We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small paradise”
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We spent 7 nghts at La Villa Marbella between 4th to 11th of july as part of our honeymoon . We are usually very fussy and we usually find in the area better hotels that we could of picked. It was not the case with La Villa Marbella. We loved every second spent there. What makes the difference in LVM is the attention to detail in decorating the rooms and the personal touch in service.
The best asset of this place is the very helpful owner of the place: Marcos Torres. His advice was priceless starting with driving directions and best places to eat, places to visit and the best time to do it and so on.
We would recommend LVM to everybody without any reserve.
For sure we will visit LVM again.
Sergiu and Giulia

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank the_nomads_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2007

My husband Peter and I stayed for 3 nights from 19 July at Villa Marbella. We travel extensively staying at many 5 star hotels all around the world always reading the reviews on Tripadviser before booking. I can honestly say that this hotel although only small gives you a real 5 star personal hotel experience. We stayed in he Banyan room which had a wonderful terrace overlooking the mountains. The room had every facility you would expect from a large deluxe hotel, beautiful bathroom,satellite TV, chocolates left on your pillow, king size bed, air conditioning, just perfect.The old town of Marbella where the hotel is situated is beautful.
The real bonus about staying here is the welcome you receive from Marcos, his advice about where to go and where to eat is invaluable. Every one of his recommendations was perfect. We ate at the Orange Tree restaurant which was fantastic as was the Virgen de Balcon. He recommended a Tapas Bar in the new town which was also fantastic.
We tried a restaurant recommended by a reviewer on Tripadviser called La Famiglia but had a very bad experience and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. We should have stuck with Marcos's recommendations!!
Finally I would just like to say that the terrace which we were invited to by Marcos for a welcome drink and pre dinner drinks was absolutely charming and we really appreciated the hospitality of Marcos and his staff. Many thanks Marcos , you thoroughly deserve your success. Angela.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank angelaandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

The hotel and service really is as good as the reviews written here. We recently had five nights staying in the Lodge. The lodge is approx 50mtrs from the main hotel building where you take your breakfasts on the roof top garden. From being picked up at the airport by the pre arranged taxi to the first time you enter the property the quality is evident. The hotel is small and the area of the old town in which it is situated is beautiful. This is a small boutique hotel with characterful rooms and high quality fittings. During our time there Marcos went the extra mile ensuring his guests were happy and had no worries. This even extended to going to the chemist for his guests and other errands which were way above the call of duty. His restaurant recommendations were all top notch. all I can say is, we will be back very soon.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank Fifi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We are just back from a ten week trip to Europe.
Five weeks driving around the south of Spain, I chose all our hotel from Tripadvisor.
We were not disappointed that's the beauty of this wonderful site.
VILLA MARBELLA was one of the best.
We stayed for seven nights in May.
Marcos and his wonderful team made us very welcome.We have travelled a lot over the years and the Villa Marbella will remain a favourite.
Marcos has very high standards.
You would have to travel a long way to find someone who is so dedicated to his guests enjoyment.
Our room was Yangon the least expensive and it was wonderful great attention to detail and we wanted for nothing.
Marcos booked dinner for us on our first night at The Orange Tree and it was very good.
The boys ( Marcos managers) were wonderful too and gave us a tip on The El Patio De los Perfumes restaurant.
Just down the road on the corner looks like a small bar but out the back is wonderful different rooms and a large walled court yard.
Very romantic and fantastic food.
Also Marco directed us to an a Italian restaurant ran by two German ladies again fantastic food and a lovely restaurant
Loved the upstairs terrace great idea having drinks in the evenings we meet some lovely people and swooped lots of info and stories.
All of these things made it a great stay for us.
We changed our plans at the end of our trip and came back to Villa Marbella for our last night in Spain and were lucky to get a room.
Marcos upgraded us,we had an early start in the morning and he made a special journey in to say good bye.
Many thanks Marcos.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SydneyOysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

My husband and I, like many other people, booked La Villa Marbella on the recommendations from other reviewers. We weren't disappointed.
La Villa Marbella is wonderfully located in the old town of Marbella, reached through a warren of picturesque and flower filled narrow streets.
Our arrival was lovely, including a welcome drink on the roof terrace while we selected our breakfast choices.
Our room was so cool with very effective air conditioning and beautifully decorated. We had everything we could possibly want.
Not having been to Marbella before, we asked our kind host Marcos where we shoud eat. Please take his recommendations - the man knows his stuff and we ate like kings in our short 4 night stay. In fact, Marcos is so knowledegable I didn't open my guide book once, we just followed our hand drawn maps and had a great time exploring.
We moved onto Ronda after 4 days but the hotel wasn't a patch on La Villa Marbella. My husband called Marcos and asked if we could come back. Fortunately for us there was room for an extra 2 nights and so we went back! We've never done that before but I guess it goes to show that we were VERY happy and we will certainly be going back.
Thank you Marcos for making our holiday very special and also introducing us to some great new friends.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kay_mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband and I had five perfect days at La Villa Marbella. With first class service and accommodation, a wonderful and generous breakfast, perfect tips on where to eat, drink and shop, travel and day trip advice and a happy and fun atmosphere we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fabulous hotel and its proficient and accommodating staff. We thank Marco and his team at La Villa and Marbella Heights for their attentiveness and effort, congratulate them on creating a true gem and wish them the very best in all future ventures.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

This review should have been up months ago but time got away from me. We stayed at Marcos's place for the first four days of our honeymoon around Spain and it was by far the highlight of our trip. As people mention it does not come with a pool or a fancy garden but what it does home with is charm and a level of kindness that you will never find in a four or five star hotel. The town is something out of a storybook and the places that Marcos recommends to you are where the locals hang out. We enjoyed feeling like we could just relax and not be one of 1,000 people in a big cold resort. Marcos and staff were amazing just take time out of your morning to sit down with him and hear his life story, and all of the work that went into building the hotel he is so full of life and truly loves making people happy. Our room was great and my husband still talks about the happy hour that Marcos does at night on the roof deck we loved it! One review talks about how it is not worth your money, hands down it is! The level of service and the special experience that you are going to have can't come at a big hotel price. One thing I will never forget is the first night Marcos left a box of chocolate and a bottle of wine with a little note from the staff it really made our honeymoon seem special! Marcos thanks for the wonderful honeymoon we will be back!!!

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank SFGirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#12 of 70 in Marbella
1,542 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,837 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
#7 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $110 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing