

We immediately put on some clothes grabbed essentials and run out of the room only to find that in the hallway smoke was pouring from what seemed to be a fire sprinkler.

Another couple opened the safety exit door to the escape staircase and there we found that the smoke was much less apparent. So we went down into the reception which was smoke filled and out into the road.

Heavy smoke came out from a basement access into the road. Another guest told us that apparently the fire had started in the newly opened Sauna.

By now more guests had decided to leave the hotel for the safety of the street and we were all huddling about in the cold expecting some news about what was going to happen to us.

The manager of the Hotel could be seen on top of the Hotel stairs smoking a cigarette.

Eventually we requested some explanation and information about the situation as obviously everybody was tired and did not want to remain in the street for ever. The Manager almost casually said that the fire had been put out and that everybody could go back to the rooms as it was now only a simple matter of getting rid of the smoke which he estimated would take about an hour.

I made it clear to the manager that both our 3 year old toddler and our baby could not go back into a room where smoke would still be present for at least an hour. He agreed but provided no alternative. So I asked him whether it was safe to retrieve our car from the garage which he said it was and we left.

The following questions need answering both by SENATOR Hotels Group and by the local authorities:

1. Why was there no alarm? We might not have woken up perhaps never because as is well known most people do not die from fire but from the toxic smoke it produces. My wife and my children in particular our baby and 3 year old were fast asleep in our smoke filled room. The fact that there was no alarm which was queried by other guests surely implies that either there was a serious breach of procedure or an inadequate safety system in the Hotel. Fire and smoke procedures are subject to extremely serious inspections by the local authorities in all countries. In fact a hotel normally cannot open or will be closed down if any of these procedures are inadequate, faulty or non existent.

2. There were communications over loudspeakers outside the hotel. We could not hear the words spoken on the 4th floor and it seemed that this was more of communications between the police and the firemen. Apart from that we assume that the communications were in spanish and therefore could not be understood by the foreign guests in any case.
There seemed to be no call to evacuate the hotel as some guests were still waving from their hotel balconies.

3. That the guests were told to go back ot their rooms even though smoke was still pouring out and would be for at least one hour also indicates a complete lack of understanding of the serious health risks of smoke particularly to children.

4. Nobody gave any explanations or assistance to the guests which included many children. We were all required to stand in the cold of the street for over one hour.
You would have thought that a Hotel would have a program in force for such an event including a reciprocal arrangement with another close by hotel for the guests to be able to wait in the reception and be able to use the toilets and get some refreshments in particular for the children.

5. To clear the dining room of thick smoke an industrial fan was brought to the door to literally blow the smoke out of the windows.

6. The penultimate safety question must be: why would a fire in the sauna of the wellness centre of the SENATOR Hotel produce smoke that pours out of every ventilation and airconditioning outlet right up to the top of the hotel?

7. The ultimate safety question must be: why does the SENATOR Hotel in Marbella have no smoke alarms?

We are concerned about the possible longterm effects on the health of our children. When cleaning our noses we were worried to notice that our tissues were black. How much of this has gone into our baby's and toddler's lungs? What is the toxic composition of this smoke?

We are waiting to hear from the SENATOR Hotel group as to compensation for our nightmare and what they will do to prevent this ever from happening again.

Room Tip: check with the local fire authority that the fire and smoke alarm are in working order
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank smokevictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

At dawn on Saturday, November 19, I exactly get a call at 3.40 a.m. from the hotel. A fire has been localized in the area of the Spa, specifically in a sauna. The receptionist had previously called for the fire service. The firefighters arrived at the hotel at 3.45 a.m., and they didn´t evacuate it was easy to control focus and was situated far away distance from the clients area. As you know the fire services have the authority to decide to displace the hotel, and in this case the firefighters advised to stay in the room.

At anytime there was flame outside the hotel, only smoke, but it wasn´t enough quantity to make the life of any host running danger. In these circumstances it is difficult to stay calm and comings and goings of customers opening doors did that in the corridors you penetrate the smoke that had gathered in the hall. Since the fire brigade arrived to the hotel, we were informing each client so that it remained in his room, I personally by the switchboard of telephones to meet all calls and they and the staff of the hotel in plants informing customers.

Once extinguished the fire, the firefighters gave me instructions to inform all customers who were on the streets, which they could return to their rooms. At the same time I was talking to you personally. You will recall that said me that I wanted to leave.

I inform you that all the security systems worked correctly. The hotel is equipped with all the means to prevent and extinguish a fire, such as diffusers of water spray fire, doors fire, signalling of evacuation and all the security measures required with the rules.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank marimapo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mujerpaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 705 - havs och bergsutsikt. Dörr i dörr med takpoolen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#17 of 70 in Marbella
1,608 reviews
1.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,543 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,513 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Marbella Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Address: C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n | Parcela 97, 29600, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range: $67 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Marbella Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Mile of Marbella, next to the Exhibition and Congress Centre and just minutes from Old Town, surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs of Marbella's best to live the glamorous nights on the Costa del Sol If anything distinguishes the hotel Senator Marbella Spa is a spectacular hall dominated by a magnificent pendant. This magnificent large hall can be seen from its two panoramic elevators that rise to the rooms. The hall is the starting point for the rest of the Hotel.: Outdoor pool located on the 7th floor with the best views in Marbella, restaurant, bar, lounge, pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Marbella Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing