We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want character and service - Stay Here - It's Perfect”
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want character and service - Stay Here - It's Perfect”
Reviewed December 6, 2006

After seeing all of the complimentary reviews here, we just had to try La Villa Marbella ourselves.

It was, quite simply, a wonderful location (in the old city), with superb accomodation (including a roof terrace to sit out and enjoy a bottle of wine!), and the perfect host (Marcos).

This is "boutique hotel" at its very best - of course you don't get the "big hotel" facilities - but quite honestly, I dont want (or indeed use) them anyway.

I'd rather have the personal touch that Marcos clearly takes both great pride and pleasure in providing to all of his customers - and he is so knowledgeable.....for example drawing us a detailed map of where to park in Ronda - spot on and we'd never have found it without his help!

We will be going back, and if you want somewhere "different" then stay here.....you won't be disappointed!!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBlueMile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    111
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
177
964
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

My wife and I are just back from a 5 night stay in La Villa Marbella. I had read most of the positive reviews here on TripAdvisor before booking the hotel and I can only agree with them all.

Marcos and all the staff are really friendly and helpful. They made us feel so welcome and comfortable.

They provided us with some great recommendations of places to visit and places to eat in. We really felt like we were staying with friends. Thanks a lot!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask the staff for recommendations on places to visit/eat in
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hallinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2006

Rather than just repeat what everyone else has written, which is all true, let me tell you about an incident that sums up the service provided by Marcos and his team.

We were only staying at La Villa Marbella for 2 nights and mainly planned to sample the cusine of the area. We had excellent restaurant recommendations both for Tapas and for evening meals. On our last evening Marcos recommended a super fish restaurant just behind the nearby church. We couldn't book but accepted his recommendation.

As we were reaching the end of our meal the heavens opened and it rained as heavily as I have ever seen. All the customers were being given bin bags to help protect them from the rain. Boli who works with Marcos knew we might be at the restaurant and phoned to see if we were there as he planned to bring us umbrellas. The restaurant unfortunately told Boli we weren't. You would think that would be the end of it but Boli being the intrepid and possibly water resistant type ventured out anyway to bring us umbrellas. That incident sums up the level of service you will enjoy from all at La Villa Marbella, enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Travelling_Milberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Our party of three couples was pleased to find that the owner Marcos and his staff run La Villa Marbella as a fine boutique hotel. He goes out of his way to talk to guests and to make sure they have an enjoyable stay. We received great advice on restaurants and shops plus help with travel bookings.

While the rooms are not large they nevertheless are very well appointed, including satellite television. We particularly liked the Asian décor of the rooms and the modern bathrooms with large showers. A highlight was the roof top garden bar and breakfast dining area. It made for a great social setting to enjoy a drink while watching the sun set with other guests and talking to Marcos. The rooftop also has a free computer with high speed internet access and there is a wifi network for anyone traveling with a laptop.

  • Liked — Staff and Asian decor
  • Disliked — Bedroom a bit small
  • Tips/Secrets — Marcos is expanding so check his other locations (Granada, Spain)
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank muncy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

we stayed at the villa marbella in september for 2 weeks for our honeymoon. Marcus, the owner, was very helpful before, during and after the holiday. He arranges your airport transfers, recommends fantastic restaurants and day trips. Helps to organise things. The place is beautiful - asian type decor, everything is clean and new, fresh towels and linen. The rooms are all individually decorated - we stayed in the mandalay (i think) - very spacious and lovely. The villa is in the old part of Marbella and is very close to loads of restaurants and bars. You are living amongst the locals. It took about a 10 min walk to get to the beach. Also the fact there was no pool didn't detract from the enjoyment of the holiday at all. Between 5pm and 7pm people tended to gather on the main hotels roof terrace (with mountain views) for a drink and a chat. Very relaxing and a great way to meet people. All the staff are lovely too. Thoroughly recommend this place for just a few nights or a long stay (2 weeks) like we did.
Andy and Claire - Leeds

  • Liked — Service + Style
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank BambiLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

My husband and I stayed in the Mandalay room for a week in July. I can't say enough about the newly completed room, the beautiful terrace for breakfast, and the absolute care and attention to our needs that Marcus and his staff gave us. Marbella itself is incredible and we wouldn't choose to stay anywhere but the old town, and La Villa Marbella in particular. Marbella provided a great mix of days at the beach and exploring further afield. We visited Gibraltar, Granada and the Alhambra, and Ronda. When we were looking for something different to do, Marcus suggested a hike at the Garganta del Chorro--breathtaking and not a soul in sight. I agree with most of the other reviews and would highly recommend this small hotel to anyone wanting to explore the Costa del Sol, or even just Marbella.

  • Liked — Marcus and his staff
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jandjprosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading England
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2006

I'll just endorse everything the other posters have said. Nothing negative to say about the hotel and area. Marcos is extremely knowledgeable, about absolutely everything and soo helpful! We enjoyed afternoon tea on the terrace and I think he now has a new 'speciality' - lemon tea!
We personally didn't like the 'public beach' which was 10 mins walk away so we hired a car for about £40 a day I think and drove to a lovely, new chillout beach club called Puro. Towels are supplied and it's €20 for the day BUT if you work out that the beach loungers are €4 or 5 a day and you only stay for 2 hours (there are a lot of hawkers and Thai massage people coming round every 5 minutes!!) and you stay at Puro for 7 hours then hey! it works out cheaper!!
We visited a supermarket on the way back and bought enough picnic food for the massively low price of €5!!!
Having a car makes you more adventurous - we visted Rhonda and Puerto Banus several times - taxi fares do add up so all in all the car hire was justified.
Now we know the area we'll be back for a long weekend when we feel the need to escape again......thanks to the rest of his nice team as well!

  • Liked — Unique rooms, cleanliness, close to all amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Hire a car - it works out cheaper than taxi fares everywhere out of Marbella - park it anywhere you like in the back streets and it's free parking!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Caz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,355 reviews
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Property: La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing